Brighton near deal for Nigeria international defender Leon B

http://www.espn.com/soccer/soccer-trans ... un-sources

Brighton near deal for Nigeria international defender Leon Balogun - sources

Brighton & Hove Albion are close to signing Nigerian international defender Leon Balogun from Mainz, sources have told ESPN FC.

Balogun is out of contract at Mainz this summer and Brighton look set to bring him to the Amex Stadium on a free transfer.

The 29-year-old, who can play at centre-back and full-back, made 15 appearances in all competitions for Mainz this season as they managed to avoid relegation from the Bundesliga.

Balogun, who has won 16 caps for Nigeria, helped the Super Eagles qualify for this summer's World Cup and he is set to feature for his country in Russia next month.

Brighton boss Chris Hughton is eager to strengthen his squad after securing survival this season in their first campaign in the Premier League and he has set up a deal for Balogun.

Hughton is keen to add defensive cover to his squad having seen Uwe Hunemeier leave the club to SC Paderborn earlier this offseason and Balogun's versatility in that he can play anywhere across the backline makes him an attractive proposition.

Re: Brighton near deal for Nigeria international defender Le

never happening

Rawlings wrote:never happening, Black Stars winning AFCON
Na you talk am :sneaky:

nice. Hope its true. Bally would suit the EPL
I'm Surprised they didnt make the Tomori deal permanent. He was a key player in their defence the season before last

Looks like I will be a Brighton WE next season - black coach, Balo balling for them :thumbs:

Kako wrote:http://www.espn.com/soccer/soccer-trans ... un-sources

Brighton near deal for Nigeria international defender Leon Balogun - sources

Brighton & Hove Albion are close to signing Nigerian international defender Leon Balogun from Mainz, sources have told ESPN FC.

Balogun is out of contract at Mainz this summer and Brighton look set to bring him to the Amex Stadium on a free transfer.

The 29-year-old, who can play at centre-back and full-back, made 15 appearances in all competitions for Mainz this season as they managed to avoid relegation from the Bundesliga.

Balogun, who has won 16 caps for Nigeria, helped the Super Eagles qualify for this summer's World Cup and he is set to feature for his country in Russia next month.

Brighton boss Chris Hughton is eager to strengthen his squad after securing survival this season in their first campaign in the Premier League and he has set up a deal for Balogun.

Hughton is keen to add defensive cover to his squad having seen Uwe Hunemeier leave the club to SC Paderborn earlier this offseason and Balogun's versatility in that he can play anywhere across the backline makes him an attractive proposition.
I think this will be a good move for the lad. Brighton are getting experience and the EPL will give Balogun that ruggedness to take his game that notch higher. He will succeed here.
chuks69

Post by chuks69 »

Suprisingly Chris Houghton the coach is intrested in so many Nigerian players at once, leon Balogun, Ahmed Musa and Moses Simeon
afc##

chuks69 wrote:Suprisingly Chris Houghton the coach is intrested in so many Nigerian players at once, leon Balogun, Ahmed Musa and Moses Simeon

He needs a winger bad. Route 1 football leads to a cul de sac.
heavyd

Post by heavyd »

chuks69 wrote:Suprisingly Chris Houghton the coach is intrested in so many Nigerian players at once, leon Balogun, Ahmed Musa and Moses Simeon

He needs a winger bad. Route 1 football leads to a cul de sac.
Have you even seen Brighton play?
They don't play route one football at all and they already have two very good wingers in Anthony Knockert and Jose Izquidero.
YNWA

At 29 and not exceptionally quick, I’m not sure the EPL is right for him but we shall see. I mean playing for a defensive minded coach though, who won’t leave you exposed, will help as well. So maybe not as bad as I thought initially

Rawlings wrote:never happening, Black Stars winning AFCON
Na you talk am :sneaky:

In Jesus mighty and glorious name, Amen!

anikulapo wrote:At 29 and not exceptionally quick, I’m not sure the EPL is right for him but we shall see. I mean playing for a defensive minded coach though, who won’t leave you exposed, will help as well. So maybe not as bad as I thought initially
Lol. You don’t need pace as a defender when you have the most important ingredient— positioning. Pace is for those defenders who don’t know how to position themselves and always need to “recover.”

anikulapo wrote:At 29 and not exceptionally quick, I’m not sure the EPL is right for him but we shall see. I mean playing for a defensive minded coach though, who won’t leave you exposed, will help as well. So maybe not as bad as I thought initially
Lol. You don’t need pace as a defender when you have the most important ingredient— positioning. Pace is for those defenders who don’t know how to position themselves and always need to “recover.”
when i saw the pace part, I laughed so hard... John Terry, etc don't have pace... lol

Pace is good but not essential.
It is only essential for defenders who are "all over the place" i.e. defender wey him head no dey house. :lol:
oyek

Post by oyek »

If not for Jesus, where will i be?

How quick was Taribo West :?: :!:

[quote="oyek"] Great move well done Balogun
Hope he stays fit
Brighton are a solid side but they are too dependent on knochaert and the right full back for their creativity
Mooys is a serviceable player but they need real class in the attacking midfield area

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:

Abi o!

You obviously didn’t see Taribo or must’ve forgotten. Lad was quick in his younger days at Sharks, Rangers and in france ....

I’m laughing at goats comparing Balogun to Terry :lol: :lol: Total morons who know nothing about football. Again defense is about team structure and how quickly you Can read and react to situations.

Any coach who knows his stuff can isolate a slow defender especially when they have the lead and that defender can’t sit back in a parked bus but will get exposed as fullbacks push on to support the attack more

Abi o!

You are comparing Balogun to Taribo West and the era he played in? What kinda morons am I dealin with :rotf:

It is only essential for defenders who are "all over the place" i.e. defender wey him head no dey house. :lol:

You do know we are talking about the EPL right?

Anyway he is lucky he is playing in a defensive minded team where he will get protected. But eventually savvy coaches will watch enough game film and exploit his weaknesses. It’s pretty easy to expose a defender lacking in athleticism .

Don’t get me wrong. I love Balogun but tell me how many current top central defenders lack athleticism ????

It’s so hard to play the modern game without mobile defenders ..,, the pace, power and athleticism of the current game is at an all time high especially in the EPL .

Listen I’m just worried for the boy Biko

Rawlings wrote:never happening
Don't you ever get tired of being wrong.

Haterade go soon burst ya belle!

You do know we are talking about the EPL right?

Anyway he is lucky he is playing in a defensive minded team where he will get protected. But eventually savvy coaches will watch enough game film and exploit his weaknesses. It’s pretty easy to expose a defender lacking in athleticism .

Don’t get me wrong. I love Balogun but tell me how many current top central defenders lack athleticism ????

It’s so hard to play the modern game without mobile defenders ..,, the pace, power and athleticism of the current game is at an all time high especially in the EPL .

Listen I’m just worried for the boy Biko
Doesn’t sound like yourre worried for him
This Just Sounds like bad belle
If you “loved Balogun “ you’d wish him well and move on
Balogun lacks athleticism lol
The rubbish people post on this site..Christ