SET PIECE DEFENDING

We will chop goals at this WC via set pieces.

Wanna bet ?

We are going 3 and out. You simply cannot defend so comically at this level. Our opponents surely would have noted this by now.

We can dominate all 3 games but when you have such a weak Achilles heel as such, we aint going nowhere.

Before the Czechs scored I just texted my brother saying how we will give up goals from set pieces this WC.

Minutes later the Czechs scored. What disgraceful defending.

It was John Ogu who lost his marker and gave him a free header on goal. Uzoho saved but the rebound was tucked in.

It's game over folks. This thread will be resurrected in each of the 3 matches.
Re: SET PIECE DEFENDING

It will be a problem, yes.

Set piece defending is a real problem for this team.
Both the 1st ball and the 2nd ball.
I don't know what Rohr is going to do about it but he has to do something.
We start very slowly which shows that the players have very little concentration.
Croatia will start early, take the ball to the byeline and force corner kicks and send Lovren and Mandzukic forward for the headers.
Balogun and Ekong just don't go near the ball when it comes through.
This may be a good bonus for Rohr to start Simy so that he can help out with the set pieces.
Drogba was a constant for Chelsea defending corner kicks and won many headers.

Definitely, our set piece defending has been atrocious. Good news is this is basic stuff that can be fixed on the training ground so I expect improvements especially given we've been so amateurish in defending them.

green4life wrote:Definitely, our set piece defending has been atrocious. Good news is this is basic stuff that can be fixed on the training ground so I expect improvements especially given we've been so amateurish in defending them.

You would think. But the same pattern has been repeated over and over again across multiple games. You can trust and believe our opponents know this. This is a problem that has plagued pretty much every SE squad in recent memory.

green4life wrote:Definitely, our set piece defending has been atrocious. Good news is this is basic stuff that can be fixed on the training ground so I expect improvements especially given we've been so amateurish in defending them.
That's what I though 4 years ago. Basic stuff...can be fixed. Well, it wasn't

Set piece want stop us getting out of the group......apart from Iceland....Croatia and Argentina are filled with Ghana sized players....

Scoring goals though.......

deanotito wrote:
That's what I though 4 years ago. Basic stuff...can be fixed. Well, it wasn't
Lol. Half is mental i.e., concentration or lack of focus. For instance, they should always be aware of the potential for an early short pass in lieu of a direct corner kick but our guys get caught napping time and time again. Why? I have no idea :mrgreen: ... The rest is execution. I think we mark man to man and not zonal. That's straightforward. Lastly, step out of the area after clearing the first ball. This is elementary stuff so I expect vast improvements in this area.

Enyi wrote:Set piece want stop us getting out of the group......apart from Iceland....Croatia and Argentina are filled with Ghana sized players....

You forgot that their CBs aren't midgets. All it takes is to fall asleep on one chap like Lovren and Uzoho ia picking the ball from his net

Enyi wrote:Set piece want stop us getting out of the group......apart from Iceland....Croatia and Argentina are filled with Ghana sized players....

You forgot that their CBs aren't midgets. All it takes is to fall asleep on one chap like Lovren and Uzoho ia picking the ball from his net

Argentina beat you twice (94 and 2002) with set pieces

At these point the likes of Iceland, Croatia, and Argentina won't even bother to train hard to beat us.. They will just focus their drills and time on set pieces.

vancity eagle wrote:We will chop goals at this WC via set pieces.

Wanna bet ?

We are going 3 and out. You simply cannot defend so comically at this level. Our opponents surely would have noted this by now.

We can dominate all 3 games but when you have such a weak Achilles heel as such, we aint going nowhere.

Before the Czechs scored I just texted my brother saying how we will give up goals from set pieces this WC.

It was John Ogu who lost his marker and gave him a free header on goal. Uzoho saved but the rebound was tucked in.

Glad na oyibo dey coach dem or else una go tok say he is an intellectual midget.

We are not defending it well neither are we executing it well. VicMo delivery takes forever to get there whenever he can get it over the first man. We need to work on our delivery as well as varying our execution of the corner.

On defending it. This is where video tutorial comes in handy. They can actually track every single Corner Kick they have defensed. They can be able to find out where most of the balls are delivered and position their best players (headers of the ball) in that area. Secondly, they can try one of the rudiments of defending corners, change the trajectory of the ball by placing a player short side of the ball in front of the ball and have the kicker be forced to loop the kick so as to give your defenders better chance of getting to the space and the ball. But like in Basketball, rebounding and heading the ball is a combination of positioning and desire.

The question is how do we stop the team from losing 3 games straight. The problem with this team is low football IQ
Ok this comment i made in the heat of the moment
Set piece defending should improve by the time we play against Croatia
Last edited by Robotnik on Thu Jun 07, 2018 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Iceland will definitely practice set pieces and Croatia and Argentina have the personnel to win free kicks and will more than likely win a lot of corners,I’m sure Rohr and staff are aware of their inability to defend against such threats but will they be able to stop the rot?
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Thu Jun 07, 2018 8:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Come to think of it, what is the average conversion rate for most teams on corners and how bad are we really?

Cellular wrote:Come to think of it, what is the average conversion rate for most teams on corners and how bad are we really?
https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/fan ... in-soccer/
Overall, corner kicks lead to goals about 3 percent of the time.
I will let you find the stats relevant to Naija :mrgreen:

Wanna bet ?

You’re free to support another team.
Polly

Post by Polly »

Compounding our poverty in defending set pieces is our futility in exploiting them:

Our corner kicks are haphazard; dead balls are taken at random, apparently determined by seniority of player rather than skill or practice; and the tallest players are often at the near post when we are executing a corner kick. What do we do in training?

Yes we have a problem defending set pieces no doubt. But giving up 7 corners in 17 mins is an aberration.

We have always had a problem defending them. This is nothing new. I hope we get better at it.

I just hate so called fans opening threads to say we will chop goals and are going 3 out and are coming to take bets. What manner of fan are you? Yes come in and say we have a problem, we discuss what can possibly be done to rectify in 7 days.

Miss me with the negative B.S.

#SoarSuperEagles

Wanna bet ?

You’re free to support another team.
KPOM!!!!! Nuff Said.
miky

Post by miky »

is that not how Heinze scored against us in 2010

is that not how batistuta scored against us in 2002

and now cahill in england match??

Heading is the missing link that **** us up all the time

Ok i dey go back to study!!
A lion never dies it sleeps (Rip..Foe)

An Eagle never dies it soars Rip (Big Boss)

Scipio Africanus wrote:
Cellular wrote:Come to think of it, what is the average conversion rate for most teams on corners and how bad are we really?
https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/fan ... in-soccer/
Overall, corner kicks lead to goals about 3 percent of the time.
I will let you find the stats relevant to Naija :mrgreen:
:taunt: Thanks bro.

I don't think it is that huge of a problem to be honest with you.

We have to do a better job of not giving up cheap corners.

Employ a combination of zonal marking and man marking.

The last two corner kick goals we gave up we pretty much did all the right things but the other team got to the ball. Against England, the pick worked... we have to work through those picks. And the man at the goalline has to do a better job. And Keeper has to have full command of his 6 yard box. Take heads along the way if you are going to come out. Have an element of wickedness...

Goal against the Czech Republic, we just have to clear our lines and be attentive.

The bottomline is that we gave them multiple cracks at getting their routine right.

Again, what is more worrisome was our inability to execute one decent corner kick despite our own numerous chances at it.

Thank God you are asking a good question.

How many goals have we conceded from corners or free kicks in the last 5 matches?

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."