why no football at the Commonwealth Games?

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 3:27 am
by Rawlings
I bet you all don't even know the games are ongoing ... or is it over? :winking:

Anyhow, Commonwealth Games should include football
This would have given Naija opportunity to win a "major" tournament in 2018

Re: why no football at the Commonwealth Games?

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:22 am
by Kabalega
Rawlings wrote:I bet you all don't even know the games are ongoing ... or is it over? :winking:

Uganda is in the Commonwealth. :D

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:36 am
by Gotti
Rawlings wrote:I bet you all don't even know the games are ongoing ... or is it over? :winking:

Like the Olympics perhaps? :lol:

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:39 am
by Gotti
Kabalega wrote:

The Cranes are in the Commonwealth.
Seeing how DNQ has driven Craw-cRawlings loko...
One can only imagine what WNQ (Will Never Qualify) does to folks. :lol:

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:58 am
by Eaglezbeak

Don't worry about Nigeria win or not we'll be at the biggest international tournament this year 2018 but the likes of ghana will be no where in sight,so cross your fingers ghana might win a medal in the short jump sorry long jump in the British Commonwealth games!

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 10:15 am
by Ipe Grams

Is Ghana at the games?

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 1:48 pm
by pajimoh
Ipe Grams wrote:

Is Ghana at the games?
Don't knock us. We got bronze in boxing. :thumb:

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 3:33 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
It is called WAFU. Automatically awarded to Ghana

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:31 pm
by scholl
Don’t know why some countries parktake in that charade called commonwealth games. What a joke

Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2018 9:24 am
by Ipe Grams
scholl wrote:Don’t know why some countries parktake in that charade called commonwealth games. What a joke
The whole commonwealth is a joke especially with how Britain is treating the Windrush generation of immigrants who have lived most of their life in the UK..

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:28 pm
by folem
scholl wrote:Don’t know why some countries parktake in that charade called commonwealth games. What a joke
A joke to you ..... maybe not to the athletes and officials. N1.8 Million is given to Gold medal winners. It is a stop to the Olympics, the next stop is African Games in 2019.

https://leadership.ng/2018/04/12/cwg-pm ... h-dollars/

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:47 pm
by airwolex
folem wrote:
A joke to you ..... maybe not to the athletes and officials. N1.8 Million is given to Gold medal winners. It is a stop to the Olympics, the next stop is African Games in 2019.

We can elevate the African games instead. I agree, the commonwealth is seriously tainted.

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 4:55 pm
by jette1

seriously have you thought about being a professional comedian

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 5:46 pm
by folem
airwolex wrote:
folem wrote:

We can elevate the African games instead. I agree, the commonwealth is seriously tainted.
You don't get to compete with Jamaica, Canada, England, Australia @ African Games. The Universiade (2 times) is another competition to test athletes before the Olympics but its not all encompassing. In a 4 year cycle, Universiade, Commonwealth Games, African Games, Olympics.

Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 7:34 pm
by Tbite
I don't have a problem with the Games itself.

When we look at the history of many modern entities they are as controversial.

I think the games should remain, but it should be re-branded.

Posted: Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:00 am
by folem
Beach soccer was played at the 2017 Commonwealth Youth Games in Bahamas. Futsal may get included at the main games.

http://www.bahamas2017cyg.org/sports/beach-soccer/

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footba ... debut.html
Five-a-side indoor football, known as futsal, could feature in the Commonwealth Games after the federation's president Prince Tunku Imran backed its inclusion.

The Malaysian, a former squash national champion, said futsal could be a cheaper option for hosts of the multi-sport event held every four years.

'The African countries want football to played in the Games but the logistics and costs involved will be an obstacle,' Tunku said.

'Futsal would be a better option as the number of players and officials per team is fewer and playing indoors also has its benefits. Futsal is also a very popular sport as well.'

Football has never featured at the Commonwealth Games, which will be hosted by the Scottish city of Glasgow next year.

Swimming, athletics, badminton, boxing, hockey, lawn bowls, netball, rugby sevens, squash and weightlifting are the 10 current core sports while each host is entitled to add up to a further seven sports.