the treatment of DELE ALLI today

Re: the treatment of DELE ALLI today

It has nothing to do with football culture and everything to do with Nigeria's pettiness and ridiculousness. You people need to stop trying to spin this one. The young man owes Nigeria nothing, if he feels no connection there then that's all there is to it, life goes on. He's English.

It's the same behavior I noticed from a lot of weirdos who hate on young players of Nigerian descent who decide to play for their country of birth, the land were they grew up and learned to play football. You think everybody has this weird mentality that they owe their "fatherland" anything because they have a Nigerian parent? Go fix your damn country and produce fine players that were born there and maybe people like Dele Alli will be begging to play for you.

Mr. Piffington wrote:It has nothing to do with football culture and everything to do with Nigeria's pettiness and ridiculousness. You people need to stop trying to spin this one. The young man owes Nigeria nothing, if he feels no connection there then that's all there is to it, life goes on. He's English.

It's the same behavior I noticed from a lot of weirdos who hate on young players of Nigerian descent who decide to play for their country of birth, the land were they grew up and learned to play football. You think everybody has this weird mentality that they owe their "fatherland" anything because they have a Nigerian parent? Go fix your damn country and produce fine players that were born there and maybe people like Dele Alli will be begging to play for you.
If we hate him so much why is he not front page on this site every day -(he is a big player)? You need to give it a rest. The fans did what other fans do - they booed one of their own who decided to play for another team. We do not need Dele Alli to beg to play for us even as we have not fixed our country. Nigerian fans had a good time and had fun yesterday. My own son is in the same situation and if he chooses to play for England I'll support him but won't bat an eyelid if he is booed if he plays against Nigeria.
Last edited by aruako1 on Sun Jun 03, 2018 7:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Wow, 4 pages on booing a player....English fans invented booing

Did Alli care, didn't think so.....

I thought the fans that came to the match was just enjoying themselves and was not done with Malice, in fact the comment in the office was that.....the Nigeria fans were attempting to boo him and can't get that right....

The boos were not malicious, in fact when he was tackledand was on the floor, no one booed him. Sterling was booed for diving, Kane for scoring the first goal.

Who remembers Sol Campbell's first game at spurs after signing for Arsenal.....the atmosphere was frightening. Was not the case yesterday, was all in good fun....

If Tibite or 1naija knows the boys and are personally invested - like family members. Then the thread is partially understandable but this is typical Nigerian attitude of making a molehill look like a mountain. In the scheme of things......MUCH ADO ABOUT NOTHING

aruako1 wrote:
Mr. Piffington wrote:It has nothing to do with football culture and everything to do with Nigeria's pettiness and ridiculousness. You people need to stop trying to spin this one. The young man owes Nigeria nothing, if he feels no connection there then that's all there is to it, life goes on. He's English.

If we hate him so much why is he not front page on this site every day -(he is a big player)? You need to give it a rest. The fans did what other fans do - they booed one of their own who decided to play for another team. We do not need Dele Alli to beg to play for us even as we have not fixed our country. Nigerian fans had a good time and had fun yesterday. My own son is in the same situation and if he chooses to play for England I'll support him but won't bat an eyelid if he is booed if he plays against Nigeria.

Liar.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
aruako1 wrote:

Liar.
You can speak for yourself. I'll speak for myself. My son knows I am a Nigerian fan and will understand why he is being booed. And even at 6 he is not as sensitive as you.
Dr. Wazobia

Post by Dr. Wazobia »

Nice read (the Mirror article) but £60,000 a week? Dele Alli? That’s a bargain.
--- Let brotherly love continue ---

A footballer on the opposing team gets booed by fans of the team he is playing against and folks are writing epistles. Wow!! :shock: :shock:

As Damunk has taken care to explain, this is standard fare in football and in fact sports. As long as the fans do not resort to discriminatory and unsavory attacks, there is nothing at all to see here. If I was at the stadium, I will find any reason - including the slightest and most tangential of reasons like Kane stealing goals from teammates - to boo any English player in an attempt to rattle the player and throw him off his game.

This is one of the limited ways fans have to make their presence felt and players that have not been desensitized to that need to sit down on their team psychologist's couch a little longer.

Ol boy, e be like somebody don vex you this morning.
It's not that serious.
Honestly. :lol:

Dele has not taken time to associate with his heritage, there is no way AJ will get booed, this is a boy that spent a year in Nigeria atleast respect the fans and country, and this is a lesson to all those that raise kids abroad teach them to respect their heritage. Is his right not to but then it is our right to show our displeasure with him.

If he had gone on media showed respect to country and the fans, tell us about playing on the streets of lagos. He was there for a year, even talk about jj.

If my kid is blessed enough to play for England he has to acknowledge his roots or he gets booed, AJ does it time and time again.

