Breaking news: Mugabe Wenger to go @ end of the season

Re: Breaking news: Mugabe Wenger to go @ end of the season

danfo driver wrote:A Great Manager.
“Everyone has the power for greatness, not for fame but greatness, because greatness is determined by service.” Martin Luther King Jr.
His service to Arsenal is undeniable. He took on a club and significantly changed the culture of the club, both in and out of the pitch. The same way Cruyff influenced Barcelona, Fergie influenced United and Helenio Herrera had influenced Inter. Arsenal is Arsene Wenger's Arsenal.

I wish, for him, that 10 years from now, he will remember the great times and the true feelings Gooners have for him and not the last 3 years were he was insulted.

Arsene Wenger, a truly great manager. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Ha...enemy of Arsenal...OK o...Ogbeni, anoda Fiera and Anri waiting to torment you :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: when ever dem dey do "open house" for my street, I always go there to ask the potential buyers, "eh... skuseee me, plissss.. I want to ask, are you an Arsenal fan??" So far, all of them dey ask me "what is that?" No Arsenal fan is moving into this block! Lie lie!
okuns

Post by okuns »

7 years too late... But, better late than never!

txj wrote:In many a club, there's a new generation of fans who are in a vocal majority. Many of them, sad to say have no sense of history, or even a deep knowledge of the game. A perfect example being Southampton fans who clamored for the sack of Puel and have now led their club to almost certain relegation...

The reality is that Arsenal was a provincial club in London, with serial 1-0 wins bagged to the arsenal until a wiry Frenchman showed up from, of all places Japan!

In 22 years, the man not only changed the way football is played and players developed in England, but built this provincial club into a global brand. Nobody has ever done this in football.

Sure, we can quibble about tactics and selections, trophies won or lost, but people should learn to pay respect.

You are not a real football fan if you cannot recognize this at this time.

There are football fans, there are trolls....then there are clowns....
A large percentage of Arsenal/Wenger critics appreciate what Wenger did for the club early in his managerial career. That was never the basis of the criticism. The discontent comes from the past decade and you may disagree but to act like the criticism is unwarranted is simply disingenuous. The notion that he helped grow the club means he is thus untouchable is ludicrous. Firstly he was very handsomely rewarded for his services. Secondly, there are many people who actually started (and owned) companies and still had to step aside at some point. Ted Turner, Steve Jobs, Travis Kalanick, come to mind.

Enough with the straw man argument abeg.

Thank you boss Wenger,it's a slow news to me not breaking news.
Thanks for making me proud of my club in the late 90's and early 2000 when win was the only thing we know.Then also thanks for putting shake shake in me but no thanks.I was watching games in replay instead of watching games live.
I will wait till Wenger leave before I believe.I pray you not mess our Europa chance.We want to send you away with a trophy.
Beloved players go out and win us Europa foe Wenger sake.
As for those who want change and Wenger out like me,please wait till he is gone ooh.The man can change his heart and stay and the board will even apologies for sacking him or asking him to leave.

Also my people who should be the new boss?

txj wrote:In many a club, there's a new generation of fans who are in a vocal majority. Many of them, sad to say have no sense of history, or even a deep knowledge of the game. A perfect example being Southampton fans who clamored for the sack of Puel and have now led their club to almost certain relegation...

The reality is that Arsenal was a provincial club in London, with serial 1-0 wins bagged to the arsenal until a wiry Frenchman showed up from, of all places Japan!

In 22 years, the man not only changed the way football is played and players developed in England, but built this provincial club into a global brand. Nobody has ever done this in football.

Sure, we can quibble about tactics and selections, trophies won or lost, but people should learn to pay respect.

99% of Arsenal/Wenger critics appreciate what Wenger did for the club early in his managerial career. That was never the basis of the criticism. The discontent comes from the past decade and you may disagree but to act like the criticism is unwarranted is simply disingenuous. The notion that he helped grow the club means he is thus untouchable is ludicrous. Firstly he was very handsomely rewarded for his services. Secondly, there are many people who actually started (and owned) companies and still had to step aside at some point. Ted Turner, Steve Jobs, Travis Kalanick, come to mind.

My point, which you clearly lack the intelligence to decipher, is that at this moment, we can and should all be able to pause and simply pay respect...

True fans recognize this...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

I rarely write and/or talk about foreign club football but surely this is an end to a great era, IMHO. This guy was one of the truly great giants of football. :clap: :clap: :clap:
Last edited by Enugu II on Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

We purists thank you for your services Arsene.

Dude!

"YOU PLAY TO WIN THE GAME! HELLOOOOOO!"

He overstayed his welcome. I like how the Americans treat sports... the essence is to win. Great coaches do get fired. And if you stay in a place long enough you will get fired.

