Spanish league, dominant league in Europe

Re: Spanish league, dominant league in Europe

No wahala - keep the best league trophy. I know which games I would rather watch from which league.

Novocaine

Post by Novocaine »

On question of the Best league there is no doubt it is the EPL because there are 20 teams that will fight tooth and nail to earn points each week.

La Liga has 3 excellent teams and the other 17 are just fodder for these teams. Each week before kick-off one can predict with 100% certainty that Real, Atletico, Barca are going to devour their other 17 opponents like yam.

Novocaine wrote:On question of the Best league there is no doubt it is the EPL because there are 20 teams that will fight tooth and nail to earn points each week.

La Liga has 3 excellent teams and the other 17 are just fodder for these teams. Each week before kick-off one can predict with 100% certainty that Real, Atletico, Barca are going to devour their other 17 opponents like yam.
I really don't wan't to argue with some peole, that is why I stopped responding.

The title says "The DOMINAMT league in Europe". We know that is measured by European titles. That also changes from time to time.

The best league however is a matter of preference. Mercedes win the Formula 1 title with their engine. They are dominant but some might prefer Ferrari.

I prefer the EPL, for a whole lot of reasons and a few millions if not billions around the world feel the same way. What is best for me might not be for you.

You highlight one of the reasons I like watching the EPL. Week in week out you get competitive games. One week the Manchester derby, the following week, Man United v Chelsea. Followed by Chelsea v Liverpool, then possibly Arsenal V Spurs. You then get the rude boys like Burnley, Bournemouth who have no respect for their elders.

The EPL has been fragmented because the new money has diluted the traditional powerhouse teams like Man United, goons etc. There's been 3 different teams winning the title in the last 3 seasons. Most countries tend to have 2 powerful teams that challenges all the time.

You then have some of these teams going through transition, like Man United after SAF left. They've changed 3 managers in the last 4 years compared to almost 20 years of SAF. The same happened to Liverpool in the 90's. Ageing squad and change of Manager threw them with the "also ran" of the EPL.

Messi and Ronaldo will soon retire and with Real ageing squad. Then things could change again.

The CL is also throwing out situations where the strongest teams in their league don't translate that to CL dominance. I remember Liverpool winning when they were not even in the top 4. Real have won at least 2 titles without winning their league. The finalist this time round did not even make the top 3 of their leagues. One could say Real have become "specialist" of CL. Their mentality is different and they go all out to make it happen.
UEFA recently decided the winners of the Europa will get access to the CL. It was done because the English were not taking it seriously. Some still think Thursday football is a waste of time. The Spanish are very serious about European football.

They are dominant at the moment but the best is down to individual preference, a matter of choice and my choice is the EPL.

Best league - EPL.

Best team - La Liga.

Everything else, ...na talk!!!

bk-one

Post by bk-one »

Skylolo wrote:This has been the case for some time now, a few EPL fanboys will continue to bury their heads in the sand....this is not about popularity or money, the end to end and unpredictability of the EPL is good but the standard of football in La liga is better.
Dont you think the stone age refereeing standards of the epl are playing much of a role towards that? maybe the drama created by that is somehow creating much of a spectacle rather than the quality of their football....more like WWE RAW :wink: :lol: :lol:
Ipe Grams

Post by Ipe Grams »

Skylolo wrote:This has been the case for some time now, a few EPL fanboys will continue to bury their heads in the sand....this is not about popularity or money, the end to end and unpredictability of the EPL is good but the standard of football in La liga is better.

Standard where 2 teams dominate? :roll: do fans watch football because of the standard?
"Are you sure you want to go to red alert? It does mean changing the bulb..."
Kryten to Rimmer, Red Dwarf

I like the EPL of course and its unpredictability, like Leicester winning the premiership for example but for sheer technical ability, Spanish league dominates everyone hands down

EPL fans are like ‘flat earthers’ even in the face of overwhelming evidence they continue to argue against the facts. La Liga sides have beaten EPL sides in the last 23 out if 27 matchups. And at least two of those were barely win by EPL sides. La Liga teams overall have done better in Europe. Typically RPL teams outside the top five can barely get out of the group stages in the Europa. Even this idea that anyone can beat anyone in the EPL is simply a sentimental view that’s not backed by facts. Real for example have lost several matches against lower level La Liga sides yet they handled Pool, the best team in England. :tic: Sevilla handled Utd at Old Trafford. This is a team that did not even qualify for the Europa.

Bottom line is the only reason for saying that the EPL is the best league is a sentimental one. It is not backed by facts.

Novocaine wrote:On question of the Best league there is no doubt it is the EPL because there are 20 teams that will fight tooth and nail to earn points each week.

:lol: :lol: You guys just love to peddle myths in stubborn defiance to facts.

Real Madrid, champions of Europe, lost 6 times this season (1 loss to Barca). The other losses were to promoted Girona, at home to Betis and Villareal, Espanyol and Sevilla. They drew 10 times. Barca had 9 draws and lost to Leganes 4-5. But why let the facts get in the way of a good story?

