...and the pressure mounts on Rohr to invite Nwakali to camp

Rohr under pressure to include Kelechi Nwakali in his World Cup squad after his scintillating display yesterday - See more at: https://goo.gl/su2qQe

What was he thinking of in the first place self? All he had to do was invite the boy and take a look at him. If he was not good enough drop him!

This is a classic case of intellectual laziness and being afraid to step outside your comfort zone. If Nwakali had played against say Serbia and Poland, would Rohr not have found out all he needs to know about the boy?
Re: ...and the pressure mounts on Rohr to invite Nwakali to

It's actually intellectual laziness to invite a player to see what he can do. National team coaches should know what a player can do b/4 inviting him since the invitation should be based on what the player does for his club and not some misguided internet campaign.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Rohr under pressure to include Kelechi Nwakali in his World Cup squad after his scintillating display yesterday - See more at: https://goo.gl/su2qQe

What was he thinking of in the first place self? All he had to do was invite the boy and take a look at him. If he was not good enough drop him!

This is a classic case of intellectual laziness and being afraid to step outside your comfort zone. If Nwakali had played against say Serbia and Poland, would Rohr not have found out all he needs to know about the boy?
My brother, do you know Rohr? The article says nothing of where the pressure to include him is coming from, apart from your authored article. He played well last night no doubt, but I think this opportunity came a little early for him. For early parts of both halves, ALM went through us rather easily, which is at odds with the focused TEAM defending and attacking Rohr wants to do.

I think he has nonetheless put himself in prime position to take on the role of Mikel once he retires. He will have to learn to do a lot more with his energy for the team to earn that spot permanently. Trusting Nigeria, another very gifted player might just be a couple of tournaments away from being discovered.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:Rohr under pressure to include Kelechi Nwakali in his World Cup squad after his scintillating display yesterday - See more at: https://goo.gl/su2qQe

Honestly the man is inordinately lazy very scarred to leave his comfort zone. The man had a golden opportunity to prosecute this world cup with the best team Nigeria ever had. Just because of his stupid allegiance and depravity he is messing it up. Frankly speaking between him and Keshi I don't which is more of dissolute . They are obdurate, disdainful arrogant and stupidly lazy.

bully12 wrote:

Honestly the man is inordinately lazy very scarred to leave his comfort zone. The man had a golden opportunity to prosecute this world cup with the best team Nigeria ever had. Just because of his stupid allegiance and depravity he is messing it up. Frankly speaking between him and Keshi I don't which is more of dissolute . They are obdurate, disdainful arrogant and stupidly lazy.
Can you name Nigeria's best team that all Nigerians will agree about?

cic old boy wrote:It's actually intellectual laziness to invite a player to see what he can do. National team coaches should know what a player can do b/4 inviting him since the invitation should be based on what the player does for his club and not some misguided internet campaign.

I beg to disagree. We have known players do zilch for their clubs but excel in green-white-green. A national team coach should have his own ideas of how he wants to play and what players he needs irrespective of what happens at clubs.

Every club coach has his own brief, agenda and players that suit his goals. That may not necessarily tally with the national team's plans!

He should be invited to train with the team. We have the Afcon qualifier in September.

cic old boy wrote:It's actually intellectual laziness to invite a player to see what he can do. National team coaches should know what a player can do b/4 inviting him since the invitation should be based on what the player does for his club and not some misguided internet campaign.

I beg to disagree. We have known players do zilch for their clubs but excel in green-white-green. A national team coach should have his own ideas of how he wants to play and what players he needs irrespective of what happens at clubs.

Every club coach has his own brief, agenda and players that suit his goals. That may not necessarily tally with the national team's plans!
But Rohr has said what he wants and he seems to know the players that fit, so what is the problem sir?

Agree with this but in nwakalis case you’re dealing with a youth star who we know has the quality(and thus deserves to be considered)
but for whatever reason is not visible at club level
The only way to assess his readiness is to call him up

Shownoja wrote:

But Rohr has said what he wants and he seems to know the players that fit, so what is the problem sir?

Unless you want to be dishonest, it is crystal clear that Rohr is not taking a good look at our players. He is lazily using the same boys over and over again despite the fact that some of them have proven not to be good enough.

You and I know that the likes of Akpeyi, Echiejile, Ogu, Ogu, Musa, etc should have been dropped ages ago. We have better and more talented players on offer but Rohr has been too scared to try them.

It was not until he got pressurised before the Argentina game that he was forced to use Uzoho, Ebuehi, Idowu, etc and we saw how they excelled. With the World Cup looming, we need to step up the pressure again for the likes of Nwakali, Ajagun and Onyekuru to be invited.

Agents should better return the money they collected :)

I am actually surprised that they are not asking for the coach to replace Rohr :)

They should wait till AFTER the WC before mounting their pressure. I remember when Rabiu was to be the saviour of Nigeria along with Lukman.