They are about to finish in 6th place... it is not good enough! Their main rivals are getting better.
The sentimental BS just doesn't cut it especially when it is beginning to affect the bottomline.
Maybe at Pool you guys love talking about how you were winning trophies before color TV was invented...

99% of Arsenal/Wenger critics appreciate what Wenger did for the club early in his managerial career. That was never the basis of the criticism. The discontent comes from the past decade and you may disagree but to act like the criticism is unwarranted is simply disingenuous. The notion that he helped grow the club means he is thus untouchable is ludicrous. Firstly he was very handsomely rewarded for his services. Secondly, there are many people who actually started (and owned) companies and still had to step aside at some point. Ted Turner, Steve Jobs, Travis Kalanick, come to mind.

My point, which you clearly lack the intelligence to decipher, is that at this moment, we can and should all be able to pause and simply pay respect...

Did you bother to read what he wrote or are you doing a TXJ? :boo:

Arsenal fans don't want the club to turn into Liverpool... who are yet to win the Premier League... come in here talking about when they won the Division 1 cup... :arrow: :arrow:

I thought he was a neutralist? Abi na neutralized purist? :lol:

Oh lawdy Lawdy see finishing :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I'm pissed. :evil: NOW Arsenal may get a coach that could actually start winning things.. :twisted:

Dude!

"YOU PLAY TO WIN THE GAME! HELLOOOOOO!"

He overstayed his welcome. I like how the Americans treat sports... the essence is to win. Great coaches do get fired. And if you stay in a place long enough you will get fired.

They are about to finish in 6th place... it is not good enough! Their main rivals are getting better.
The sentimental BS just doesn't cut it especially when it is beginning to affect the bottomline.
Maybe at Pool you guys love talking about how you were winning trophies before color TV was invented...

Like I said, there comes a moment in time when we can and should all pause, recognize the big picture, and simply pay respect.

Some people in football understand this. Sadly, there are those who will not see...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

paj wrote:I'm pissed. :evil: NOW Arsenal may get a coach that could actually start winning things.. :twisted:

Pissed ke? Chelsea has been Wenger’s biatch for 2 years! You should be celebrating :lol:
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

Enugu II wrote:I rarely talk about foreign club football but surely this is an end to a great era, IMHO. This guy was one of the truly great giants of football. :clap: :clap: :clap:
:thumb: :agree:

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

:agree: :agree: :thumb:

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

I couldnt state it any better
feel free to choose ya poison :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

#levelz

Great coach. A prophet not appreciated in his own home town... Time will tell his story

The end of an era. Wenger - an Arsenal legend. Time to put aside the petty quibbles about whether he overstayed or not and just take a moment to marvel and respect the impact this man had on the game. It's a moment for Arsenal fans in particular to demonstrate some class, just as their manager has done throughout his career.

Yeah there's that logic again...we don't do what you like so we're not true fans. Give yourself a cigar "Mr True fan". Better still use that moniker to gain access to the stadium. Pfft!

Dude, the man didn't die. We can recognize his accomplishments while still discussing the circumstances surrounding his exit. They're not mutually exclusive. Part of paying respect is also recognizing his legacy which like many of us rightly warned years ago will become tarnished if he overstayed which he clearly did. Mschew!!!

The YeyeMan wrote:The end of an era. Wenger - an Arsenal legend. Time to put aside the petty quibbles about whether he overstayed or not and just take a moment to marvel and respect the impact this man had on the game. It's a moment for Arsenal fans in particular to demonstrate some class, just as their manager has done throughout his career.
Why should we put it aside? We can still discuss it...that's what the forum is for, discussing. You don't have to partake in it but you shouldn't have to censor others if they're not breaking the forum rules. Nothing classless in that...as long as he's not personally insulted. We're not kids in kindergarten where we are expected to get along and sing kumbaya together. He won frickin football games...he didn't cure cancer for God's sake.

The YeyeMan wrote:The end of an era. Wenger - an Arsenal legend. Time to put aside the petty quibbles about whether he overstayed or not and just take a moment to marvel and respect the impact this man had on the game. It's a moment for Arsenal fans in particular to demonstrate some class, just as their manager has done throughout his career.
Why should we put it aside? We can still discuss it...that's what the forum is for, discussing. You don't have to partake in it but you shouldn't have to censor others if they're not breaking the forum rules. Nothing classless in that...as long as he's not personally insulted. We're not kids in kindergarten where we are expected to get along and sing kumbaya together. He won frickin football games...he didn't cure cancer.
I'm not for censoring any debate. Those who wish to harp on about Wenger staying on for too long or his mistakes or whatever are free to do so but are really missing the moment. Those people have been saying the same thing for the past X years so nothing new there; today is the moment to appreciate what he brought to the game.