Page 1 of 2

The word "HANG" time to do away with it?

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:22 am
by ANC
I have tried to accept this word but, for some reason, it still does not feel right. Each time I see, a topic, example Mikel Hangs, Oruma Hangs etc..my heart often skips a bit. I don't know how and/or who brought about this. I just wish we would do away with it. Associating Hanging with a specific individual/name and in writing...its just not right and insensitive to many people.

Re: The word "HANG" time to do away with it?

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 5:33 am
by Tbite
I had/have similar feelings.

but I never said anything, because I am somewhat removed from the culture that developed it. So perhaps I do not fully understand it.

I suppose it has to do with the ball hanging in the net? But that is besides the point, there is too much opportunity for confusion or ill thought.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:46 am
by Gotti
The only CE slang I cringe at is “rape” (as in “rape so-and-so defender)...

Otherwise, my best counsel to those unable and unwilling to accustom themselves to Nigerian slangs and Naija-speak on a Nigerian cite, is simply to scroll on. It is not by force. We HANG goals!!

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:02 am
by Tbite
Gotti wrote:The only CE slang I cringe at is “rape” (as in “rape so-and-so defender)...

Otherwise, my best counsel to those unable and unwilling to accustom themselves to Nigerian slangs and Naija-speak on a Nigerian cite, is simply to scroll on. It is not by force. We HANG goals!!
What is the difference between the two examples. It reads like the same analogy to me.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:04 am
by ANC
Gotti wrote:The only CE slang I cringe at is “rape” (as in “rape so-and-so defender)...

There is no problem with that, but if one writes Mikel hangs, it is not quite the same. Oh well...what do I know.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:07 am
by Tbite
Actually I will admit there is a difference.

but in keeping with ANC's original post and my original post, the fact that there is a difference is not the issue.

We should not want any confusion.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:16 am
by ANC
Tbite wrote:Actually I will admit there is a difference.

but in keeping with ANC's original post and my original post, the fact that there is a difference is not the issue.

We should not want any confusion.

And we should know better and act accordingly. With the exception of 1naira most here are well educated...we should lead by example. We did away with the word rape, we should do the same with Hang. It is a violent word, and one that should not be used lightly by people of African Heritage, considering our history

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 7:57 am
by Gotti
ANC wrote:And we should know better and act accordingly. With the exception of 1naira most here are well educated...we should lead by example. We did away with the word rape, we should do the same with Hang. It is a violent word, and one that should not be used lightly by people of African Heritage, considering our history
So when your buddies ask you “How’s it hanging?” or “Wanna hang?” it evokes violence to you? :blink:

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 9:25 am
by ANC
ANC wrote:And we should know better and act accordingly. With the exception of 1naira most here are well educated...we should lead by example. We did away with the word rape, we should do the same with Hang. It is a violent word, and one that should not be used lightly by people of African Heritage, considering our history
So when your buddies ask you “How’s it hanging?” or “Wanna hang out? it evokes violence to you? :blink:

Mikel hangs it, is different from Mikel hangs

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 2:49 pm
by kawawa
Tbite wrote:

What is the difference between the two examples. It reads like the same analogy to me.
Huge differences. I have never equated hand as we do in goals with the implications being proferred. You can hang things from a line, hang unto something, things can hang in balance of course you can hang from the neck but is there really any other meaning for rape?

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 3:04 pm
by pajimoh
I think "hang" should be done away with. Yes we are Nigerians but cosmopolitan. Not everyone understands or appreciate such terms. For this site to be universal, we need to move from the mindset that it's for Nigerians alone.
Hang, especially when you precedes it with a name, is creepy.
Mikel scores, Mikel don tear net..... We have options for headline. Mikel Hangs - is not cool.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 3:44 pm
Here we go again trying to enforce colo grammar patrol on CE to sooth the sensitivity those who are offended because the word has other meanings in London and US.

They're offended because they think the word "hang" suggests the player might be dead because he hung himself or was discovered hanging from a rope. Really? GTFOH! If you cannot respect our culture and language then you've no business on CE, you need to go to the bbc forum or your team's forum where they don't use the word hang.

Respect the fact that we have a colloquial language which will not change because sombody in London doesn't like it. I think the suggestion to stop using the word is offensive, we demand an apology.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 3:54 pm
by Undertaker
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Here we go again trying to enforce colo grammar patrol on CE to sooth the sensitivity those who are offended because the word has other meanings in London and US.