Enemies of Naija footie. The lure of filthy lucre!

bully12 wrote:

Rohr see your life
Last edited by smartbrother on Wed May 23, 2018 12:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Nwakili is a good prospect. He might be better than Oliseh. I also need to temper my own hyping lol.

jdizzy

Post by jdizzy »

Under pressure from a junk online blogger?
Niente Ÿ impossibile!

Shownoja wrote:

The 'problem' is that Ayo thinks he knows better. :roll:

Shownoja wrote:

Unless you want to be dishonest, it is crystal clear that Rohr is not taking a good look at our players. He is lazily using the same boys over and over again despite the fact that some of them have proven not to be good enough.

You and I know that the likes of Akpeyi, Echiejile, Ogu, Ogu, Musa, etc should have been dropped ages ago. We have better and more talented players on offer but Rohr has been too scared to try them.

It was not until he got pressurised before the Argentina game that he was forced to use Uzoho, Ebuehi, Idowu, etc and we saw how they excelled. With the World Cup looming, we need to step up the pressure again for the likes of Nwakali, Ajagun and Onyekuru to be invited.
It is quite funny that the "smart coaches" here that are calling for Nwakali to be called up want instead of players that he is not in competition with.....it is like Argentina dropping mascherano for icardi.....

They don't play same position period......ppl nwakali are in competition with ie Mikel, onazi, Etebo, Ndidi, obi are miles away from his league.....Ogu is a man mountain and Nwakali is simply a weakling not same league for what is needed.......

The boy has no chance to make this team so u can call him up and try him out but unless u can honestly tell me that he is better than the 6 CM above then it will be a waste of his time and that of the coaches.

He needs to focus on his stamina and build up his strength so as to make a case for the Arsenal team. Only on CE can someone say that u invite a player based on talent even though he is having a bad season.....

What of Enyeama? Success? Imoh? Efe Ambrose? Etc......these a talented players but are not hacking it at present.

The SE should be based on merit.....the boy ain't it at present. Every player there brings something to the table, Nwakali doesn't at present.

smartbrother wrote: but for whatever reason is not visible at club level
The only way to assess his readiness is to call him up
If he is not playing at club level, he is not ready for the biggest stage of all.

The WC is not where you experiment with people that are not playing regular club football. If you are not match fit, you shouldn't go to the WC and if you don't get games at club level, you won't be match fit. Enough of this business of standing logic on its head.

these two shameless agents aren’t tired of promoting their boys for monetary gifts. It seems to me like we don’t learn from previous discrepancies and rectify it. In 2002, the likes of ogbeche impressed tremendously at a friendly match against Paraguay and almost scored an overheard kick. After that game, he was selected for World Cup only to flop at that World Cup. The same situation occurred in 2010 (Haruna) 2014 (uchebo, ameobi and co) we really need to learn about team bonding/building. A good team isn’t just bringing random players and expecting them to perform to a high standard. Rohr has done an EXCEPTIONAL job since being hired. When he came on board, we had failed to qualify for 2 nations cup and was destined to be at one of our lowest ever fifa ranking yet Rohr EXCEPTIONALLY turned it around doing it with style, grace and class while simultaneously playing attractive football. whatever rohr decides to do or call up, I am in total support because he earned that right. As for you Shameless Agents, just Give up.

john12 wrote:these two shameless agents aren’t tired of promoting their boys for monetary gifts. It seems to me like we don’t learn from previous discrepancies and rectify it. In 2002, the likes of ogbeche impressed tremendously at a friendly match against Paraguay and almost scored an overheard kick. After that game, he was selected for World Cup only to flop at that World Cup. The same situation occurred in 2010 (Haruna) 2014 (uchebo, ameobi and co) we really need to learn about team bonding/building. A good team isn’t just bringing random players and expecting them to perform to a high standard. Rohr has done an EXCEPTIONAL job since being hired. When he came on board, we had failed to qualify for 2 nations cup and was destined to be at one of our lowest ever fifa ranking yet Rohr EXCEPTIONALLY turned it around doing it with style, grace and class while simultaneously playing attractive football. whatever rohr decides to do or call up, I am in total support because he earned that right. As for you Shameless Agents, just Give up.
It’s like people have forgotten what it was like before Rohr arrived.

Its the Nigerian way. They are either "fighting for shirt" or "storming camp" :oops: :oops: Nonsense!

The WC is not where you experiment with people that are not playing regular club football. If you are not match fit, you shouldn't go to the WC and if you don't get games at club level, you won't be match fit. Enough of this business of standing logic on its head.

Rohr has had the friendlies to try them out. For instance, if Nwakali had been tried out against Argentina, Poland, Serbia and now DR Congo and England and excelled, would you drop him? My beef with Rohr was he was too scared to leave his comfort zone.

What makes your argument untenable is that Rohr was inviting players not featuring for their clubs at all. From September to January, Ahmed Musa did not play one minute of league football for Leicester, yet he was always being invited to camp.

jdizzy wrote:Under pressure from a junk online blogger?