Human beings are something else re: Germany vs Spain

I have been reading and hearing such superlatives about this game for such a long time that I finally decided to watch the game. Great game, but nothing to suggest that these two teams cannot be soundly beaten.

Don't get me wrong, both teams are great, but they are prone to the same errors and brain freezes that any other team can exhibit, just less often. I saw several bad touches by both teams in key moments, most notable Ozil for Germany (min 1:09 of the clip below) and Silva for Spain (min 2:44 of the clip below)

Also German defense were caught ball watching (min 1:33) for Spain's goal.

Re: Human beings are something else re: Germany vs Spain

You’ve just confirmed that you’re something else. If they can produce that level of football in a meaningless friendly, you must truly be something else you believe they won’t tear Shehu and Ezenwa a new one.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:You’ve just confirmed that you’re something else. If they can produce that level of football in a meaningless friendly, you must truly be something else you believe they won’t tear Shehu and Ezenwa a new one.
Abeg go siddon. France-Colombia was a better game.

TheHitman47

Post by TheHitman47 »

The problem is, those teams don't make a lot of mistakes and they have tournament winning mentality. You have to be at your top gear to beat them and for some teams on your top gear to just hang with them. The big things are avoiding conceding late goals, avoiding fouls within shooting range of your box and being smart and precise with your chances.

Ghana exposed one of Germany's weaknesses along with France at the Euros last year. Pace combined with skill and a solid defense beats this German team. Also making the necessary movements and not much more is the way to beat them.

TheHitman47 wrote:The problem is, those teams don't make a lot of mistakes and they have tournament winning mentality. You have to be at your top gear to beat them and for some teams on your top gear to just hang with them. The big things are avoiding conceding late goals, avoiding fouls within shooting range of your box and being smart and precise with your chances.

Ghana exposed one of Germany's weaknesses along with France at the Euros last year. Pace combined with skill and a solid defense beats this German team. Also making the necessary movements and not much more is the way to beat them.
:agree: 1000%.

France vs Columbia was a better game,I have seen even Egland play both Spain and Germany very well and we know England is crap
asabe

Post by asabe »

TheHitman47 wrote:The problem is, those teams don't make a lot of mistakes and they have tournament winning mentality. You have to be at your top gear to beat them and for some teams on your top gear to just hang with them. The big things are avoiding conceding late goals, avoiding fouls within shooting range of your box and being smart and precise with your chances.

Ghana should have beaten Germany in that game. What most of you here do not seem to get is that Germany would have the ability to make tactical adjustments to minimize the threat if for example if they met the Ghana team again (**does not mean they would beat Ghana). Football is not static and ability to make and execute tactical adjustments is the key in a 1 month long tournament.
“love the life you live. live the life you love.” Bob Marley

asabe wrote:

Ghana should have beaten Germany in that game. What most of you here do not seem to get is that Germany would have the ability to make tactical adjustments to minimize the threat if for example if they met the Ghana team again (**does not mean they would beat Ghana). Football is not static and ability to make and execute tactical adjustments is the key in a 1 month long tournament.
We sometimes overrate the effect of tactical adjustments. Italia, the masters of tactics and tactical adjustments are sitting at home and shopping for big screen TVs to watch the big show in June. There are too many variables in football, so sometimes you have to make your tactical adjustments, hope the players keep the cool heads necessary to carry them out, and then hope for the best. Germany's greatest edge has always been mental. It is almost impossible to rattle them, which is why they are virtually unstoppable with a good coach, because you know those instructions will be carried out to the letter.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:You’ve just confirmed that you’re something else. If they can produce that level of football in a meaningless friendly, you must truly be something else you believe they won’t tear Shehu and Ezenwa a new one.
Emir you way dey fear and dey piss for body like grandmama with urge incontinence.
asabe

Post by asabe »

Scipio Africanus wrote:
asabe wrote:

We sometimes overrate the effect of tactical adjustments. Italia, the masters of tactics and tactical adjustments are sitting at home and shopping for big screen TVs to watch the big show in June. There are too many variables in football, so sometimes you have to make your tactical adjustments, hope the players keep the cool heads necessary to carry them out, and then hope for the best. Germany's greatest edge has always been mental. It is almost impossible to rattle them, which is why they are virtually unstoppable with a good coach, because you know those instructions will be carried out to the letter.
I agree that discipline and mental strength are fundamental in carrying out the instructions on paper. But you also have to have structures that train those players to be able to understand and implement tactics holistically. The Italian example does not apply when you consider this is the first World cup they have missed, so if you look at it from a bigger picture their system has worked for them. Italy may need to make adjustments because the game evolves but they do have a fundamental building block.
“love the life you live. live the life you love.” Bob Marley