CIC,...why you dey follow monkey chop banana?

The #2 and #3 team in La Liga won Europes 2 top championships.
Spain again had the most representatives in the Champions League quarter finals, with Sevilla finishing 7th in La Liga, yet yanshing ManU, #2 in the EPL.

Whether na novocain, cocain or dolocain the bobo chop, no be facts wey dey bother am.
Just say OK and leave am be.
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Bunch of clowns these EPL fanboys, at the end of the day we all love football and all the leagues. BUT...I remember when they used to say no team could sweep the EPL the way Bayern, Barca etc do in their leagues. We warned them that the top end sides of the EPL did not have the quality of those sides (players, coach, mentality etc.), then Man City 2017/18 came along(a side that is not even as good as some of those great Barca/Real/Bayern teams) beat everyone in the league like they stole something and took 100 points.... :lol: :lol:
To God be the glory

Skylolo wrote:Bunch of clowns these EPL fanboys, at the end of the day we all love football and all the leagues. BUT...I remember when they used to say no team could sweep the EPL the way Bayern, Barca etc do in their leagues. We warned them that the top end sides of the EPL did not have the quality of those sides (players, coach, mentality etc.), then Man City 2017/18 came along(a side that is not even as good as some of those great Barca/Real/Bayern teams) beat everyone in the league like they stole something and took 100 points.... :lol: :lol:
Is City a La Liga team ?. Is it the first team to set a points or goals record ?

Real also lost to spurs and the only team they never beat in 2 leg game :scared: :scared:

Hmmm guys comparing Barca and Real with the rest of the league.Those two teams will dominate even if they were in Russia...

pajimoh wrote:When UEFA help Spanish team succeed, suckers come here and start making noise. EPL is the best league in the world. We like it. A lot of people like it. Cvnts that like the Spanish league are welcome to it. Just leave us to keep liking what we like. We don't want league where they make money noise, paint faces. :tic:

Congrats Spain for winning the CL, again. EPL for ever, Wakanda for ever, SE for life, God for eternity. :thumbs: :thumb:
What about the league where they throw bananas at Adebayor?
The real deal

Post by The real deal »

The English colonised nearly HALF of the Nations of the world.
Without EPL, what else can the COLONIAL power boast about?
The BEST talent and coaches in EPL now 15 out of best 20 players in EPL are from Laliga/Bundesliga or South America
Cujus esqulum, ajus es usqui ad inferos

marko wrote:The sooner we face up to the facts the better! Spanish football is highly technical, not about having muscular men, more about finnesse, technical ability and of course skill, now it sems man city would have given a better account than liverpool it seems? Who knows? The Britsh press over hype the premiership too much, the punters are even worse, just seems we are playing catch up, for my team united to get into this company, we need to invest deeply to match the madrids
It's just a cultural thing in English speaking countries, we value athleticism over technical abilities. A Messi would never have existed had he been born in England or the US, they would have tossed his little #$% outside the line a long time ago. Go to EPL fan forums and see how they tend to describe potential signings, "He doesn't have much pace", "He's not strong enough!", "I like him, he's a unit!", etc. Technical abilities come a distant second. Athleticism can work at a younger level but there comes a time where the game gets highly technical and that's were a lot of players just fall behind.

The real deal wrote:The English colonised nearly HALF of the Nations of the world.
Without EPL, what else can the COLONIAL power boast about?
The BEST talent and coaches in EPL now 15 out of best 20 players in EPL are from Laliga/Bundesliga or South America
English is the international language of business. The fact that you and I are speaking English now is testament of their influence. Most the powerful African economies are former British colonies.

pajimoh wrote:When UEFA help Spanish team succeed, suckers come here and start making noise. EPL is the best league in the world. We like it. A lot of people like it. Cvnts that like the Spanish league are welcome to it. Just leave us to keep liking what we like. We don't want league where they make money noise, paint faces. :tic:

Congrats Spain for winning the CL, again. EPL for ever, Wakanda for ever, SE for life, God for eternity. :thumbs: :thumb:
Wow, you just won the argument. Clap for ya sef. You just had to reach back and find one example to make your point :rotf:

I guess things are better in Spain than in England for black players. I guess while we talk about increasing the number of black coaches in the EPL, because we can even talk about it in the first place, we should set a date for year 3000 so we can have the sane discussion about Spain. Mssshhheeew

My friend gerra ra his. Nonsense :D

Wow, you just won the argument. Clap for ya sef. You just had to reach back and find one example to make your point :rotf:

I guess things are better in Spain than in England for black players. I guess while we talk about increasing the number of black coaches in the EPL, because we can even talk about it in the first place, we should set a date for year 3000 so we can have the sane discussion about Spain. Mssshhheeew

Neither league is clean that’s my point.

Life I like that but some make more effort to address issues than others.

Fantastic...next year I'm still watching the EPL and a few other games. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Pa Jumble Up - Na fight? :lol: