We Hve A Problem. How Far Do U Think We Go? 2nd Rnd Imposs

Larry Ashagbe 1
We Hve A Problem. How Far Do U Think We Go? 2nd Rnd Imposs

Post by Larry Ashagbe 1 »

After watching today's match of Nigeria v Czech Republic.

I identified the following major problems.

1. We cannot defend set piece.
2. Our free kicks and corner kicks were poorly delivered by Victor Mosees.
3. Kelechi Iheanacho took over free kicks and corner kicks duties and he was equally poor with his deliveries
4. I would have started the match with Simmy Nwankwo today since he did not feature against England and see what he can do because Rohr has already seen too much of Ighalo.
5. Why is John Ogu playing left back, I don't understand. Is this a new formation or someone is injured.
6. We cannot score goals.
7. We don't have world class strikers.
8. Services to strikers are ZERO.

I have already bought all my tickets, hotel etc but I don't have confidence on this team doing very well in Russia.

I don't have any expectations and I will NOT be disappointed with the Super Eagles should they perform poorly.

I am going to Russia to enjoy the atmosphere and the jamboree and be prepared for BIG DISAPPOINTMENT.

If we get to the 2nd round, in my opinion, then that should be considered as winning the world cup.

I hope that I am wrong and I would like us to win the world cup.

How Far Do U Think We Go?

Let's hear your take on it.
Re: We Hve A Problem. How Far Do U Think We Go? 2nd Rnd Impo

1, Set piece has always been our biggest issues
2, Kelechi is actually a good set piece taker but he starts from the bench. Moses needs to stop taking it
3, I would had started the game with kelechi because he is our best finisher
4, Ogu played LEft Cb not LB

Overall, we played at our level because looking at our ranking and caliber of players available you shouldn’t really expect to beat Czech. Our best players are at backwater leagues

3 and out.

I don't think we will win one match tbh. Maybe get a draw vs Iceland.

Ogu in defense is a strange one.
Surely Awaziem or Omeruo would be better choices
Mikel at AM while Iwobi plays holding midfield is another strange one
Its a shame Rohr is discovering idowu's weaknesses in LB role so late in the day

That said I think we will come good at the WC in spite of and not because of the shambolic build up
Just Like we did in 1998
I don't pretend to be some nostradamus who can predict the myriad of complex factors that influence football outcomes
like some clownish people on this site
I think so because I just have a feeling
and Nigeria is always full of surprises
Last edited by smartbrother on Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

This team will be ready by 2022.

For now they are just too young, inexperienced, ajebutic, schoolboyish, foreign etc. etc.

This is not a senior national team. Sorry!
Last edited by cchinukw on Wed Jun 06, 2018 4:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Do you honestly expect us to beat a team with the likes of
Modric real
Rakitic Barca
Kovacevic real

Even if we exit at the first round, it shouldn’t be surprising because Croatia has better players than us

john12 wrote:Do you honestly expect us to beat a team with the likes of
Modric real
Rakitic Barca
Kovacevic real

Even if we exit at the first round, it shouldn’t be surprising because Croatia has better players than us
This is rubbish. It's not about the names.

Senegal managed to beat a star studded French team.

I could play better than some of these defenders.

Modric real
Rakitic Barca
Kovacevic real

Yes

I expect us to go the furthest we have gone ever in a world cup.

vancity eagle wrote:3 and out.

I don't think we will win one match tbh. Maybe get a draw vs Iceland.
I disagree with you Vancity-eagle (VE). We will top our group and advance to the next round.

We’ll be fine

Modric real
Rakitic Barca
Kovacevic real

Yes
With goodluck why not?

danfo driver wrote:I expect us to go the furthest we have gone ever in a world cup.
Don't know about all that...
But confident that we will get out of our group.

Modric real
Rakitic Barca
Kovacevic real

Yes
With goodluck why not?
it won't be with good luck.

And your Crook will be at home watching the game, stuffing his rotten mouth with okra, as he realizes that Nigerians have forgotten him, and he is now a nobody.

Im not going to judge our performance by the friendlies but we need to sit up

We will be good in Russia.

The loss of Simon is huge (I said so). It totally limits our offense. That extra dimension of being able to put him and Moses on different wings and let them switch wings at will and break with speed is lost.

Idowu might be limited going forward, but he is OK at the back, and he does pop up at the right spot in front to score the odd goal (mostly through picking up the scraps on offense.

Echiejile adds nothing to the team.

Aina would have been great.

Another guy who would have been great would have been Amuzie. Left footed, fast, crosses well and shoots well. Sometimes you have to look at the need of the team and give that a bigger consideration than where the guy plays. His club situation is much better than Elderson's too.

I'm saying all these because it would have been great to be able to get on the left, what Ebuehi is offering on the right. The ability to play with speed and width on both ends could be huge.

Larry Baba,

These were my observations posted at half time

* Once again we are struggling to create chances. Relying too much on individual runs.. Too much running with the ball
* Ighalo is getting caught offside too many times for a striker of his experience (he did this repeatedly in the England game).
* We need to find a player who is a bit more deadly at freekicks.
* Our Set play , playing and defending to too amateurish.
* Ebuehi looks like he has won the first team shirt at right back

After 90 mins, I stand by them all

There is no fluidity in the final 3rd so we are not even creating clear cut chances. That said I am a bit more comfortable that we are going into the WC with chips down and the players having to raise their game.

Have you seen Argentina's problems????

Iceland too. And Croatia. ALL three have major issues especially Argentina.

You're looking at this from only green lenses Larry.

Modric real
Rakitic Barca
Kovacevic real

Yes
With goodluck why not?
it won't be with good luck.

And your Crook will be at home watching the game, stuffing his rotten mouth with okra, as he realizes that Nigerians have forgotten him, and he is now a nobody.
Thus far, he is being missed. No way Enyeama would have let these goals in the past few weeks in as cheaply as Uzoho.

Larry:

Ogu played as the left-sided CD in the 2H (and was the best of the 3 CDs in initiating play)...
Which was great flexibility because we can now change formation without having to change personnel.

Personally, I am less worried than apparently many CEs...
Perhaps it was the level of opposition, but the team actually played WELL for long stretches.

We have a few outstanding issues though...
(1) Goal-scoring, (2) Creating chances, (3) Defending spot-kicks, and (3) utilizing our own spot-kicks.

ogiso

Post by ogiso »

Interesting to see different reactions to yet another poor result. Again this “it’s only a friendly” excuse pops up. Anyway we all want the SE to do well at the WC, but there is a difference between hope and confidence. I’m certainly in the ‘hope’ camp.

In 94 and 98 we lost our friendlies but still advanced to the second round. These games are showing Rohr our weaknesses and his mistakes. His stubborness is one big problem!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:In 94 and 98 we lost our friendlies but still advanced to the second round. These games are showing Rohr our weaknesses and his mistakes. His stubborness is one big problem!
Ayo, I dont know if it's stubbornness or cautiousness.