Page 1 of 2

Southgate says he chose Naija cos of flair ala Kanu & JJ

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 1:37 pm
by Ayo Akinfe
Southgate says England chose to play Super Eagles because he admires Nigeria's flair and panache - See more at: https://goo.gl/piLa3w

Re: Southgate says he chose Naija cos of flair ala Kanu & JJ

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 2:46 pm
by DIMKA76
England had bags of flair with the current crop of players

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 2:49 pm
by Coach
Stereotype of the African team, flamboyant dysfunctionality.

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 2:57 pm
This is why i think we can spring a surprise this summer. many of these coaches just refuse to update their knowledge

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 3:08 pm
by metalalloy
Please read his actual quotes in the article linked as he said no such thing!!! No mention of "flair." He simply and accurately paid homage to two legends who made an impact in the EPL and were his favorite players.
Mr Southgate said: “We didn’t choose Nigeria for the June 2 friendly match just because we had an African team in our group at the World Cup but the truth is that we don’t often have the opportunity of playing teams outside Europe and we thought it was a great opportunity playing against Nigeria. I was in the squad when we played Nigeria in 2002 and there have been a lot of Nigerian players that have been successful in the Premier League like Kanu and Jay Jay Okocha, both of them really made a great impact in our league and they are my favourite Nigerian players.”
:roll:

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 3:08 pm
They will beat us silly. I don’t see us getting less than 3-0

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 3:26 pm
by Odas
It's about three (3) times within the last week or so in which "Oga Ayo" has INTENTIONALLY misquoted the content of an article, yet REFERS us (Forumers) to click on the LINK to his BLOG.

What are the Mods doing or going to do about these LIES or deceptions? Ayo, his aim and his link is becoming, or has become that of the "owngoal."

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 3:29 pm
by Odas
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:They will beat us silly. I don’t see us getting less than 3-0
Bros, na wetin? Why you dey fear like dis?

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 3:32 pm
by pajimoh
Odas wrote:It's about three (3) times within the last week or so in which "Oga Ayo" has INTENTIONALLY misquoted the content of an article, yet REFERS us (Forumers) to click on the LINK to his BLOG.

What are the Mods doing or going to do about these LIES or deceptions? Ayo, his aim and his link is becoming, or has become that of the "owngoal."
No let Ayo stress you out. No be today Ayo don dey see red but go call am blue.

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 5:15 pm
by mcal
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:They will beat us silly. I don’t see us getting less than 3-0
...who will really score for them? May be Sterling will cause havoc. At least we see their players every week play. As for us, we may actually surprise them because of their poor defense and goalie.

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 5:30 pm
by walesvilla
if we lose 3nil to England - we might as well withdraw from the Wcup- yes we may lose not I don't see a white wash - 2-1 or 1-0 or a draw my prediction

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 5:44 pm
by maceo4
walesvilla wrote:
if we lose 3nil to England - we might as well withdraw from the Wcup- yes we may lose not I don't see a white wash - 2-1 or 1-0 or a draw my prediction
Serbia beat us 2-0 that would have been 3 if the one Uzoho clawed out after it crossed the line had been counted. Just saying its not that crazy a scoreline but its also a friendly and the result isn't all that matters. But I do expect us to be more competitive with Mikel back and also don't expect our starters to go too hard and risk injury.

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 5:46 pm
by Eaglezbeak
Why the fear?

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 5:50 pm
by kalani JR
metalalloy wrote:Please read his actual quotes in the article linked as he said no such thing!!! No mention of "flair." He simply and accurately paid homage to two legends who made an impact in the EPL and were his favorite players.
Mr Southgate said: “We didn’t choose Nigeria for the June 2 friendly match just because we had an African team in our group at the World Cup but the truth is that we don’t often have the opportunity of playing teams outside Europe and we thought it was a great opportunity playing against Nigeria. I was in the squad when we played Nigeria in 2002 and there have been a lot of Nigerian players that have been successful in the Premier League like Kanu and Jay Jay Okocha, both of them really made a great impact in our league and they are my favourite Nigerian players.”
He's been doing this all weekend long, and people are falling for it.

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 5:52 pm
by Tobi17
God forbid, you dey craze? :twisted: I can take a SE loss to any team, but there are three countries I'll have a very hard time accepting a loss from be it competitive or friendly... and they are Ghana, Cameroon, and England in that order.

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 5:54 pm
by King Futcha
metalalloy wrote:Please read his actual quotes in the article linked as he said no such thing!!! No mention of "flair." He simply and accurately paid homage to two legends who made an impact in the EPL and were his favorite players.
you are still falling for ayo's fake news, suckers are born everyday b.

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 5:57 pm
by maceo4
God forbid, you dey craze? :twisted: I can take a SE loss to any team, but there are three countries I'll have a very hard time accepting a loss from be it competitive or friendly... and they are Ghana, Cameroon, and England in that order.
Whether you accept or not won't change the fact...abi you still never accept the 4-1's we've gotten from Ghana from Brentford to WAFU Cup?

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 6:37 pm
by Cito
...who will really score for them? May be Sterling will cause havoc. At least we see their players every week play. As for us, we may actually surprise them because of their poor defense and goalie.
England are poor in the goalkeeping department? Ok ohh. Kontinuuu

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 6:40 pm
by Orion
They are going to be playing an African team in the WC so they look for an African team considered to be in good form right now for a warm-up game. That's what they've always done. They've also hosted Egypt and Ghana in the past when they were in good form. There is no other reason.

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 6:53 pm
by kajifu
King Futcha wrote:

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 7:00 pm
by maceo4
England are poor in the goalkeeping department? Ok ohh. Kontinuuu
Which one of their keepers can touch Akpeyi? Talk less of our Francis! :???:

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 7:19 pm
by metalalloy
King Futcha wrote:
Brah, this is an article dealing with teams in the world cup, go find your level in news for the concacrap champions league :D

Posted: Mon May 21, 2018 8:21 pm
by Odas
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Those countries are a: "No lose to", eh? I hear you my brother