'Zero Shots On Target' Is a Serious Discussion Point

Re: 'Zero Shots On Target' Is a Serious Discussion Point

I am perplexed as to why Rohr did not try out Kelechi Nwakali and Abdul Ajagun in the Poland and Serbia friendlies. At least if they were not good enough, they could have been dropped and that would have been the end of the matter.

As we speak, whether we like it or not, he has to try them out. He also needs to look at Ebere Eze just to find a creative playmaker! If none of them are up to scratch, then we may just have to manage Alex Iwobi!

What is this discussion about zero shots on target when it is a false narrative?
We had a clean shot on target (Moses) in the game against Serbia, which lead to a clean save on the near post.
We also created scoring opportunities as well which were not taken due to poor shooting.

charlie wrote:What is this discussion about zero shots on target when it is a false narrative?
We had a clean shot on target (Moses) in the game against Serbia, which lead to a clean save on the near post.
We also created scoring opportunities as well which were not taken due to poor shooting.
But, the thread was made after the Poland game, and it was factual...

charlie wrote:What is this discussion about zero shots on target when it is a false narrative?
A penalty is also considered a shot on target if you score.
So the thread is not factual.

http://www.espn.com/soccer/matchstats?gameId=500471

charlie wrote:

Reeeeeeeeeeaching....if you don’t want to have the discussion then fine, but don’t reach haba...

charlie wrote:

Reeeeeeeeeeaching....if you don’t want to have the discussion then fine, but don’t reach haba...
Reach or not, it does not change the fact that anyone saying we had zero shots on targets in 2 games is not being factual.

Now if you want to debate that we are not creating enough quality chances, then yes I am totally fine with that argument and debate.

charlie wrote:

Reach or not, it does not change the fact that anyone saying we had zero shots on targets in 2 games is not being factual.

Now if you want to debate that we are not creating enough quality chances, then yes I am totally fine with that argument and debate.
That was clearly the point of the thread, you just want to reach just for the sake of being a contrarian...if you don't want to discuss our low creation of chances then leave the thread, haba, whats the point of the reach?

charlie wrote:

That was clearly the point of the thread, you just want to reach just for the sake of being a contrarian...if you don't want to discuss our low creation of chances then leave the thread, haba, whats the point of the reach?
Maybe it was the point, but it was not the title of this thread.
When you say we have had zero shots on targets, you are creating a false narrative to attract attention rather than making a point.

Maybe the author should leave the exaggerations for fox news and use facts instead.

charlie wrote:Maybe it was the point, but it was not the title of this thread.
When you say we have had zero shots on targets, you are creating a false narrative to attract attention rather than making a point.
Maybe the author should leave the exaggerations for fox news and use facts instead.
Charlie you're just being silly.
If anyone is trying to catch attention and creating a false narrative (your words), its you, especially when you go as far as saying:
This angle you are still blindly arguing when it has been clearly pointed out to you that the thread was created just after the Poland game but before the Serbian game.
The discussion was then revived AFTER the Serbian game on page 5 when I said:
damunk wrote:Any new or revised views?
I've not watched the Nig-Serbia match yet but hear Ighalo was impressive...
You either didn't read the thread in its entirety or you are just being plain silly by refusing to recognize the context.
I suspect the former.
If you had read the whole thread you wouldn't be embarrassing yourself with this brain-dead argument you are making. :roll:

England vs Nigeria - June 2, 2018

Shots
England 12 Nigeria 12

Shots on Target
England 4 Nigeria 4

YemiBrazil wrote:England vs Nigeria - June 2, 2018

Shots
England 12 Nigeria 12

Shots on Target
England 4 Nigeria 4
Improvement.
Any stats on the Czek game other than the goal count?

Sorry Damunk but you’re way off the mark here.

