SE Confirmed Line up vs Poland

Uzoho,Shehu,Troost-Ekong (C), Balogun, Idowu, Ndidi, Joel Obi; Victor, Iheanacho, Iwobi; Ighalo.
Chriskendo43
Re: SE Confirmed Line up vs Poland

Post by Chriskendo43 »

Very strong line up :thumbs: :thumbs:
icee

Post by icee »

Solid!!!. Common let's go!

There are goals in this match

naijaguy wrote:Uzoho,Shehu,Troost-Ekong (C), Balogun, Idowu, Ndidi, Joel Obi; Victor, Iheanacho, Iwobi; Ighalo.
Add Mikel and Ebuehi to that mix and the team looks ready

Looking like 4-3-3:

**************************************Ighalo***********************************

********************Moses**********************Iheanacho*******************

***************************************Iwobi***********************************

*******************Ndidi**************************Joel************************

***Idowu************Balogun*****************Ekong**************Shehu***

***************************************Uzoho**********************************

Who captains the team tonight? Leon Balogun or Victor Moses?

For me, the only changes that I would make come the World Cup proper would be:

Play Tyronne Ebuehi instead of Shehu Abdullahi
Play Joel Obi as my leftback
Bring Mikel Obi into Joel's midfield position
Play Henry Onyekuru in place of Kelechi Iheanacho

Shehu has proven himself over and over again, yet Ebuehi is to sub him?

marutimon wrote:Shehu has proven himself over and over again, yet Ebuehi is to sub him?

Ebuehi is twice the player Shehu is!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Looking like 4-3-3:

Ayo you are funny O!
Shehu will start in the WC if fit.
The left back will be one of Idowu, Aina or Echiejile. All three will be in the squad.
Joel will play in midfield, not left back ( :shock: :shock: :? )
Onyekuru will be watching the big dance from home.
Last edited by waka-man on Fri Mar 23, 2018 6:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

What is your fascination with playing a very good midfielder as a left back? :shock:

marutimon wrote:Shehu has proven himself over and over again, yet Ebuehi is to sub him?

Ebuehi is twice the player Shehu is!
only twice? :rotf: Also Joel at LB :rotf:

I have told you all what I consider Nigeria's best starting 11. Anyone who disagrees should please post their own line-up. Football will always be a subjective matter but I am tired of explaining basic things to full grown adults:

Tyronne Ebuehi has pace and crosses the ball brutally. Angel Di Maria could not believe how the game changed against Nigeria when Ebuehi came on at half time. In contrast, he had field day against Shehu Abdullahi in the first half

Brian Idowu is right footed, so will have to keep switching to his right foot to cross the ball when he gets to the byline. Joel Obi in contrast is a natural left footer. Ola Aina is not only right footed but is not yet ready for this level of competition. As per Uwua Echiejile, only someone who hates Nigeria will even suggest him.

Why are such simple things so hard for supposedly intelligent people to grasp? Phew!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:I have told you all what I consider Nigeria's best starting 11. Anyone who disagrees should please post their own line-up. Football will always be a subjective matter but I am tired of explaining basic things to full grown adults:

Tyronne Ebuehi has pace and crosses the ball brutally. Angel Di Maria could not believe how the game changed against Nigeria when Ebuehi came on at half time. In contrast, he had field day against Shehu Abdullahi in the first half

Brian Idowu is right footed, so will have to keep switching to his right foot to cross the ball when he gets to the byline. Joel Obi in contrast is a natural left footer. Ola Aina is not only right footed but is not yet ready for this level of competition. As per Uwua Echiejile, only someone who hates Nigeria will even suggest him.

Why are such simple things so hard for supposedly intelligent people to grasp? Phew!
I guess the joel Obi one is hard to grasp because one wonders why you would want to take one of our most impressive midfielders and put him at left back. It means that (1) he is going to play a position he isnt really strong at and (2) we are going to play lesser players than him in midfield. Remember when we played Ndidi at Right back? how did that work out?