Ol boy, e be like somebody don vex you this morning.
It's not that serious.
Honestly. :lol:
Ni mind the guy. See AJ the guy will work into any naija place and his dad left his mum, it cost you nothing to aclnowledge were you cone from and he would have followed naija footie.
You dont need to put down one because you are representing another.

After the game on the pitch Sterling came to greet the naija players. Little things like that matters

I thought the booing wasn't personal and more jokey style ribbing. For all of you angry that he's playing for England, get over it, they developed him. Super Eagles can't play absentee then come for every player with a Nigerian ancestor and think its our divine right to them.

kalani JR wrote:I thought the booing wasn't personal and more jokey style ribbing. For all of you angry that he's playing for England, get over it, they developed him. Super Eagles can't play absentee then come for every player with a Nigerian ancestor and think its our divine right to them.
Kpom!

Dele should thank his stars I wasn't at the stadium, nah sand i for pour inside him mouth

Prince wrote:Dele has not taken time to associate with his heritage, there is no way AJ will get booed, this is a boy that spent a year in Nigeria atleast respect the fans and country, and this is a lesson to all those that raise kids abroad teach them to respect their heritage. Is his right not to but then it is our right to show our displeasure with him.

If he had gone on media showed respect to country and the fans, tell us about playing on the streets of lagos. He was there for a year, even talk about jj.

If my kid is blessed enough to play for England he has to acknowledge his roots or he gets booed, AJ does it time and time again.
This Naija thing, you feel it or you don't. Why blame Dele? After all we have grown men that grew up in Iseyin and Abakalilki that clearly have no love for Naija.

Dele Alli is way more English than Naija. So is Eyeb, Onuoha before him and a slew of others.

However we have people like VMoses, Iwobi and AJ who more than make up for them. Tbh I think I prefer VM and Iwobi to Alli anyway. His game is very Englishish although he surprised me yesterday.

1naija wrote:Funny thing is many of you justifying the boos have pikins that can chose to represent their country of birth instead of Nigeria. I wonder how you would feel if the boos directed at someone you know because they chose to represent their country of birth. I think it was stupid to boo him.
You dont understand football culture, so forget it.
Go back to running commentary on rounders, abi na baseball una dey call am for US.
If my pikin ever played for England vs Naija and gets booed, we will laugh about it because we understand the context.
Na yabbis - and recognition.
Simple. 8-)
So you're in your sons head and know how he would react to every possible situation? ok oh!!

airwolex wrote:
Prince wrote:Dele has not taken time to associate with his heritage, there is no way AJ will get booed, this is a boy that spent a year in Nigeria atleast respect the fans and country, and this is a lesson to all those that raise kids abroad teach them to respect their heritage. Is his right not to but then it is our right to show our displeasure with him.

This Naija thing, you feel it or you don't. Why blame Dele? After all we have grown men that grew up in Iseyin and Abakalilki that clearly have no love for Naija.

Dele Alli is way more English than Naija. So is Eyeb, Onuoha before him and a slew of others.

However we have people like VMoses, Iwobi and AJ who more than make up for them. Tbh I think I prefer VM and Iwobi to Alli anyway. His game is very Englishish although he surprised me yesterday.
Oga its just showing respect, am not saying he has to play for Nigeria of course we are proud of him but you dont have pretend you dont have an hertage just to belong.
K

Post by K »

Who’s AJ?

K wrote:Who’s AJ?
Anthony Joshua

DIMKA76 wrote:
1naija wrote:Funny thing is many of you justifying the boos have pikins that can chose to represent their country of birth instead of Nigeria. I wonder how you would feel if the boos directed at someone you know because they chose to represent their country of birth. I think it was stupid to boo him.
You dont understand football culture, so forget it.
Go back to running commentary on rounders, abi na baseball una dey call am for US.
If my pikin ever played for England vs Naija and gets booed, we will laugh about it because we understand the context.
Na yabbis - and recognition.
Simple. 8-)
So you're in your sons head and know how he would react to every possible situation? ok oh!!
Duh! :roll:
I don't need to be in my son's head for "every possible situation" to know what he's likely to think in "some" - if not most - possible situations.
If you are clueless about yours, just say so. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Bottom line is, I am in tune with my kids and I can categorically say that this scenario we are describing here is not going to be a big deal. They are made of sterner stuff, are very comfortable in their dual national identities and have a very good understanding (and appreciation) of Nigerian culture and humour.

Its not too hard to achieve if you get the mix just right, like I happen to have done.
My daughter is the one telling me that nowadays, to be Nigerian is to be "different" and therefore "cool". :taunt:

what was wrong with the treatment of Dele Alli?

3 years from age 8 to 11.

I wonder about this guy sometimes. He is clearly a socialist that supports the Chinese model of government. Now he won't let fans be fans. Fans are petty BTW. It is right of fans to be petty. I will boo him every chance I get. He also plays for Spurs. That is double jeopardy.