Do you guys remember Sone Aluko?

Re: Do you guys remember Sone Aluko?

I will call Rohr tonight and put in a good word for Aluko. E go do una like film trick :taunt:
oyek

Post by oyek »

wale1974 wrote:
john12 wrote:Another day another crook advocating for his client 2 months to World Cup disrespecting the ones that qualified. If some was such an exceptional player he won’t be at Championship level. Also, it’s too. late for him to join after World Cup if he is in form coach or I’ll call him
Don't u get tired of this BS...............Seriously :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse: :curse:
You get time giving him a response.
If not for Jesus, where will i be?

Wale, my brother I’m not going to get tired of defending my country especially as deceptive agents destabilized our plans in 2002 and 2014 right in my “Koro koro” eyes. You can call it whatever but this year we must fight, hustle and oppose anyone that tries to fraudulently distrupt Super eagles World Cup plans. Like ohenhen said, fire brigade didn’t work in 2002 and 2014 and most likely won’t work in 2018. Therefore, After World Cup newer players can be integrated and no one will opposes. sheesh! you guys should respect our coach

One to be curious about. I'd say we just had players in better standing and we were getting results. Dunno how much effort he's put in regarding his international career. If this were a year ago, I might have hit up my facebook friend Gernot Rohr about him and got the feedback on owngoal :D .

fledy wrote:So so strange that he is not looked at by Rohr. Not saying he is the answer but really weird that he has not been called up in any friendly.
I know that this guy will die to play for Nigeria.
So sad
Ol' boy, he used to give everything, at one point he would be the only one trying and even scoring in crucial games, but it wasn't enough. He did all that even though he would always come in as a sub and the people playing ahead of him were not better than him.
He only scored in 1 game (v S/Africa)...
Otherwise, he was basically just another Ajasco dancer. :D

BTW, he wasn't "forgotten" and has been discussed often on CE...
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=283212
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=282585
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=28239
Deg, I thought it was more games, but he tried that game :rotf:

Good player and a free-kick specialist. He's a victim of Nigeria's lack of continuity more than anything else.

It was only because of Injury that he didn't become an SE regular!

The guy was not hyped at all.

I don't think he should be called up, but he was definitely everything we said he was back then. Injury na winch.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

The YeyeMan wrote:Good player and a free-kick specialist. He's a victim of Nigeria's lack of continuity more than anything else.

This. I hope he makes it back to the EPL or some other top league. One of my fav SE players.

Aliko is the only person i know that compliments mikels & iwobi's face pace attack style, these three work best together

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
soccernut

Post by soccernut »

Wow! I haven't seen anyone in this current squad do a solo effort like that from midfield -- and he's a left footed player! I hope Mr.Rohr realizes that there is still enough time for 2 or 3 more invitees in order to tweak this squad and get it just right. Our goal should never be to take bodies there, we need to take our best talent. I remember when Keshi (RIP) took about 6 average players to the last WC, only to get there and realize the players were just not good enough. They were benched all through the tourney. Four weeks of practice with new blood is not going to disorient a good team. If anything, it can only sharpen our team -- after all, game recognizes game!

Sometimes I don't blame some foreign borns for not choosing to play for Nigeria. Players like Aluko and to an extent Anichebe (still both just 29) are some of the reasons I don't.
db10

Post by db10 »

oyek wrote:Here is a goal is scored over the weekend.
Tough to advocate for a player on the account of one clip but if there ever was a one clip to justify doing so, this is it...
Every part of his touch, movement and of course the finish spoke quality in volumes.
Not sure why you wouldn't want this option in your arsenal.

Funny, the crowd thought his touch and turn to get around the man marking him was going to be height of the play... Then
he blew them away with the run and the finish!

db10

Post by db10 »

maceo4 wrote:[/video]
WOW! How many players are on the SE who are more polished???

db10 wrote:
maceo4 wrote:[/video]
WOW! How many players are on the SE who are more polished???
Poor guy, I doubt Rohr even knows about him...

