Why are we so worked up about who is dropped or Not?

I don't understand the commotion. I think Rohr selected the best 25 players available now, so I am not worried about which 2 players are dropped, even if Mikel is one of them. I don't think the players on the bubble would make that much difference either way.
Re: Why are we so worked up about who is dropped or Not?

1naija wrote:I don't understand the commotion. I think Rohr selected the best 25 players available now, so I am not worried about which 2 players are dropped, even if Mikel is one of them. I don't think the players on the bubble would make that much difference either way.
Unkulu, it is agents doing what agents do.

donadoni

Post by donadoni »

I’m worried if Mikel is one of them o!

1naija wrote:I don't understand the commotion. I think Rohr selected the best 25 players available now, so I am not worried about which 2 players are dropped, even if Mikel is one of them. I don't think the players on the bubble would make that much difference either way.
:) If Mikel is one of them, izz all ova.

To your original question.... I believe that doing well in competitions like these is only possible if you pay attention to marginal decisions as well as major decisions. Our first 11 picks itself...but you need subs. You need to prepare for potential injuries...You need to prepare to change tactics if necessary. Picking the wrong choice between Ech/Aina could end our WC experience if we have a few bad breaks....same with the midfield choices...or goalie choices

It matters because we are a team full of injuries.

Last WC we saw what happened when a junk like Reuben Gabriel came in for Onazi and that was it.

Last WC Keshi could have taken Joel Obi instead, but his depravity lead him to make up lies about him not being fit, and ironically he took a player instead who himself was not fit.

We are in a very tough group, and yes getting these decisions wrong/right could absolutely be the difference between qualification or not.

We can easily find ourself in a situation where a midfield player is injured, and another is suspended. That puts us at -2 and if the replacement is a junk or not dynamic enough for our needs then we will suffer the consequences of poor player selection, just like we did in 2014 because of Kesh's corruption.

vancity eagle wrote:It matters because we are a team full of injuries.

Last WC we saw what happened when a junk like Reuben Gabriel came in for Onazi and that was it.

Last WC Keshi could have taken Joel Obi instead, but his depravity lead him to make up lies about him not being fit, and ironically he took a player instead who himself was not fit.

We are in a very tough group, and yes getting these decisions wrong/right could absolutely be the difference between qualification or not.

We can easily find ourself in a situation where a midfield player is injured, and another is suspended. That puts us at -2 and if the replacement is a junk or not dynamic enough for our needs then we will suffer the consequences of poor player selection, just like we did in 2014 because of Kesh's corruption.
Speaking foul about the dead, a great one like Keshi at that reflects badly on you and makes every other valid point you make irrelevant.

oscar52 wrote:

Speaking foul about the dead, a great one like Keshi at that reflects badly on you and makes every other valid point you make irrelevant.
If we can’t speak “foul” about the dead, even the “great ones”, there’d be no study of history. You like Keshi...lots of people did. That he’s dead doesn’t confer on him infallibility
Al B Sure

Post by Al B Sure »

It’s amazing how you guys knows so much more than the coaches that are tasked with selecting the players :D

deanotito wrote:
oscar52 wrote:

If we can’t speak “foul” about the dead, even the “great ones”, there’d be no study of history. You like Keshi...lots of people did. That he’s dead doesn’t confer on him infallibility
Not sure why you are putting the term in quotes...
But making up stories about the dead is FOUL! Not choosing your personal favorites is NOT depravity!

oscar52 wrote:

Abegi put that foul-mouthed Agbero on ignore...

He was loudly and publicly rooting against Nigeria, when Keshi went on to win our first ANC in almost two decades, became the FIRST African to win the ANC as captain and as coach (the Egyptian dude was not his team's captain), became the FIRST African to qualify two different African countries for the WC finals, and despite his so-called "depravity" became the FIRST African to win a WC game as well as the FIRST African to qualify his team for the WC round of sixteen. But I do not blame these foul-mouthed folks, after all they emanate from a country with a culture and reputation for denigrating and punishing success while idolizing and rewarding failure. Just look at their leadership class! SMDH

Who be Reuben Gabriel? :lol: :lol: Kai SE of late have seen her share of hey yous

ANC wrote:Who be Reuben Gabriel? :lol: :lol: Kai SE of late have seen her share of hey yous
IMHO Reuben was clearly unfit for the 2014 WC...
But he's not an "hey you" just because he did not play for a big Oyibo club. SMH @ Colonalized Africans.

I don't remember the guy, the name sounds familiar, and same can be said of many who played for SE in the last decade and half...too many players (example nnamdi oduamadi) have passed through the system. I believe it wasn't always like this, back in the day, even the fringe players were household names, Nduka Ugbade, etc

Apart from Iwobi, Mikel, Ekong, Balogun, Onazi, Kelechi, Vic Mo, Ndidi and Ighalo, I really can't muster a f*ck to give about the rest.

oscar52 wrote:

Abegi put that foul-mouthed Agbero on ignore...

He was loudly and publicly rooting against Nigeria, when Keshi went on to win our first ANC in almost two decades, became the FIRST African to win the ANC as captain and as coach (the Egyptian dude was not his team's captain), became the FIRST African to qualify two different African countries for the WC finals, and despite his so-called "depravity" became the FIRST African to win a WC game as well as the FIRST African to qualify his team for the WC round of sixteen. But I do not blame these foul-mouthed folks, after all they emanate from a country with a culture and reputation for denigrating and punishing success while idolizing and rewarding failure. Just look at their leadership class! SMDH
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: Nothing more to add sir...remind me to pay my dues with a sweltering hot nkwobi bowl and whatever drink of your choice sir!

...money to be made and or lost. You are talking about Nigerians here :laugh: :laugh:

I never thought it was that big a deal. Whoever is dropped would most probably not have gotten a game anyway.

airwolex wrote:I never thought it was that big a deal. Whoever is dropped would most probably not have gotten a game anyway.
You are used to be dropped anyway :taunt: :taunt: ... Right from your local government basketball team up to Cardiff county team... Anyway, you suppose enter the over - 40s team in Lagos :tic:

deanotito wrote:
:) If Mikel is one of them, izz all ova.

To your original question.... I believe that doing well in competitions like these is only possible if you pay attention to marginal decisions as well as major decisions. Our first 11 picks itself...but you need subs. You need to prepare for potential injuries...You need to prepare to change tactics if necessary. Picking the wrong choice between Ech/Aina could end our WC experience if we have a few bad breaks....same with the midfield choices...or goalie choices

Obviously we need Mikel and he will make the team, but I was just using him to make a point. We have our best 25 players in London, so I can't think of any 2 players that will be dropped except maybe Mikel, Moses, Balogun, or Ekong, that would be earth shattering.

Go and Call Rohr then.

ANC wrote:Who be Reuben Gabriel? :lol: :lol: Kai SE of late have seen her share of hey yous
IMHO Reuben was clearly unfit for the 2014 WC...
But he's not an "hey you" just because he did not play for a big Oyibo club. SMH @ Colonalized Africans.
U dey mind dem................Same Reuben they were all hyping before his injury.

cic old boy wrote:Apart from Iwobi, Mikel, Ekong, Balogun, Onazi, Kelechi, Vic Mo, Ndidi and Ighalo, I really can't muster a f*ck to give about the rest.
:lol: :lol: me i no send as long as Mikel is there , the rest are just there to make the number ..No Mikel no SE