How would you line up vs Poland

Poland plays a 4-4-1-1 or a 4-2-3-1, depending on whether they are attacking or defending.

I will go with a 4-3-3 or a 4-2-3-1.

-------------------------------Uzoho-----------------------------------

-------------------Balogun-------------------Ekong----------------------

---Shehu--------------------------------------------------------Aina-----

-------------------------------Ndidi-------------------------------------

-------------------Onazi---------------------Ogu----------------------

------Iwobi-----------------------------------------------Moses--------

-------------------------------Iheanacho--------------------------------

Or

--------------------Onazi-------------------Ndidi-------------------------

---------------------------------Iwobi------------------------------------

-------------Simon---------------------------------------Moses--------

Re: How would you line up vs Poland

I suspect it'll be the latter....

I'd certainly prefer to see Iwobi playing centrally. I also expect Ighalo will start.

I think the strongest possible line up will be used for this game.

More than likely the latter but with Echiejile and Ighalo starting is how I think Rohr lines up. Although Musa instead of Simon won’t shock me either.

Personally I’ll lime up exactly as you have the latter line up.

The YeyeMan wrote:I suspect it'll be the latter....

I'd certainly prefer to see Iwobi playing centrally. I also expect Ighalo will start.

I think Ighalo will start too with either Iwobi or Iheanacho in Mikels role.
Gadfly

Post by Gadfly »

Personally, I hope Moses doesn't start. He look too exhausted seeing him in the FA game last week.

Ighalo will start. :thumb:

Ugbowo wrote:More than likely the latter but with Echiejile and Ighalo starting is how I think Rohr lines up. Although Musa instead of Simon won’t shock me either.

Personally I’ll lime up exactly as you have the latter line up.
i wouldnt risk Echiejile. Poland's right wing is their strongest. And they have two players who are quick. They will tear Uwa to shreds.

Thats also the reason, why I went with Aina, instead of Idowu, who looks better going forward than he is defending.

So, no Uzoho them... :sneaky:

Uzoho
Shehu
Balogun
Ekong
Aina
Ndidi
Onazi
Iwobi
Ighalo
Simon
Moses

Uzoho
Shehu, Balogun, Ekong, Aina
Onazi, J Obi, Ndidi
Iwobi, Ighalo, V Moses

This is how I think Rohr will line up the team to start:

---------------------Uzoho---------------------------

Shehu-----Ekong-----------Balogun-----Echiejile

-------------Onazi (cpt)----------Ndidi--------------

Iwobi------------------Ogu-----------------Moses-----

-----------------------Ighalo----------------------------

If he chooses Iheanacho to start then Ogu will be on the bench. Subs would include Aina, Joel, Simon, Iheanacho, Ebuehi, and Musa.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Our biggest challenge is going to be Mikel’s substitute if the need arises. We have a big problem.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Enugu II wrote:This is how I think Rohr will line up the team to start:

Iwobi------------------Ogu-----------------Moses-----

If he chooses Iheanacho to start then Ogu will be on the bench. Subs would include Aina, Joel, Simon, Iheanacho, Ebuehi, and Musa.

Ogu doesn't thrive in the advanced central midfield role. Ihenacho or Iwobi will start there, with Joel Obi coming on in the 2nd half. If Rohr were to actually give Ogu a look in this role, he'll likely do it by bringing him off bench, rather than starting.

At this point, I will take a goalless draw. The poles will be rampaging backed by a vociferous crowd and the weather will be cold. I want to see our defence stand up to give us an indication of what is to come in Russia in the summer. Rohr needs to start and keep Uzoho in goal.

Rohr will likely field different line ups for in each half...

---------------------Ezenwa---------------------------

Simon M------------------Ogu-----------------Moses-----

2nd Half

Ebuehi-----Ekong-----------Awaziem-----Aina

-------------Agbor ----------Ndidi--------------

Iwobi------------------ Joel-----------------V.Moses-----

-----------------------Iheanacho----------------------------

Goldleaf wrote:At this point, I will take a goalless draw. The poles will be rampaging backed by a vociferous crowd and the weather will be cold. I want to see our defence stand up to give us an indication of what is to come in Russia in the summer. Rohr needs to start and keep Uzoho in goal.

It will be interesting to see how Balogun copes with pace, Ezenwa with ariel balls and our m/f retain ball possession (without mikel). To start off with a draw won't be a bad result.

It's time to start building team chemistry, a competent coach will already have an idea of his first 11 for WC. We have already discovered new quality defenders, can't understand why most folks are in denial.

---------------------Ozoho---------------------

Ebuehi----Ekong-----------Balogun-----Idowu

Victor Moses--------------Iheanacho ----------------Iwobi

Iheanacho and iwobi can take turns attempting to play Mikel's role, Victor Moses and Ighalo stay attacking, Idowu surely looks like he can score or assist per game. Subs include Joel obi, John ogu, aina, and elderson
papilo

Post by papilo »

danfo driver wrote:Poland plays a 4-4-1-1 or a 4-2-3-1, depending on whether they are attacking or defending.

I will go with a 4-3-3 or a 4-2-3-1.

-------------------------------Ndidi-------------------------------------

-------------------Onazi---------------------Ogu----------------------

------Iwobi-----------------------------------------------Moses--------

Or

--------------------Onazi-------------------Ndidi-------------------------

---------------------------------Iwobi------------------------------------

-------------Simon---------------------------------------Moses--------

No way I'm picking Shehu at right back when we have 3 natural right backs in camp.
yes o
sholaJay

Post by sholaJay »

Either

Uzoho

Ebuehi Awaziem Balgoun Ekong Idowu

Onazi Ndidi
Iwobi

Ighalo Iheanacho

Or

Awaziem Balgoun Ekong

Ebuehi Onazi Ndidi Idowu

Iheancho Ighalo Iwobi

Second half we then bring on the speedster and revert back to 4-2-3-1

Lolly wrote:Our biggest challenge is going to be Mikel’s substitute if the need arises. We have a big problem.
who can play that position for us? ( Etebo or Iwobi?) I think Alex is a better player when played as a striker ( support striker)

Lolly wrote:Our biggest challenge is going to be Mikel’s substitute if the need arises. We have a big problem.
who can play that position for us? ( Etebo or Iwobi?) I think Alex is a better player when played as a striker ( support striker)
I suspect neither can play it well. But if those are the only options we have, then I will go with Etebo. Iwobi really struggled in that position against Senegal.

But thank God the coach is forced to try other options due to Mikel's forced absence.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote:
I suspect neither can play it well. But if those are the only options we have, then I will go with Etebo. Iwobi really struggled in that position against Senegal.

But thank God the coach is forced to try other options due to Mikel's forced absence.
maybe we go with a back 3 and flood the middle?