They're offended because they think the word "hang" suggests the player might be dead because he hung himself or was discovered hanging from a rope. Really? GTFOH! If you cannot respect our culture and language then you've no business on CE, you need to go to the bbc forum or your team's forum where they don't use the word hang.

Respect the fact that we have a colloquial language which will not change because sombody in London doesn't like it. I think the suggestion to stop using the word is offensive, we demand an apology.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: You dey mind all these useless people on CE.

Btw, Mikel hang yesterday? Real match or practices match? :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???:

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 3:55 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
pajimoh wrote:I think "hang" should be done away with. Yes we are Nigerians but cosmopolitan. Not everyone understands or appreciate such terms. For this site to be universal, we need to move from the mindset that it's for Nigerians alone.
Hang, especially when you precedes it with a name, is creepy.
Mikel scores, Mikel don tear net..... We have options for headline. Mikel Hangs - is not cool.
If you like, you can creep out. Our boys should be hanging goals at the WC :clap: :clap: :clap:

I didn't see you complain when Harry Kane was hanging goals left and right. In fact, you lot took Eriksen's goal and forced Harry Kane to hang it.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:00 pm
by charlie
Words have no power without meaning.

My neighbours has a dog they called "Toto".
Everytime I hear them calling for the dog,...

"Toto,...where are you? Toto! stop making that racket"

I cringe inside and want to tell them to change their dogs name,...then I remember where I live.

My point is, if we all know the meaning and the context by which a word is used, and it is not meant to cause harm, then its on you to adapt. We as a society cannot force meaning into words when there is none meant.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:05 pm
by Undertaker
charlie wrote:Words have no power without meaning.

I cringe inside and want to tell them to change their dogs name,...then I remember where I live.

My point is, if we all know the meaning and the context by which a word is used, and it is not meant to cause harm, then its on you to adapt. We as a society cannot force meaning into words when there is none meant.

You cringe because you have never had Toto before? :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???:

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:06 pm
Undertaker wrote:
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Here we go again trying to enforce colo grammar patrol on CE to sooth the sensitivity those who are offended because the word has other meanings in London and US.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: You dey mind all these useless people on CE.

Btw, Mikel hang yesterday? Real match or practices match? :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???:
Na real match o.

Mikel hung yesterday.
Mikel will hang at the wc.
Whenever he Hangs, the SE are sure to benefit. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:10 pm
by Undertaker
Undertaker wrote:

Na real match o.

Mikel hung yesterday.
So Mikel dey no hanged for two previous World Cup when he was younger, will now hang in Russia when he is older and slower? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:11 pm
by charlie
Undertaker wrote:
charlie wrote:Words have no power without meaning.

You cringe because you have never had Toto before? :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???: :???:
No as far as I know, my neighbors dog is still a virgin..

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:40 pm
ANC wrote:I have tried to accept this word but, for some reason, it still does not feel right. Each time I see, a topic, example Mikel Hangs, Oruma Hangs etc..my heart often skips a bit. I don't know how and/or who brought about this. I just wish we would do away with it. Associating Hanging with a specific individual/name and in writing...its just not right and insensitive to many people.
If someone says they're "Hanging out with a friend ", Does it mean the friend is being executed and we should call the cops?

1Naira has not been seen at a job since he started "hanging "out with tfco . :laugh:

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:46 pm
by kawawa
Undertaker wrote:

Na real match o.

Mikel hung yesterday.
So Mikel dey no hanged for two previous World Cup when he was younger, will now hang in Russia when he is older and slower? :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Mikel has played only one World Cup.
Anyway happy to avoid using hang for score but this one is a bit irrational. So many ways to use that word without implying the awfulness being associated. Actually quite shocked people made the association, has never crossed my mind.

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:50 pm
by pajimoh
A black man would expect other race to change words they find improper but would dogmatically hold on to their own. I wasn't expecting any different than the response. Change and blacks or maybe specifically, Nigerians is like never the twain shall meet :tic:

Posted: Sun Apr 15, 2018 4:52 pm
by Chief Ogbunigwe
pajimoh wrote:A black man would expect other race to change words they find improper but would dogmatically hold on to their own. I wasn't expecting any different than the response. Change and blacks or maybe specifically, Nigerians is like never the twain shall meet :tic:

Go and wept like Oruma