Coach wrote:Sorry Damunk but you’re way off the mark here.
Like how? Zero shots on target? :idea:

Damunk wrote:Seriously now.
Sentiments aside, we can't sweep this vital statistic under the carpet.
The return of Mikel isn't going to correct this, and neither will Etebo.

So what is the problem?
What do we do?
What are our options?
What is Rohr thinking about this?
Any improvement?

Hmm

Maybe the NFF should consider bringing in an attacking coach to help Rohr example Ss because he hasn’t got a clue about attack

Flex Swift wrote:Maybe the NFF should consider bringing in an attacking coach to help Rohr example Ss because he hasn’t got a clue about attack
Statements like this is why we need a slap emoticon.
I'm not a big fan of Rohr but the man has taken the SE from struggling against the likes of Lesotho, Mozambique and Ethiopia to a free scoring team that is now easily qualifying for tournaments. Give kudos to whom it's due abeg!

Ekorian wrote:
Flex Swift wrote:Maybe the NFF should consider bringing in an attacking coach to help Rohr example Ss because he hasn’t got a clue about attack
I'm not a big fan of Rohr but the man has taken the SE from struggling against the likes of Lesotho, Mozambique and Ethiopia to a free scoring team that is now easily qualifying for tournaments. Give kudos to whom it's due abeg!
Rohr teams struggle to score goals fact. Making suggestions which may benefit the team should be encouraged . Nigeria is a mess today because ideas and solutions are always shot down by ITKs’and what Fela called educated illiterates.

The topic being discussed here is about insuffient shots on goal and scoring,not about qualifying for a competition (where we only attended to learn). The NFL have a head coach but under that person they have an attack coach and the defensive coach because they recognise that individuals have different talents. It is quite clear to many now that Rohr is a good defensive coach but a poor attacking coach it is therefore not unreasonable to suggest he have help in areas of weakness.

But feel free bring up unhelpful comments such as we qualified for ACOn with a game a to spare neglecting the fact the teams short comings..... The game yesterday is a prime example of the teams inability to score against teams that park the bus or are well organised
globalinksnn

Post by globalinksnn »

siasia`s teams are free scoring but one notable one was unable to qualify for Nations up :lol:

Flex Swift wrote:
Ekorian wrote:
Rohr teams struggle to score goals fact. Making suggestions which may benefit the team should be encouraged . Nigeria is a mess today because ideas and solutions are always shot down by ITKs’and what Fela called educated illiterates.

The topic being discussed here is about insuffient shots on goal and scoring,not about qualifying for a competition (where we only attended to learn). The NFL have a head coach but under that person they have an attack coach and the defensive coach because they recognise that individuals have different talents. It is quite clear to many now that Rohr is a good defensive coach but a poor attacking coach it is therefore not unreasonable to suggest he have help in areas of weakness.

But feel free bring up unhelpful comments such as we qualified for ACOn with a game a to spare neglecting the fact the teams short comings..... The game yesterday is a prime example of the teams inability to score against teams that park the bus or are well organised
Chief, you have definitely forgotten the tenures of Amodu, Keshi, siasia and other coaches where we were grinding one-nil results to beat our opponents.
And shots on target and scoring are related.
Yesterday's game was more experimental. Our squad that were robbed in South Africa would have performed better IMO.

Flex Swift wrote:
Ekorian wrote:

Musa created a chance for Nacho and miscontrolled it...............Yeap blame Rohr
Ighalo WC misses..............Yeap blame Rohr

Wow damunk is a flip flopper :laugh: his recent stance is so different from this thread he created 6 months ago kai

Bigpokey24 wrote:Wow damunk is a flip flopper :laugh: his recent stance is so different from this thread he created 6 months ago kai
Stop flip-flapping your lips and substantiate your statement.

I have had no "recent stance" on goal scoring or strikers. My recent stance has been in support of the coach and the team as a whole, ò̩dè̩.
And I'm still not a great fan of Ighalo either.
I know you have now become my self-appointed official stalker. At least try and be an intelligent one. :idea: