Having now watched the Poland game again...

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

It is clear that some people have an agenda. Now, I am absolutely convinced and I am not going to waste my time anymore. :lol:
Re: Having now watched the Poland game again...

You get time my brother... :rotf:

danfo driver wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

It is clear that some people have an agenda. Now, I am absolutely convinced and I am not going to waste my time anymore. :lol:
No big deal. Na agency business.

We need Nwakali :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

danfo driver wrote::rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

What agenda could it possibly be?
Typically, when you watch a game life one does it with a heightened tension and emotion.
So what did you see differently now that you have had the benefit of watching it a second time?

What agenda could it possibly be?
Typically, when you watch a game life one does it with a heightened tension and emotion.
So what did you see differently now that you have had the benefit of watching it a second time?
Very true.
After watching the game a second time, i noticed Balogun played quite well though he was beaten for pace twice or thrice.

Still, our performance in the game is the worst so far under Rohr. It could be the way the Polish team played but our game didnt flow and we made far lesser threats at the Polish goal.

The worst culprit was Kelechi. In second half he touched the ball only once.. He never put himself in a good position to receive the ball. Incessantly running aimlessly around the field . Only came close to the ball when there is free kick which Moses vehemently denied him from taken them, Honestly between him Musa I don't who is worse . However , what I know for sure both lack the dexterities to play at this level.

bully12 wrote:The worst culprit was Kelechi. In second half he touched the ball only once.. He never put himself in a good position to receive the ball. Incessantly running aimlessly around the field . Only came close to the ball when there is free kick which Moses vehemently denied him from taken them, Honestly between him Musa I don't who is worse . However , what I know for sure both lack the dexterities to play at this level.
Could be down to adjusting to new tactics.

Also we can't really say this was the A team. So some gelling issues there as well.

Credit to our defence. As I watched the game live, I felt if Poland were given 3 days, they still will not score against us. Their only chance was at setpieces and they were not clinical enough.

I don watch the game 11 times....and I wonder if CE ball watchers are not smart. . Em SE balled

This is why I don't like watching a game with fellow citizens at a bar, or sitting near some in a stadium.
Most just like to make impatient and irrelevant comments, buttressed by sentiments.

Robbynice wrote:You get time my brother... :rotf:
I was literally cracking up after I was done. :lol: :lol: Unbelievable.

Even the Idowu/Shehu that they almost convinced me (against my own eyes) were useless... I couldnt believe it. Shehu was as stable as a newly crafted desk. He only had an issue once, which led to the freekick that caused the goal mouth scramble. Aside from that, he was strong and played well.

Idowu was also very good. Wasnt great, as he didnt have to be... he was good. Defended well, and joined the midfield very well. The times that the Polish players got behind him was (1) when he overlapped and Joel didnt cover for him-- because Joel was busy in midfield because we had less players in midfield and (2) Iwobi didnt track the winger who ran off the ball.

People also failed to notice that we played a 4-4-2 and Poland played a 3-5-2 which means they flooded the midfield absolutely...

WE MATCHED THEM! WE WERE ABSOLUTELY NOT INFERIOR AT ANY POINT IN THE GAME. Even when we were defending deep, we were resolute! It was like November when Argentina was passing passing and no where to to. Even the commentator said it - "Poland has no where to go!" :rotf:

Every aspect of the game was controlled by us. When we wanted to attack them, we did. When we wanted them to have the ball, and counter them, we let them have the ball! It wasnt by chance! It was our decision!

Anyway, I am so done! No more! Na to watch match and just laugh at threads from now on.

Goldleaf wrote:Credit to our defence. As I watched the game live, I felt if Poland were given 3 days, they still will not score against us. Their only chance was at setpieces and they were not clinical enough.
Thats what is beginning to happen now. Our organization is such that teams can play for 10 years and they simply cannot pass. I heard the commentator pretty much state so-- "Poland has no where to go!" :rotf:

Concur.
(watched the game 3 times, as of yesterday night).
rr
Even the Idowu/Shehu that they almost convinced me (against my own eyes) were useless... I couldnt believe it. Shehu was as stable as a newly crafted desk. He only had an issue once, which led to the freekick that caused the goal mouth scramble. Aside from that, he was strong and played well.

