Page 6 of 6

Re: I question Gernot Rohr's competence

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 5:03 pm
by highbury
If you see Ighalo in the starting lineup, then you will know we will certainly lose the game against Iceland. We don't need physicality to beat Iceland. We need wits and intelligence

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:42 pm
by DIMKA76
I began to question Rohr competence with the way he went about the invitation of players, execution of friendlies and utterances (losing mentality). Some kind of expectation management if you like. He was simply out of his depth. Qualifying for the world cup is not the be all and end all of Naija. They want to go out there to perform and if ever possible - win

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 11:43 pm
by The YeyeMan
highbury wrote:If you see Ighalo in the starting lineup, then you will know we will certainly lose the game against Iceland. We don't need physicality to beat Iceland. We need wits and intelligence
I'll be in the stadium. If I see the names Shehu and Ighalo in the starting line up then it's advantage Iceland; if I see Mikel trotting around behind Ighalo then it's game over - nothing would have been "learned".

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:11 am
by 9jaMan
DIMKA76 wrote:I began to question Rohr competence with the way he went about the invitation of players, execution of friendlies and utterances (losing mentality). Some kind of expectation management if you like. He was simply out of his depth. Qualifying for the world cup is not the be all and end all of Naija. They want to go out there to perform and if ever possible - win

Rohr is a loser and a coward, it's that simple, he is out there admiring the clubs the SE opponents play for and killing the dreams and hope of the young Nigerian team. Imagine Rohr telling his players that they are not good enough because of the clubs they play in, how do you expect the players to be motivated? The Mexican hey you's thrashed Germany and that's what football is all about. Fire Rohr now, he is too old and daft to change.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:33 pm
by highbury
I don't believe anything I hear from NFF, Rohr or the players about doing better. I will wait and see. Talk is cheap.

Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2018 11:32 pm
by highbury
I am repeating it here again: If we see Ighalo in the lineup, Nigeria WILL lose. Iceland will eat Ighalo up for Lunch. Physicality isn't what is needed to beat Iceland. Wits, intelligence, and speed are needed. Mikel, please go to the DM with Ndidi or Onazi.

*********************** *********** Uzoho**************************************************
Balogun*****************************Ekong**************************************************Omeruo

Moses**********Ndiii/Onazi********* Mikel************************************************Idowu

*******************************Iwobi***************************************************

*****************Etebo*************** Ihenacho******************************************************************

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 3:44 pm
by highbury
Good, Ighalo is not playing. Nigeria will win

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:00 pm
by cchinukw
Iceland formation is a 442

So this game will be fast paced.

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:00 pm
by cchinukw
Piom!

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:01 pm
by cchinukw
Poor clearance by Omeruo. I tire

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:02 pm
by cchinukw
Yet another set piece conceded.

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:03 pm
by cchinukw
This is plain stoopid. Playing to Iceland's strengths.

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 4:37 pm
by highbury
We need to up the tempo real bad. It is too slow

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:14 pm
by highbury
I told you. Well done Coach and the boys

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:16 pm
by cchinukw
highbury wrote:I told you. Well done Coach and the boys
Yes. On to the next game now.

This group is still well open.

Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 6:17 pm
by charlie
highbury wrote:I told you. Well done Coach and the boys
You told us what????
You havent stop telling us how Rohr was incompetent. Now you wan tell us wetin?

Abeg go siddon.

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:08 pm
by highbury
I wish the guys took their chances in the second half. How Ighalo plays for the National team baffles me. Well played Boys!!

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 11:41 pm
by cchinukw
Well played but the selection still let us down big time.

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 11:48 pm
by okuns
This loss is 100% on Rohr... Given the formation he chose, it was clear that Moses was going to be fatigued. He should have switched replaced Moses with Ebuehi or Shehu...

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 1:03 am
by Staff Sgt Cota VI
okuns wrote:This loss is 100% on Rohr... Given the formation he chose, it was clear that Moses was going to be fatigued. He should have switched replaced Moses with Ebuehi or Shehu...
Agreed more defensive reinforcements were needed, once we got the result we needed. But alas he stuck with the same formation and players. Even when he made adjustments, it was like for like. Why not replace an attacking player with a defensive one?