The guy creates, scores and has very good assists - We need this now!!!

oscar52 wrote:Sometimes I don't blame some foreign borns for not choosing to play for Nigeria. Players like Aluko and to an extent Anichebe (still both just 29) are some of the reasons I don't.
Exactly! Because Anichebe and Aluko would have been 3-Lions superstars by now... :roll:

Personally, I like Anichebe and Aluko, but frankly this sort of subjugated mentality does my head in. We should be appreciative for ANYONE at all representing Nigeria, but sadly while some of you are quick to insult and deride our Nigerian-born players, you vigorously stool sample so-called "foreign borns" (the great majority of whom, if we are truthful to ourselves, would NEVER play for Nigeria if accorded an opportunity to play for their country of birth, which is of course their right) as if they are doing us some kind of inordinate favor. Dude, it can be difficult and inconvenient for ANYONE to elect to represent Nigeria, and we should be equally APPRECIATIVE of all regardless of place of birth or accent. SMDH.

john12 wrote:Wale, my brother I’m not going to get tired of defending my country especially as deceptive agents destabilized our plans in 2002 and 2014 right in my “Koro koro” eyes. You can call it whatever but this year we must fight, hustle and oppose anyone that tries to fraudulently distrupt Super eagles World Cup plans. Like ohenhen said, fire brigade didn’t work in 2002 and 2014 and most likely won’t work in 2018. Therefore, After World Cup newer players can be integrated and no one will opposes. sheesh! you guys should respect our coach
If you really care about your country like you said...................Then Aluko should be Number on your list.
Check his stats with his club and SE...................Nothing more to add.

john12 wrote:Wale, my brother I’m not going to get tired of defending my country especially as deceptive agents destabilized our plans in 2002 and 2014 right in my “Koro koro” eyes. You can call it whatever but this year we must fight, hustle and oppose anyone that tries to fraudulently distrupt Super eagles World Cup plans. Like ohenhen said, fire brigade didn’t work in 2002 and 2014 and most likely won’t work in 2018. Therefore, After World Cup newer players can be integrated and no one will opposes. sheesh! you guys should respect our coach
Dele, sharrap abeg! :D

Obiagu

Post by Obiagu »

In a team that boasts of Mikel Obi as it's main goal scoring threat, this guy is worth at least to be invited to fight for a place.
supereagles all the way

I'm of the opinion Rohr should focus mainly on the players he has worked with till date. However, I'll be open to him trying out a few new players in friendlies before the world cup. Iwobi is still my preferred choice for the AM position. I think Mikel is best in a deeper role as a CM/DM.

Aluko may not be a world class AM, but in my opinion is probably as good or better than most of the AM options that have been thrown around on this forum.

oscar52 wrote:Sometimes I don't blame some foreign borns for not choosing to play for Nigeria. Players like Aluko and to an extent Anichebe (still both just 29) are some of the reasons I don't.
Exactly! Because Anichebe and Aluko would have been 3-Lions superstars by now... :roll:

Personally, I like Anichebe and Aluko, but frankly this sort of subjugated mentality does my head in. We should be appreciative for ANYONE at all representing Nigeria, but sadly while some of you are quick to insult and deride our Nigerian-born players, you vigorously stool sample so-called "foreign borns" (the great majority of whom, if we are truthful to ourselves, would NEVER play for Nigeria if accorded an opportunity to play for their country of birth, which is of course their right) as if they are doing us some kind of inordinate favor. Dude, it can be difficult and inconvenient for ANYONE to elect to represent Nigeria, and we should be equally APPRECIATIVE of all regardless of place of birth or accent. SMDH.
KPOM. TBH, Anichebe hardly ever did much in GWG to deserve the praise that I am reading here. Aluko was and is good but the hype here is extraordinary, just my tuppence.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics