Watching Nigerian league on NTA

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:34 pm
by ohenhen1
The game is over now.

You should be able to rewind back to watch it.

Re: Watching Nigerian league on NTA

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:37 pm
by ohenhen1
Kwara United vs Rivers United.

The stadium is empty. I guess making money is not the goal of Nigerian clubs. They will collect their salaries from government.

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 5:38 pm
by ohenhen1
The camera angle is bad. Don't like the sideline camera angle.

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:27 pm
by ohenhen1
NTA need to upgrade their programming. They still have that show tales by moonlight with the same music and everything.

I guess it is a tradition.

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:33 pm
by ukwala
ohenhen1 wrote:Kwara United vs Rivers United.

The stadium is empty. I guess making money is not the goal of Nigerian clubs. They will collect their salaries from government.
Not a live game.

Posted: Sun Mar 18, 2018 6:59 pm
by ohenhen1
That Oasis show is too intense, Nigeria version of Days of our lives.

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:30 pm
by Polly

You got that one right. Oyinbo people sold the EPL to Nigerians and it is astonishing to see artisans and housewives mouthing the names of EPL clubs and their players. But our clubs do nothing to sell their stars and attract people to watch matches. Every time I visit Nigeria, my friends are surprised I want to go to the stadium. Shame!

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:34 pm
by Mr. Piffington
Polly wrote:

You got that one right. Oyinbo people sold the EPL to Nigerians and it is astonishing to see artisans and housewives mouthing the names of EPL clubs and their players. But our clubs do nothing to sell their stars and attract people to watch matches. Every time I visit Nigeria, my friends are surprised I want to go to the stadium. Shame!
People were acting the same way towards Nigerian pop music once upon a time, but now people are listening to local music more than foreign stuff. If the local league markets itself well and the NFF takes time to map out a strategy to nurture players and changes the league format instead of copying how it's done in Europe then people will take interest.

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:54 pm
by Enugu II
Mr. Piffington wrote:
Polly wrote:

People were acting the same way towards Nigerian pop music once upon a time, but now people are listening to local music more than foreign stuff. If the local league markets itself well and the NFF takes time to map out a strategy to nurture players and changes the league format instead of copying how it's done in Europe then people will take interest.
Correct. People incorrectly claim that it is the quality of the game that took spectators out of the stadium. That is incorrect. Note how fans in Nigeria fill those stadia when a game is well promoted. The quality remains good enough but people will get there when there is a storyline that persuades them. The storyline, the hype, other match day offers will create the experience and perceived quality.

Posted: Mon Mar 19, 2018 10:33 pm
by txj
Mr. Piffington wrote:
Polly wrote:

Correct. People incorrectly claim that it is the quality of the game that took spectators out of the stadium. That is incorrect. Note how fans in Nigeria fill those stadia when a game is well promoted. The quality remains good enough but people will get there when there is a storyline that persuades them. The storyline, the hype, other match day offers will create the experience and perceived quality.

The quality is average.... But you are right, its lacking any serious promotion...