Page 2 of 2

Re: Fashola wants Nigeria to submit joint bid with Morocco

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 5:30 pm
by Eaglezbeak
cchinukw wrote:World Cup is Haram
Yeah like the Miss World pageant that Nigeria hosted!

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:44 pm
by Ipe Grams
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Fashola wants Nigeria to submit 2026 Fifa World Cup bid in conjunction with Morocco - See more at: https://goo.gl/ZKUSHU
Do these people check the infrastructure already in place and the other infrastructure built by Countries that have hosted the WC?

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 6:48 pm
by Ipe Grams
marko wrote:Pls go fix transport, health, security, roads, electricity, poverty before dreaming
Paradoxically, perhaps being granted the hosting rights could lead to those things you highlighted being fixed.
In another universe all those are in place and working smoothly. :P

Posted: Wed Apr 11, 2018 7:13 pm
by Obong
Whatever happened to all the infrastructure used for the 2009 Under - 17 tournament?

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:14 am
by Ayo Akinfe
Between now and 2026, we can build whatever infrastructure is required. Eight years is enough time to build railway lines, hotels, stadia, motorways, hospitals, gyms, training camps, etc.

Most countries invest in these facilities after winning the bid to host. Qatar had absolutely nothing before it won the right to host the World Cup.

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:49 am
by Eaglezbeak
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Between now and 2026, we can build whatever infrastructure is required. Eight years is enough time to build railway lines, hotels, stadia, motorways, hospitals, gyms, training camps, etc.

Most countries invest in these facilities after winning the bid to host. Qatar had absolutely nothing before it won the right to host the World Cup.
Something that couldn’t be done in 50 years isn’t happening and you know your Presidents leave the country for medical care and still haven’t seen the need to improve anything.

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:33 pm
by kajifu
Obong wrote:Whatever happened to all the infrastructure used for the 2009 Under - 17 tournament?
This na world cup no be under 17 that most countries did not know even took place

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 3:31 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Obong wrote:Whatever happened to all the infrastructure used for the 2009 Under - 17 tournament?
This na world cup no be under 17 that most countries did not know even took place
:clap: you see our people don’t even know what hosting a World Cup Would mean,the youth tournament didn’t need much improvement all they did was lay down turf in their little 20k capacity stadiums and paint a few benches and fences :clap:

Posted: Thu Apr 12, 2018 5:36 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Ayo Akinfe wrote:Between now and 2026, we can build whatever infrastructure is required. Eight years is enough time to build railway lines, hotels, stadia, motorways, hospitals, gyms, training camps, etc.

Something that couldn’t be done in 50 years isn’t happening and you know your Presidents leave the country for medical care and still haven’t seen the need to improve anything.
Fifa will insist the facilities are up to standard. I fail to get your point.

There is nothing required that we do not have the capacity to do. All that is lacking is the political will and the World Cup will deliver that.

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 5:57 pm
by Eaglezbeak

There is nothing required that we do not have the capacity to do. All that is lacking is the political will and the World Cup will deliver that.
FIFA may insist but would Nigeria be able to fulfill any promise?I don’t think you remember that even when Nigeria hosted that youth tournament FIFA were not impressed with their slow progress and had to give Nigeria more time to reach requirements,I don’t even think FIFA have time to waste with Nigeria.

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 6:56 pm
by kajifu
Is Morocco not too far away that hosting it with Nigeria will be too much?
Is this not like Portugal hosting world cup with Norway?

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:33 pm
by Ipe Grams

Maybe you are a failure in seeing points, for 1 with the expected fans coming to watch their teams, how do you expect them to travel round the Country and then co-hosting with Morocco lol that is a dead cert with the 2 Countries not getting to host it.

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:37 pm
by Ipe Grams

FIFA may insist but would Nigeria be able to fulfill any promise?I don’t think you remember that even when Nigeria hosted that youth tournament FIFA were not impressed with their slow progress and had to give Nigeria more time to reach requirements,I don’t even think FIFA have time to waste with Nigeria.
Have many forgotten the ease with travelling from the UK to France for the Nigerian group matches during France 98 WC? Any should realise that the numbers of fans expected would be a nightmare in Nigeria.

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:41 pm
by Guv007
When did he become minister for sports? He should concentrate on solving Nigeria power problems first.

Posted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 7:53 pm
by Guv007

Under 17 hardly pulls in the number of travelling fans as the senior WC, Nigeria transport infrastructure wouldn't be able to cope.