The inside story of Man City's Premier League title Win

Re: The inside story of Man City's Premier League title Win

pajimoh wrote:When people don't have much to say then they start diverting attention like "Pep is a great coach" . "hypocrisy because other clubs in the past spent money.

No one is saying Pep is not s good coach. No one is saying City did not play some jaw dropping football. No one is claiming clubs have not spent grew deal of money in the past.

What at least I'm saying is and we have said it in the time of Chelsea, Man United, Real, PSG and we've been saying it since Dubai money landed at City. City's ascendancy comes with their money and Pep used that money to the fullest.

I consider Pep a very good coach that can make things happen when he has the sharpest knives but cannot create the sharpest knives himself. SAF was a great coach in that he proved himself at lowly Aberdeen. Got the gig at Man United and used youth from the club to win things, while constantly refreshing with gems he picked up here and there.

Maurinho did similar with Porto and his managerial skill got him gigs at top clubs where he proved himself again and again. He even took Inter to the holy Grail of European football when they were not the best in Europe.

Pep has not tested his managerial skill at some unfancied club where he'd have to sharpen his own knives.
If you're given the fasted car and most expensive car with top engineers and you beat the likes of Lada and Skoda, where's the praise in that? Sure we can talk about your handling of the car but not the pace or the car compared to others.

He's put big and expensive names together, got them playing great football and he's achieved his aim, but question mark remains... Can he do the same without jumping from Barca to Bayern to Man City? Clubs that were no pushovers in terms of winning things and resources before he joined.
You cannot type that Pep is a good coach then go on to type that he is not proven in the next sentence.
Pep is either good or not good. No buts...

Kabalega wrote:
pajimoh wrote:When people don't have much to say then they start diverting attention like "Pep is a great coach" . "hypocrisy because other clubs in the past spent money.

No one is saying Pep is not s good coach. No one is saying City did not play some jaw dropping football. No one is claiming clubs have not spent grew deal of money in the past.

What at least I'm saying is and we have said it in the time of Chelsea, Man United, Real, PSG and we've been saying it since Dubai money landed at City. City's ascendancy comes with their money and Pep used that money to the fullest.

I consider Pep a very good coach that can make things happen when he has the sharpest knives but cannot create the sharpest knives himself. SAF was a great coach in that he proved himself at lowly Aberdeen. Got the gig at Man United and used youth from the club to win things, while constantly refreshing with gems he picked up here and there.

Maurinho did similar with Porto and his managerial skill got him gigs at top clubs where he proved himself again and again. He even took Inter to the holy Grail of European football when they were not the best in Europe.

Pep has not tested his managerial skill at some unfancied club where he'd have to sharpen his own knives.
If you're given the fasted car and most expensive car with top engineers and you beat the likes of Lada and Skoda, where's the praise in that? Sure we can talk about your handling of the car but not the pace or the car compared to others.

He's put big and expensive names together, got them playing great football and he's achieved his aim, but question mark remains... Can he do the same without jumping from Barca to Bayern to Man City? Clubs that were no pushovers in terms of winning things and resources before he joined.
You cannot type that Pep is a good coach then go on to type that he is not proven in the next sentence.
Pep is either good or not good. No buts...
Really? :rotf: :rotf:
There are hood coaches. There are great coaches. A great coach, at any level they coach, will show you their quality. Their quality will often go beyond tactics, man management, eye for talent etc

Pep is a very good tactical coach but how many of his academy players has he brought in and turn into a regular? Has he showed his worth at a middle of the road club where you manage everything?

You're expecting me to say he's a bad coach but I won't because he's not a bad coach and nothing in my posts suggests he's a bad coach but great, he ain't

Nna we are now looking for academy players because the cheque book story is not sticking.

nemi2002 wrote:Nna we are now looking for academy players because the cheque book story is not sticking.
Just giving you my definition of a great manager. He doesn't have to use academy players but you wonder why build it and if you or your son is there how soul you feel about their career?

A great manager doesn't just rely on finished products. He molds them into finished product.

Academy players he gave their debuts at Barca....

2008/09: Busquets, Thiago, Xavi Torres, Muniesa, Botía and Abraham

2009/10: Fontàs, Dos Santos, Soriano, Gai Assulin and Bartra

2010/11: Oriol Romeu, Sergi Gómez, Miño, Nolito, Montoya and Sergi Roberto

2011/12: Cuenca, Deulofeu, Rafinha, Tello and Riverola

At Bayern Munich, Pep debuted 6 players, Now at City, three players from the academy Pablo Maffeo, Brahim Diaz and Phil Foden as at 5 months ago.
He has also moulded a lot of young players including Messi, Sane and Kimmich.

Mr. Piffington wrote:Football fans are the funniest people. It's like they can't accept a new style, team, coach, etc has come and upset the apple cart so they clutch at straws. When Man United, Chelsea, etc were winning trophies and dominating nobody was talking about money spent even though they outspent everyone else and had vast amounts of resources compared to everyone else but when Pep and City do it is an issue? GTFOH. Pep is a good coach and with the way City are going this season they're set to smash a lot of records and people are still making excuses. Congratulate or move on, everything is just saltiness.
where did the term Chelski come from? When United paid for Rio Ferdinand, wasn't there a lot of noise about money spent on just 1 defender?

Look, you rate him as the best thing since sliced bread, others see things different. Accept and move on.

