Poland vs Nigeria (0-1) FT

Re: Poland vs Nigeria (0-0) HT

Impressed with the use of our athleticism to high press even from a low block.
Impressive

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

ohsee wrote:Chei! This game sweet me well-well. E sweet me that an African team went to their home and beat them. Very sweet. :thumbs:
England must suffa the same treatment. :thumbs:

YemiBrazil wrote:
ogasir wrote:You guys are really bipolar. First Uzoho is terrible, now he is the greatest thing ever
:rotf: :rotf: :lol: Das how we roll on CE
It shows we don't have any hidden agenda.

When he was shaky and unassured we pointed out.

When he was keeping with confidence and showed he belonged, we praised him.

How is that had (difficult) for people to comprehend?

Abi we suppose dey on autocritic? :|

txj wrote:I think I can call off my prayer warriors now.

We have Uzoho in goal.

If I hear anyone talk about Ezenwa again!!!
The boy is good. Forget what they told you. :agree:

Let me go to page one of dis thread to check which GOAT started it and promptly vamoosed at half time. Oh it was big belle bigporkey. What a forking surprise. :mad:

1naija wrote:The post game show is on the polish channel. They are interviewing the players in polish. it sounds like they are making excuses

icee

Post by icee »

soma wrote:
SylverEagles wrote:
platinum wrote:FT 1-0 win IN Poland....don't take it for granted.

Not pleasing to watch but superbly organized and effective footie.
Once Mikel comes in, the midfield is going to look better but we do need to find an alternative cos we definitely can't concede that level of possession to Croatia and Argentina.

That midfield should be Mikel, Ndidi and Joel Obi
I agree!!!

soma wrote:
can04 wrote:so, our defending of set pieces has to improve significantly.
a viable alternative to JMO needs to be found tactically or in the form of an individual who can approximate his ability to set tempo for us and impose some semblance of control.
then there is the iheanacho conundrum: where to play him?

Iheanacho should be a bench player. He looked totally lost out there today.
What happened to his U17 form?

We didn't string 3 passes together until the 90th minute. Great professional job by the boys nonetheless
Curve whiz

Post by Curve whiz »

Goldleaf wrote:Francis Uzoho is our new NUMBER 1.
The same Uzoho that you people already chased away from the team by half time???

I think they are now saying the ball crossed the line in that freekick. I disagree with them.

Gooner1 wrote:
danfo driver wrote:Congrats my team! We just beat the 6th best team in the world in their own house
6th best? based on wetin? fifa playstation ranking?....not impressed by them
You are an Arsenal fan bro, you dont know much about football. :tic: :taunt: :lol:

Seriously though, Poland is very very good and they use their tactic -- set pieces very well.

They also have very very top top players like Zielinsky, Linetty, Lewa, Pisczchek, Krychowiak, Kapustka.. and in goal, they have 3 very strong goalkeepers.. with the likes of Sczesney who didnt plat today.

akamoke wrote:Egypt tying Portugal 1-1*
Tunisa beat Iran 1-0
Senegal drew with Uzbekistan 1-1
Morocco beat Serbia 2-1
Morocco appears to be as good as advertised :!:

soma wrote:
a viable alternative to JMO needs to be found tactically or in the form of an individual who can approximate his ability to set tempo for us and impose some semblance of control.

But when did he stop being a bench player? If all our players are there he’s not a starter. Mikel there, he would have been on the bench and come in for Ighalo.
tmex12

Post by tmex12 »

soma wrote:
Unfortunately for him he has not had a good run of games. He just looked off. Lots of hustle but bad first touches and decision making.

You go on the road against the 6th ranked team in the World and beat them... without your captain.

Good stuff.

The good thing is that this team still has plenty of room to improve and is capable of improving.

They fight... a bunch of fighters.

mcal wrote:...this Polish side is still crap in books as of today. They couldn't take advantage of home, our poor mid field, etc.

As long as everyone is healthy come end of season we go make some statements in Russia.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

You are a funny guy.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
akamoke wrote:Egypt tying Portugal 1-1*
Tunisa beat Iran 1-0
Senegal drew with Uzbekistan 1-1
Morocco beat Serbia 2-1
Morocco appears to be as good as advertised :!:

Where was this advertisement?

waka-man wrote:That was a useful exercise.
Important to play against a team that is compact. Good try run for Iceland.
Our high pressing game will be one of main qualities because of our dynamic midfield.
And against Croatia and Argentina our pace will be much more useful as those team will not be as compact as Iceland and Poland.
We are organised and efficient at the back
The midfield focuses on ball winning and breaking up play.
Our wing play needs to sparkle if we are to get Ighalo into the fray.
And we have to work on set-pieces.
But for where we need to get to, we’re making good progress.

icee wrote:
soma wrote:
SylverEagles wrote:
platinum wrote:FT 1-0 win IN Poland....don't take it for granted.

Not pleasing to watch but superbly organized and effective footie.
Once Mikel comes in, the midfield is going to look better but we do need to find an alternative cos we definitely can't concede that level of possession to Croatia and Argentina.

That midfield should be Mikel, Ndidi and Joel Obi
I agree!!!
Plus Etebo and Onazi I'm happier with the strength in depth we have in midfield. Still nobody who brings to the table what Mikel brings....

soccernut

Post by soccernut »

First I'd like to say I stand corrected: Uzoho's nerves and inexperience at this level may have gotten the better part of him in the first half, but he totally proved why he is currently our # 1 GK in the 2nd half. He inspires confidence for a goalie of his age. Moses is such a dynamic footballer. Once again, he proves that he is a world-class player in GWG. Ebouehi is assured in the back and reads the game very well. Balogun is gaining more confidence and it shows in this match. Obi coming back to the team is refreshing and adds the missing link and depth in mid-field.
Ndidi is a workhorse that belongs to Clubs like Barcelona or Real Madrid. Ihenacho turned out to be a waste pipe. He squandered at least three chances in the last third. Idowu seemed completely out of his element. Overall, this was a great tune-up match for us, and I dare say - the best SE defense I have seen in a long time. If Onyeruku recuperates in time for WC, this team could be a team to watch out for this summer.

soma wrote:

I think his agility is hampered by his current post U17 weight. our physiotherapists need to go back to classroom and revisit human anatomy

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

soma wrote:

He will regain it.

It is still there. Even in the U17 games, his first game wasn't all that. He will develop a chemistry with his teammates as time goes on.
One can see once they gel this team will be a very strong team.