Ekong is ready

The bobo is our Uche Okechukwu, very assured and solid defender. He more than held his own against the likes of Lewandowski and Milik for the better part of the game, complimented Balogun well and was my MOTM...and to think that the bobo is still young, I hope he goes on to have a great career ahead.
Re: Ekong is ready

Tobi17 wrote:The bobo is our Uche Okechukwu, very assured and solid defender. He more than held his own against the likes of Lewandowski and Milik for the better part of the game, complimented Balogun well and was my MOTM...and to think that the bobo is still young, I hope he goes on to have a great career ahead.
+1

King Kong was a beast tonight. At the beginning the captain armband weighed him down a bit. But he managed to refocus as the game progressed...

Has been winning MOM awards since the Olympics

And to think he was released by Tottenham!??

Mr Shows wrote:King Kong was a beast tonight. At the beginning the captain armband weighed him down a bit. But he managed to refocus as the game progressed...
How do you know this? Someone also said the same about Balogun from the Algeria game. How do you guys know? Is the player's hand drooping?

oloye wrote:Has been winning MOM awards since the Olympics
Fact not feelings...

Mr Shows wrote:King Kong was a beast tonight. At the beginning the captain armband weighed him down a bit. But he managed to refocus as the game progressed...
Una don come again. Dude was solid from the get go...Haba

Yes, I had a similar reaction. This was the match I finally accepted that the boy is legit. He’s very good

How do you know this? Someone also said the same about Balogun from the Algeria game. How do you guys know? Is the player's hand drooping?

He just needs to be fully focused and cut out mistakes. There was a particular move by Poland that he anticipated, he got ahead of Lewadowski and inexplicably missed the ball. That sort of mistake could result in a goal and he needs to cut them out. Otherwise he had a solid game.

Capo!!!

return2k2

Post by return2k2 »

Tobi17 wrote:The bobo is our Uche Okechukwu, very assured and solid defender. He more than held his own against the likes of Lewandowski and Milik for the better part of the game, complimented Balogun well and was my MOTM...and to think that the bobo is still young, I hope he goes on to have a great career ahead.
Yep, Ekong is the new Uche Okechukwu.

I'm sorry to say but I don't have much confidence in Balogun.

return2k2 wrote:
Yep, Ekong is the new Uche Okechukwu.

I'm sorry to say but I don't have much confidence in Balogun.
To be fair, Balogun does not have confidence in you, either.
Ekong ‘honoured’ to lead Nigeria to victory vs. Poland

Yahoo Sports

William Troost-Ekong ‘honoured’ to lead Nigeria to victory vs. Poland

Sporting News Sporting News 3 hours ago .
https://www.yahoo.com/sports/william-tr ... 08079.html

William Troost-Ekong is ‘honoured’ to lead Nigeria to a 1-0 victory over Poland in a friendly outing on Friday evening.

In the absence of the Super Eagles captain, John Obi Mikel, owing to work permit issue at his base in China, the Bursaspor defender was given the responsibility to lead the team against Adam Nawalka's men.

Victor Moses’ strike from the penalty spot made the difference as Gernot Rohr’s side continued their World Cup preparations on a positive note.

Delighted with the outcome of the game in his first outing as the skipper of the three-time African champions, the Dutch-born defender has taken to the social media to share his feelings.

“Very Honoured to captain Nigeria for the first time today [Friday],” Ekong posted on Instagram.

“And very proud of the boys who fought well to beat Poland 1-0. Thanks for your support!”

On Tuesday, Nigeria will take on Serbia in another friendly encounter at the Hive Stadium, London.
Re: Ekong ‘honoured’ to lead Nigeria to victory vs. Poland

:clap:

Re: Ekong ‘honoured’ to lead Nigeria to victory vs. Poland

He was my MoM with Joel Obi hot at his heels.

oloye wrote:Has been winning MOM awards since the Olympics
When a renowned center-back endorses you, you are legit. Ekong is our undisputed defence General. Played like a true captain and deserving of the Man- of -the -Match award.

Remember Collin Udoh a while back saying someday he will captain Nigeria.
Obiagu

Post by Obiagu »

I would like to see a partnership of ekong and omeruo. I think their speed and recovery rate will be needed against teams with fast attackers.
supereagles all the way