Rashidi Yekini Destroys Real Madrid

mastermind

Post by mastermind »

Ferocious!!
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.
Re: Rashidi Yekini Destroys Real Madrid

Talk of complete striker.....damn. You watch this man in action and then you watch some who call themselves strikers these days , you simply look at them with disdain and contempt!

Abeg sun re o Yekini....

Legend! Oba goal was supposed to be a great replacement for him but I think Iheanacho will end up breaking that goal record except he stops playing

RIP to the legend

...to say this guy is not revered and have a place of honor in Nigerian football is sad. Has great nose for goal.

On a side note, seems as of the 1990s big clubs don't have names on their shirts, hmm, innovation arriving slowly.

mcal wrote:...to say this guy is not revered and have a place of honor in Nigerian football is sad. Has great nose for goal.

On a side note, seems as of the 1990s big clubs don't have names on their shirts, hmm, innovation arriving slowly.
In the future, players will be fitted with trackers so that when they hold onto possession for at least a second will show up on the bottom corners of the broadcast with their names.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Two crazy things I never understood about Yekini:

1) He was top scorer in Portugal with a team that got relegated! (as African footballer of the year that year too)

2) Bigger clubs never came in for him (perhaps because he peaked in his late 20s and early 30s). Late developer like Wrighty or Vardy?

wiseone wrote:Two crazy things I never understood about Yekini:

1) He was top scorer in Portugal with a team that got relegated! (as African footballer of the year that year too)

2) Bigger clubs never came in for him (perhaps because he peaked in his late 20s and early 30s). Late developer like Wrighty or Vardy?
Man mi in those days it was hard to get to top teams,they did not believe african players were up to it. The Kanu generation started making stronger cases that could no longer be ignored.

Perhaps Yekini came a generation too early for the Champions League/Bosman money. If Lukaku can go for 75+ million, what would Yekini be worth in today's market?
oloye wrote:Man mi in those days it was hard to get to top teams,they did not believe african players were up to it. The Kanu generation started making stronger cases that could no longer be ignored.
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

Great African import. Paved way for the likes of Drogba and co.
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.

oloye wrote:Talk of complete striker.....damn. You watch this man in action and then you watch some who call themselves strikers these days , you simply look at them with disdain and contempt!

Abeg sun re o Yekini....

Uncle, what can we do! The thing taya person.

In a country were many of us witnessed Yekini, we have people trying to convince us that Brown Ideye is a non-scoring striker who should lead us to the world cup! we don suffer :lol: :lol:

Used to watch Spanish football weekly during that time. I don’t remember the first goal but I do remember the 2nd. Sporting Gijon was not a great experience for Yekini. Injury-blighted

oloye wrote:Talk of complete striker.....damn. You watch this man in action and then you watch some who call themselves strikers these days , you simply look at them with disdain and contempt!

Abeg sun re o Yekini....

Uncle, what can we do! The thing taya person.

In a country were many of us witnessed Yekini, we have people trying to convince us that Brown Ideye is a non-scoring striker who should lead us to the world cup! we don suffer :lol: :lol:
I taya....What an insult.

I don talk am before...some of the worst analysis in football usually starts with the following statement ...”but his holdup play is good”. Na holdup play we go chop?

Ye-King!!! The most powerful striker to emerge from Africa. The 1994 team was fearsome with an attack led by this phenomenon of a man. I just chuckle when I compare our current Super Eagles strikers with him.

wiseone wrote:Perhaps Yekini came a generation too early for the Champions League/Bosman money. If Lukaku can go for 75+ million, what would Yekini be worth in today's market?
oloye wrote:Man mi in those days it was hard to get to top teams,they did not believe african players were up to it. The Kanu generation started making stronger cases that could no longer be ignored.
I try to imagine Yekini in the colors of ManU or Arsenal, he would have murdered a keeper with his canon shots! Then i see the likes of Giroud lumping around like a castrated camel!

wiseone wrote:Perhaps Yekini came a generation too early for the Champions League/Bosman money. If Lukaku can go for 75+ million, what would Yekini be worth in today's market?
I try to imagine Yekini in the colors of ManU or Arsenal, he would have murdered a keeper with his canon shots! Then i see the likes of Giroud lumping around like a castrated camel!

Kai, Oloye and his descriptions.

You need to write a book o...I still remember how you said Amodu (RIP) first described you as lazy when he saw you relaxing on a couch after a log road trip. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

wiseone wrote:Two crazy things I never understood about Yekini:

How many Africans played at the big clubs during the 80's and early 90's?

He played in the wrong era. If he was playing today. He will be playing for the big clubs.

The way his life ended was so sad.

Never was a fan. I just don't see it.
FATHER TIKO

Post by FATHER TIKO »

Those Yekini canons...

The canon he unleashed at AFCON 94 v Egypt...
30m lofted pass from Oliseh, Yekini ran onto the ball, plucked it from the air with his thigh, and smashed the ball against the cross-bar...all in one motion...

A France-Afrique photographer stationed behind Egypt's goal swore the posts vibrated like a tuning-fork... :shock: :shock:

Those posts are still vibrating to this day... :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:
"...Some say football is not a matter of life and death;
I can assure you it's more important than that..."
- Bill Shankly

ANC wrote:Never was a fan. I just don't see it.
Never was a fan of who? Yekini?
If so, who were you a fan of then?

Apparently Nnamdi Oduamadi :shock:

:biggrin: