Page 1 of 2

Why Rohr picked Nwankwo ahead of Kayode, Ajayi

Posted: Thu May 17, 2018 9:39 pm
by Next
If the reason given below actually came from Rohr then you can be rest assured that Simmy will make the final 23..

https://guardian.ng/sport/why-rohr-pick ... ode-ajayi/
Al Ahly SC striker, Junior Ajayi, Manchester City loanee Olarenwaju Kayode, Malaga duo Isaac Success and Brown Ideye missed the cut for Nigeria’s 30-man provisional World Cup roster, with manager Gernot Rohr opting to hand a maiden call-up to Crotone’s Simeon Tochukwu Nwankwo.

Dubbed the ‘New Nwankwo Kanu, Simy is Nigeria’s most in-form striker playing in Europe’s top five leagues, having netted six goals in his last seven matches in a league with the meanest defenses in Europe, the Serie A.

‘’The Serie A is a very tough league, it is a league where teams are built on solid defenses and we have ruthless man-markers,’’ Super Eagles Media Officer, Toyin Ibitoye, explained to Channels Television why the lanky striker was invited.

He’s under the watch of our scouts for a long time not just because of the World Cup, he has scored some good goals, a spectacular overhead kick against Juventus. Now he has the opportunity to come to camp and show to the coaches why he should be at the World Cup.Simy spent the formative years of his football career at Future Hope Academy Nkpor, G.U.O FC and Imo United before joining the youth team of Portimonense in August 2010.

Re: Why Rohr picked Nwankwo ahead of Kayode, Ajayi

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 5:19 am
by kali
He has one striking advantage - HEIGHT. Lots of midgets in the Argentine defence.

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 5:26 am
kali wrote:He has one striking advantage - HEIGHT. Lots of midgets in the Argentine defence.

Can u name a top 50 striker that's as tall as he is?

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 8:47 am
by smartbrother
kali wrote:He has one striking advantage - HEIGHT. Lots of midgets in the Argentine defence.

Most of his goals are poached
I dont think he has scored any headed goals this season
He is a big lad yes but he cannot bully defenders like Sadiq Umar does
nor does he have Umar's speed or skills
if Sadiq or any of the named players had the same season as Simy - poor season with a flurry of poached goals at the end- they would not have been considered at this late stage
the bar for selection is lower for certain players than others

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 8:53 am
by chuks69
Sadiq Umar did not cut it in Serie A...Where as nwankwo did.. Sadiq time would come, in about 1-2 years time..

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 9:05 am
by smartbrother
chuks69 wrote:Sadiq Umar did not cut it in Serie A...Where as nwankwo did.

Not true. Thats like saying Mephis Depay did not cut it in the premier league but Jay Rodrigues did
Umar's team was more competitive in the striker department than SImy's
hence played fewer games in Serie A and had to go out on loan
Simy is a decent player who i like -similar to Anichebe but far inferior to Sadiq
Umar should have been invited at least once

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 9:05 am
by chief nfachairman

lewandowski

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 11:00 am
by Goldleaf
smartbrother wrote:

Not true. Thats like saying Mephis Depay did not cut it in the premier league but Jay Rodrigues did
Simy is a decent player who i like -similar to Anichebe but far inferior to Sadiq
Pls watch both of them again. Sadiq Umar will become a star if he works on his balance. Simy Nwankwo already has it. The problem with tall players is combining athleticism with skill and on top balance.

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 12:15 pm
by Flex Swift
The article doesn’t mention why Rohr selected Simy instead of Kayode & Ajayi. I would like to think it is because Simy is scoring in a top league while both Kayode and Ajayi are playing in what some May term weaker leagues (backwater).

The decision has been made let’s respect it.......after the World Cup I hope Rohr takes a proper look at all the striking talent coming through: Awoniyi, Success, Kayode, Ajayi, Onyeruru, Sadiq ,Imohb etc

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 12:59 pm
by Otitokoro
chief nfachairman wrote:

lewandowski
Zlatan Ibrahimovic

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 4:22 pm
by Purity
Simi is very good..

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 4:58 pm
by Cellular
Purity wrote:Simi is very good..
:source:

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 5:27 pm
by nanijoe
Thank me later...

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 5:31 pm
by niyi
smartbrother wrote:

Torino's main straiker got injured for a month. Sadiq started a game during that period and got yanked at half time. To me he is still missing some consistency at a competitive level.

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 8:12 pm
by Cellular
nanijoe wrote:Thank me later...
Dats my babe o. :thumbs:

Posted: Fri May 18, 2018 8:53 pm
by 1naija
nanijoe wrote:Thank me later...

Uncle, you go act your age? :rotf:

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 5:23 am
by miky
Judge for yourself

Simi Vs Ideye

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 6:34 am
by theYemster
smartbrother wrote:

Most of his goals are poached
I dont think he has scored any headed goals this season
He is a big lad yes but he cannot bully defenders like Sadiq Umar does
nor does he have Umar's speed or skills
if Sadiq or any of the named players had the same season as Simy - poor season with a flurry of poached goals at the end- they would not have been considered at this late stage
the bar for selection is lower for certain players than others
When spectacular goals count more than poached goals on the score sheet then I'd agree with you, but until then...

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 6:38 am
by theYemster
chief nfachairman wrote:

lewandowski
Džeko, Ibrahimovic.

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 7:11 am
by smartbrother
niyi wrote:
smartbrother wrote:

Torino's main straiker got injured for a month. Sadiq started a game during that period and got yanked at half time. To me he is still missing some consistency at a competitive level.
Guy i've noticed you tend to be quite economic with the truth.
He played all 3 games during the time Belotti was out injured.
2 for 90 mins and the 3rd for 45.
your post suggest he only played for 45 mins during that period

I watched two of those games (and discussed them here)
Imho he played very well but was a bit gun-shy in front of goal which is understandable given his lack of prior playing time
btw one was vs Simy's team
In that game he was head and shoulders above Simy in terms of quality.

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 7:15 am
by smartbrother
theYemster wrote: When spectacular goals count more than poached goals on the score sheet then I'd agree with you, but until then...
I agree with you there
and I'm glad Simy has been invited especially given his new found scoring prowess
i hope he brings that momentum with him to the team

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 8:36 am
by Gotti
smartbrother wrote:Guy i've noticed you tend to be quite economic with the truth.
He played all 3 games during the time Belotti was out injured.
2 for 90 mins and the 3rd for 45.
your post suggest he only played for 45 mins during that period

I watched two of those games (and discussed them here)
Imho he played very well but was a bit gun-shy in front of goal which is understandable given his lack of prior playing time
btw one was vs Simy's team
In that game he was head and shoulders above Simy in terms of quality.

Saw the game and concur Sadiq was the much better of the two...
But Torino is also the better team and thus Sadiq had better support.

Posted: Sat May 19, 2018 2:12 pm
by marutimon
chief nfachairman wrote:

lewandowski
Lewandowski is 185 cm. A far cry from Simy and 198.