Anyway, discussions are good. We all know Rohr will NEVER do what you are advocating, so no worries.

What is your fascination with playing a very good midfielder as a left back? :shock:
Help me ask oh. How does it sound like good idea? We have left back specialist yet someone thinks it’s a good idea to play Joel in the left back position

Flex Swift wrote:

Help me ask oh. How does it sound like good idea? We have left back specialist yet someone thinks it’s a good idea to play Joel in the left back position
because the bobo nah lefty, no vex if ayo want make kele play left back for 2nd half

Edu

Post by Edu »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:I have told you all what I consider Nigeria's best starting 11. Anyone who disagrees should please post their own line-up. Football will always be a subjective matter but I am tired of explaining basic things to full grown adults:

Phillip Lahm is right footed. Was one of the best left back in the world . Idowu can do the job.

Joel is a very smart mid. Don't reduce him to defensive duties.

Uwa at this point is a serviceable back up left back.

I guess the joel Obi one is hard to grasp because one wonders why you would want to take one of our most impressive midfielders and put him at left back. It means that (1) he is going to play a position he isnt really strong at and (2) we are going to play lesser players than him in midfield. Remember when we played Ndidi at Right back? how did that work out?

Anyway, discussions are good. We all know Rohr will NEVER do what you are advocating, so no worries.
Apart from the fact that Joel Obi regularly played leftback at Inter Milan, we have an abundance of good central midfielders with Mikel Obi and Wilfred Ndidi. Our team is much stronger with all three of them playing together.

Edu wrote:

Phillip Lahm is right footed. Was one of the best left back in the world . Idowu can do the job.

Joel is a very smart mid. Don't reduce him to defensive duties.

Uwa at this point is a serviceable back up left back.

Incoherent nonsense. Uwua Echejile is a total liability. He gifted South Africa a cheap victory in Uyo and will doom upon Nigeria if we take him to the World Cup.

Take it or leave it but Joel Obi is a better leftback than Brian Idowu and Ola Aina. You are talking as if converting midfielders into fullbacks is something new. Sylvanus Okpala, arguably Nigeria's best ever rightback was converted into that role by Otto Gloria and excelled there.

Kelechi is the support striker

Apart from the fact that Joel Obi regularly played leftback at Inter Milan,
I have heard this statement made multiple times, and I am not sure whether you guys think the rest of us do not watch games.

Obi regularly played as a midfielder at Inter, NOT left back. He played under Mourinho, Benitez, Gasperini, Ranieri and Mazarri.

Two of those coaches play 3-5-2 and when I say that, i mean real 3-5-2, where there are NO wingbacks, but actually WINGERS! OBI played as a winger.
we have an abundance of good central midfielders with Mikel Obi and Wilfred Ndidi. Our team is much stronger with all three of them playing together.
Abundance of midfielders, and you mentioned 2.

I agree, and they can all play in midfield, together.
Last edited by danfo driver on Fri Mar 23, 2018 7:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

You're a funny guy. :D

AYO, Joel at left-back? Just think of Mikel or Onazi at left-back and that will give you a clear read on the issue.
Are you suggesting that Joel can tackle or chase down strong and quick attackers?
Like Mikel, he guy is a distributor and not a tackler. So why waste or endanger him as a full back?

The hyping of Tyrone because his performance against D Maria doesn’t make sense. I don’t want to bring our player down but in Tyronne’s debut game for Nigeria he was poor and gave away a needless penalty. We didn’t lose the game but I think we need to see more of him before hyping him any further. I remember how Makinwa, Olofinjana, Justice Christopher, Ogbeche etc etc were hyped we all know how that turned out. I am in no way saying Tyrone is another Makinwa but let us tone down the hype and over praise.

Thank God we have a foreign coach had we a local coach I would have boycotted this World Cup like did for 2014 no way was I going subject myself to watching Sola Ameobi