Russia 2018 2nd Round: Which Opponent Should 9ja Face?

Which 2nd Round Opponent Do you Prefer?

Australia
44%
Denmark
11%
Peru
No votes
France
44%

Total votes: 9

Russia 2018 2nd Round: Which Opponent Should 9ja Face?

Assuming 9ja makes it out of the group D a possibility now that Iceland reportedly has 3 major injuries.
Last edited by Kabalega on Fri May 25, 2018 3:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Russia 2018 2nd Round: Which Opponent Should 9ja Face?

Our opponent would be either France, Peru, Denmark, or Australia.

Give me Australia any day.

Give me Denmark.

So Iceland having 3 major injuries is the only reason we are expecting to make the second round?

Synopsis wrote:Our opponent would be either France, Peru, Denmark, or Australia.

Give me Australia any day.
Someone handed me a draw sheet to predict the winner for a prize. It turns out it has the wrong 2nd round schedule. :lol: :lol:

Me personally, I want DENMARK if we make it to 2nd round. It’s time for a revenge and payback for 1998

john12 wrote:Me personally, I want DENMARK if we make it to 2nd round. It’s time for a revenge and payback for 1998
You don't want to revenge against France for breaking Onazi's leg in Brazil 2014?

Eaglezbeak wrote:So Iceland having 3 major injuries is the only reason we are expecting to make the second round?
It certainly weakens a strong opponent, but there is also the downside of facing good replacements you know little about.

Kabalega wrote:
john12 wrote:Me personally, I want DENMARK if we make it to 2nd round. It’s time for a revenge and payback for 1998
You don't want to revenge against France for breaking Onazi's leg in Brazil 2014?
Chief Kabalege, why you dey oganize poll, then dey try to tell pipul how dem go vote?

I would prefer to face Uganda or Ghana, or even Cameroon, if they get there.

kalani JR wrote:Give me Denmark.
We want that revenge.

Kabalega wrote:
Chief Kabalege, why you dey organize poll, then dey try to tell pipul how dem go vote?
I'm not trying to influence the voting.
I would like to know why revenge over Denmark takes precedence over France?

Remember, the SE stayed up late over bonuses the night before they faced Denmark in '98 coupled with some arrogance and well, they had it coming to them. :twisted:
Meanwhile, Keshi's SE had France by the balls in Brazil 2014, until Matuidi took out Onazi, and the rest is history.

As a neutral, it looks like the loss to Denmark was self-inflicted while the loss to France which is more recent, is bound to conjure up more emotions for revenge.
But what do I know...? :)

Chief Ogbunigwe wrote:I would prefer to face Uganda or Ghana, or even Cameroon, if they get there.
Uganda beats you all the time while Ghana pumps in at least 3 goals when they beat you.
Be careful what you wish for... :taunt: :taunt:

I can see France topping that group and Denmark coming second. Peru are a good side too, so do not rule them out of clinching the runners-up spot.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:I can see France topping that group and Denmark coming second. Peru are a good side too, so do not rule them out of clinching the runners-up spot.
Peru needs a lot of work and I don't think they have enough time to gel and form a tight unit, but you never know.

They also lost their talisman, Paolo Guerrero, after he was banned for drinking coca tea. :)

Mods, Close this thread. Kabalega is setting us up.

Ugbowo wrote:Mods, Close this thread. Kabalega is setting us up.
I am shocked people are responding to a thread opened by this chap. smh

1. France
2. Peru

That's the order they will finish
Denmark might have something to say. Peru's record and form speaks for itself

I would rather face Peru than Denmark if we finish tops in our group

Inevitably it's looking like we will get France

None of this matters if we lose to Croatia and Iceland.

First things first. Let's do the business in our group before worrying about what happens in group C.

Ugbowo wrote:Mods, Close this thread. Kabalega is setting us up.
I am shocked people are responding to a thread opened by this chap. smh
This is not the time for cynicism. The World Cup© is 3 weeks away.

Throw in your kobo. :)

How about who do we play in the Finals? Kaba, start another poll :roll: :roll:
delisyomie don

Post by delisyomie don »

why don't we make out of the group first before we start this,,, do we think other teams from the group come to sell ground nut ...
thanks
TheTactician

Post by TheTactician »

I'm pretty sure we aren't making it out of the group stage. Our group is far too tough and we have a serious goalkeeping problem. The goalkeeping problem wouldn't be an issue if we were defensively sound but, we can be a bit shaky at the back at times. Furthermore, we haven't displayed the ability to dominate possession which would be an excellent tactic to reduce the amount of chances available to opponents. You can't score if you don't touch the ball. Finally, we don't seem to have the ability to generate enough offense to outscore our defensive mistakes. In our group, 2 out of the four teams have serious issues at the back. One of those teams has Messi and the other is Nigeria. The other teams are defensively organized and hard to break down. I will be cheering for our boys 100% but I view this tournament as a stepping stone for our boys. 2022 and 2026 are the tournaments where I expect the team to boss other teams. We are on the up and up.