NO WORLD CUP FOR MARTINS...OUT INJURED

Apparently, there'll be no World Cup for Martins. Out injured for up to seven months.

http://owngoalnigeria.com/2018/04/04/ob ... armstring/

http://www.bbc.com/sport/football/43646243

Nigeria international Obafemi Martins has been ruled out of action for between six and seven months with a torn hamstring, his Chinese Super League (CSL) club Shanghai Shenhua announced on Wednesday.

Martins sustained the injury against Kashima Antlers in the Asian Champions League on Tuesday.

The 33-year-old forward was carried off midway through the first half of the continental club fixture which they drew 2-2.

The former Inter Milan and Newcastle United forward joined Shenhua at the start of the 2016 CSL season from Major League Soccer side Seattle Sounders.

He scored a hat-trick for Shanghai on Saturday in their 4-2 league win over Hebei China Fortune.

The injury ends any faint hopes Martins may have had of making Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr's squad for this year's World Cup in Russia.

Tuesday's draw also means Shenhua cannot qualify for the knockout rounds of the continental championship.

Shanghai Shenhua are currently sixth in the CSL standings after four games.
Re: NO WORLD CUP FOR MARTINS...OUT INJURED

Case closed. :(

Not to be a doubting Thomas, but is it not in the club's interest for Martins to be ruled out of the WC? :sneaky:

If true however I wish him the best and quick recovery.

Agents return the money paid to you..lol

7 months for a torn harm string?

That is crazy. It took me about 10 weeks.

ohenhen1 wrote:7 months for a torn harm string?

That sounds like crazy numbers...

It depends on the grade of the tear. Poor martins. get well soon sir.

...agents pissed after so much hoopla on hat trick :sad:

He’s young,he’ll heal in time for the Croatia game,oh maybe not.

His injury is unfortunate and I wish him a speedy recovery. But sorry, Martins is not WC material. He's been tried and that didn't work out. No no need to try that experiment again

YUJAM wrote:His injury is unfortunate and I wish him a speedy recovery. But sorry, Martins is not WC material. He's been tried and that didn't work out. No no need to try that experiment again

Each time I read statements like this, I just shake my head. What exactly does this mean? Isn't this a team sport? So the current form of the player doesn't matter? Different coaching staff doesnt matter? How he would be deployed now vs 2002, the make up of his teammates now vs 2002 don't matter? The opponents we will face now vs what he faced in 2002 doesn't matter? How do you people make statements like this with a straight face and expect anyone to take you seriously?
Last edited by metalalloy on Wed Apr 04, 2018 7:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Was Martins ever in frame for the WC? Saw a thread on here about him scoring but not sure when he was put in frame for the WC.

YUJAM wrote:His injury is unfortunate and I wish him a speedy recovery. But sorry, Martins is not WC material. He's been tried and that didn't work out. No no need to try that experiment again
I don't understand some of the analyses on this forum. Its like you're comparing Martins to God-almighty. If Martins is not WC material, is Ighalo, or Kele or Musa or Simon? The decision on who to take is dependent on who the alternative option is and not blank standard called "world cup material". There are about 4 countries in the world that have the talent luxury to be saying so and so is not world cup material. Nigeria ain't one of them...We're force-blooding 21 year olds into our starting lineup

I'm not for sure saying that a healthy Martins deserved a spot....but I know enough about our striking talent to know that Martins deserved to be in the conversation.

Get well soon. Hopefully he can make a full recovery and get back to playing at a high level.

felarey wrote:Was Martins ever in frame for the WC? Saw a thread on here about him scoring but not sure when he was put in frame for the WC.
Just ignore them. These criminals know what they are doing. But it wont happen! Trust me on this. It wont!

At least someone here speaks some sense. Remember 2010. He was ineffective in the 2010 AFCON. Then the new coach would rather use a midfielder, Kalu Uche, as his target man over Martins at the World Cup. He missed his big chance to shine at the World Cup when he was at his peak in 2006. He missed that key game in Kano (and then the 2006 world cup) for some little club game in Italy.

In any case, I wish him a speedy recovery.
Last edited by Orion on Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

where you a footballer?
Olayemi14

Post by Olayemi14 »

lol To play on a Sunday Sunday?

?

Active member of the JOM & JM Fan Clubs. Baba Eleran of Chelsea FC.

Olayemi14 wrote:lol To play on a Sunday Sunday?

?

My injury was severe. 7 months for a torn harm string makes no sense to me.
Last edited by ohenhen1 on Wed Apr 04, 2018 11:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nope none of that matters. Martins is well past his prime and even when he was in his prime, he didn't do much for the SE. It's an old story

Each time I read statements like this, I just shake my head. What exactly does this mean? Isn't this a team sport? So the current form of the player doesn't matter? Different coaching staff doesnt matter? How he would be deployed now vs 2002, the make up of his teammates now vs 2002 don't matter? The opponents we will face now vs what he faced in 2002 doesn't matter? How do you people make statements like this with a straight face and expect anyone to take you seriously?

Martins’ fans can console themselves if they like but he never had a chance of making the World Cup team :!:

Blessing in disguise for Naija