Idowu was also very good. Wasnt great, as he didnt have to be... he was good. Defended well, and joined the midfield very well. The times that the Polish players got behind him was (1) when he overlapped and Joel didnt cover for him-- because Joel was busy in midfield because we had less players in midfield and (2) Iwobi didnt track the winger who ran off the ball.

People also failed to notice that we played a 4-4-2 and Poland played a 3-5-2 which means they flooded the midfield absolutely...

WE MATCHED THEM! WE WERE ABSOLUTELY NOT INFERIOR AT ANY POINT IN THE GAME. Even when we were defending deep, we were resolute! It was like November when Argentina was passing passing and no where to to. Even the commentator said it - "Poland has no where to go!" :rotf:

Every aspect of the game was controlled by us. When we wanted to attack them, we did. When we wanted them to have the ball, and counter them, we let them have the ball! It wasnt by chance! It was our decision!

Anyway, I am so done! No more! Na to watch match and just laugh at threads from now on.
BigMuze

Post by BigMuze »

The game was like nasty trench warfare fought tooth and nail in midfield; no frills no trills. Ndidi was immense, but as usual doesn't get props he deserves for doing the dirty work. I also agree that Iheanacho didn't do himself justice with his frequent turnovers, Obi showed better positional awareness than Onazi in two man CM, until Ogu came to replace him in that role and he was able to bomb forward. Good to see that if we cant finish off teams we can hold out for slim wins.
"Everyone, and particularly every true beliver, should decide which is more important to them. But as for me, I choose eternity over lifetime".

Bigpokey24 wrote:I don watch the game 11 times....and I wonder if CE ball watchers are not smart. . Em SE balled
Na wetin I see be that too but then if they are not calling me an optimist they are saying I only see the positives so...oh well wetin small pikin like me know... :D

Ol'boy you go notice I don't really follow game threads on CE anymore during games. I come afterwards to read the game thread for comic relief...The thing funny die ATF... :rotf:

Bigpokey24 wrote:I don watch the game 11 times....and I wonder if CE ball watchers are not smart. . Em SE balled
Na wetin I see be that too but then if they are not calling me an optimist they are saying I only see the positives so...oh well wetin small pikin like me know... :D
this small pikin no dey grow up at all :D

CE seems to deal a lot in extremes, with most on game day threads thinking we are playing rubbish, but this is also the other side of the coin (overhyping), which is just as bad. We didn't ball, we played a decent and tactically astute game and even Rohr said as much even said we were lucky to win. The coordination of our attacks does need to improve going forward. But if you call this balling, then what would you call our second half display vs. Argentina?

I have said it time and again. If you have the opportunity to watch the match live, stay away from the match thread. Leave that for ppl who are not watching.

Just come and contribute after half time or full time.

To watch with CE members na unnecessary hypertension.
Polly

Post by Polly »

I don't usually agree with you, but this time, you get it 100% right. Our team played a disciplined, organized, professional contest. Had they been any of the world's more famous soccer nations, people here would have been falling over themselves to point out how good they were. Come on!

General rule is don't depend on the game thread for how the team played or how a specific player played in the game.

Good thing bein showed the game a few times since the game and I had to watch it again. I know tension makes for crazy observations but it has become something else on this site. Some people just have this notion in their head and use non existing incidents to write them on game threads.

If we get our mid to final third together, that game would have been embarrassing for the Poles. Anyways just use game thread as comic relief or better yet figure out the naysayers and ignore them for your sanity on games days.

After watching it again I have to agree with the sentiments here. The "real score" was not 3-0 as some claimed, it was more like 5-2 to Poland.