Theres a reason your ilk have still not commented on what went wrong in 2 UCL games v Liverpool
No matter how much one spends you're not going to see perfection, it just won't happen. Nothing is perfect. Fair play to Liverpool for winning against City, their style of play works in breaking up City's pattern. Only a well coached team can pull it off for 90 mins. Pep is a good coach though and his style tends to win out against most teams, City aren't doing anything dominant teams of the past didn't do so I don't get what all the fuss is about IMHO.

Kudos to Man City but they bought the title just like Chelsea, Man U etc. Leicester is the only champion that has mouth! :thumbs: :thumbs:

Mr. Piffington wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:Football fans are the funniest people. It's like they can't accept a new style, team, coach, etc has come and upset the apple cart so they clutch at straws. When Man United, Chelsea, etc were winning trophies and dominating nobody was talking about money spent even though they outspent everyone else and had vast amounts of resources compared to everyone else but when Pep and City do it is an issue? GTFOH. Pep is a good coach and with the way City are going this season they're set to smash a lot of records and people are still making excuses. Congratulate or move on, everything is just saltiness.
where did the term Chelski come from? When United paid for Rio Ferdinand, wasn't there a lot of noise about money spent on just 1 defender?

Look, you rate him as the best thing since sliced bread, others see things different. Accept and move on.

Theres a reason your ilk have still not commented on what went wrong in 2 UCL games v Liverpool
No matter how much one spends you're not going to see perfection, it just won't happen. Nothing is perfect. Fair play to Liverpool for winning against City, their style of play works in breaking up City's pattern. Only a well coached team can pull it off for 90 mins. Pep is a good coach though and his style tends to win out against most teams, City aren't doing anything dominant teams of the past didn't do so I don't get what all the fuss is about IMHO.
all you Stans have come out of the woodwork with platitudes of 'the greatest ever'

i can only imagine if he went the season unbeaten....or won a proper treble

Mr. Piffington wrote:

all you Stans have come out of the woodwork with platitudes of 'the greatest ever'

i can only imagine if he went the season unbeaten....or won a proper treble
And all the salty folks are crawling into the woodwork or living in denial about what they just witnessed this season. The bald one just slapped up the EPL with change, the so called toughest league in the world.

bk-one wrote:
pajimoh wrote:Inside story is over 600m spent. Wages excluded. Congrats to them. The money could have been spent without achieving their objective so they deserve to be complemented
You know its possible to focus on their football first and leave the finances for the time there is an article about their finances right?

Not dismissing the fact that they have spent 600m but the article is about their football( how they played) which was fantastic, better than most other financially doped clubs which spent more or less like them
:clap:

therefore we expect the following next season
1. Players from the famed City Academy being blooded into the 1st team
2. A deeper run in the UCL
3. Other teams in the Prem playing from the back,something which was never seen prior to 2017
4. The remaining teams to stop hoofing it from the back <-- justification of the English Revolution
You paid almost ONE HUNDRED MILLION POUNDS for one player who could not even finish a game against the world champion division 2 bound West Ham :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
as usual you have no point....just kpom what others say with NO thought of your own.

All you do is slurp slurp on The Inheritance Merchant's nuts, all because u hate Mourinho.

2 seasons, 2 trophies....excellent. Time to buy Liverpool players to go further in the UCL
You paid almost ONE HUNDRED MILLION POUNDS for one player who could not even finish a game against the world champion division 2 bound WEST BROM :taunt: :taunt:
Slurp slurp

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

nemi2002 wrote:Academy players he gave their debuts at Barca....

At Bayern Munich, Pep debuted 6 players, Now at City, three players from the academy Pablo Maffeo, Brahim Diaz and Phil Foden as at 5 months ago.
People choose to see what they want to see. How anyone would say Pep doesn't improve players or produce stars with a straight face befuddles me. You forgot to mention that defender that looks like Debruyne (i've forgotten his name) whom Pep used in some very important matches.

People can talk about Raheem Sterling, Debruyne and Sane being stars before Pep came in, but you cannot argue the remarkable improvement that these players showed this season. Sterling was almost a laughing stock cause of his ineffectiveness up until this season.

Anyways, it is what it is.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Pep won the EPL. Congrats to him.
Others have done so before him. Some at their first tries.

balo wrote:Pep won the EPL. Congrats to him.
KPOM!

airwolex wrote:
KPOM!
+1

airwolex wrote:
KPOM!
+1
Buckle up because it is just the beginning. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Kabalega wrote:
airwolex wrote:
KPOM!
+1
Buckle up because it is just the beginning. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

the beginning was last year.

He won it this year though.

Cally wrote:

People choose to see what they want to see. How anyone would say Pep doesn't improve players or produce stars with a straight face befuddles me. You forgot to mention that defender that looks like Debruyne (i've forgotten his name) whom Pep used in some very important matches.

People can talk about Raheem Sterling, Debruyne and Sane being stars before Pep came in, but you cannot argue the remarkable improvement that these players showed this season. Sterling was almost a laughing stock cause of his ineffectiveness up until this season.

Zinchenko

Cally wrote:

Sterling had an interview recently where he lauded Pep for showing him the basics of trapping the ball with an open stance so he could explode left or right.

These are small details that the likes of Jose Mourinho will not be bothered with and we all know how it ends.

Major Chelsea signings.

Alvaro Morata £70M :shock:

Drinkwater £35M :shock:

Bakayoko £34M :shock:

Davide Zappakosta £25M :shock:

Winter signings
Emerson £ 24.6M
Giroud £18M
Ross Barkley £15M