I am not too perturbed about today's loss

[1] personally, i am not too bothered about the loss today. We played at a very slow tempo, which for me is understandable as the players do not want to pick up injuries
[2] We also did not challenge for enough 50:50 balls in midfield, also not to pick up injuries
[3] I also noticed that Balogun plated on the right of the defence and Ekong on the left. This is the first time they have switched and it appeared to work better
[4] We held on to the ball a lot better than we did at Wembley, primarily due to the return of Ndidi
[5] We just had two problems in this game - Our fullbacks and our creative midfield
[6] What Gernot Rohr loves in Shehu Abdullahi is beyond me,. Ebuehi is two classes above him
[7] Bryan Idowu is right footed so cannot cross with his left foot. Echiejile is a total liability who cannot cross the ball to save his life. Ola Aina is right footed, so is not an option either. Our only option is to play Joel Obi as leftback. Even a blind person can see that. It is sheer madness that Joel has not been played in that role. Some dumb people are claiming he has not played there before but hey, John Ogu has never played as a centreback but Rohr has used him there in two matches and he has equipped himself well.
[8] In midfield, I also do not understand why Iwobi was playing so deep today. We need him playmaking behind the front three
[9] We lose the ball in midfield when we do not have Mikel and Ndidi shielding the back four. Some dumb people want Mikel playmaking but anyone who knows anything about top flight football will know that possession is key. We need that duo in front of the defence so we can retain possession
[10] If we play this way, at a fast tempo, we should be fine:

**********************************************Ighalo***********************************************

************************Moses**********************************Iheanacho***********************

***************************************************Iwobi*******************************************

**********************************Mikel**************************Ndidi****************************

***Joel******************Ekong*************************Balogun*********************Ebuehi***

**************************************************Uzoho*******************************************
Re: I am not too perturbed about today's loss

Iwobi must be close to our main striker. “Must” he is the best finisher behind Iheanacho and must be close to goal.
nko

Post by nko »

Ayo: I agree with most of your views. However Moses is not inspiring at the moment and Ighalo, for whatever reason, is not giving us the cutting edge. I will bring in Musa in place of Moses and Simi for Ighalo.
nko

Post by nko »

**********************************************Simi***********************************************

************************Musa**********************************Iheanacho***********************

***************************************************Iwobi*******************************************

**********************************Mikel**************************Ndidi****************************

***Joel******************Ekong*************************Balogun*********************Ebuehi***

**************************************************Uzoho*******************************************

Joel at left wing back in a 3-5-2 is risky but i can understand that suggestion
however one has to be incredibly and unbelievably stupid to suggest Joel at Left back in a flat back 4

Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] personally, i am not too bothered about the loss today. We played at a very slow tempo, which for me is understandable as the players do not want to pick up injuries
[2] We also did not challenge for enough 50:50 balls in midfield, also not to pick up injuries
[3] I also noticed that Balogun plated on the right of the defence and Ekong on the left. This is the first time they have switched and it appeared to work better
[4] We held on to the ball a lot better than we did at Wembley, primarily due to the return of Ndidi
[5] We just had two problems in this game - Our fullbacks and our creative midfield
[6] What Gernot Rohr loves in Shehu Abdullahi is beyond me,. Ebuehi is two classes above him
[7] Bryan Idowu is right footed so cannot cross with his left foot. Echiejile is a total liability who cannot cross the ball to save his life. Ola Aina is right footed, so is not an option either. Our only option is to play Joel Obi as leftback. Even a blind person can see that. It is sheer madness that Joel has not been played in that role. Some dumb people are claiming he has not played there before but hey, John Ogu has never played as a centreback but Rohr has used him there in two matches and he has equipped himself well.
[8] In midfield, I also do not understand why Iwobi was playing so deep today. We need him playmaking behind the front three
[9] We lose the ball in midfield when we do not have Mikel and Ndidi shielding the back four. Some dumb people want Mikel playmaking but anyone who knows anything about top flight football will know that possession is key. We need that duo in front of the defence so we can retain possession

**********************************************Ighalo***********************************************

************************Moses**********************************Iheanacho***********************

I remember the last time a blind person saw was whether Ozaze was a midfielder or a striker?

smartbrother wrote:Joel at left wing back in a 3-5-2 is risky but i can understand that suggestion
however one has to be incredibly and unbelievably stupid to suggest Joel at Left back in a flat back 4
What Ayo doesn't understand is the WC is not a place you start making such move without trying it out first. You might as well give us a new coach now at this late stage
TheTactician

Post by TheTactician »

------------------------Uzoho-----------------------
----------Ekong--------Leon--------Kenneth------
-Ebuehi-----------------------------------------Moses--
----------------Mikel--------------Ndidi-----------------
-----------------------Iwobi-----------------------------
------------Kele------------------Simy------------------

I agree with Ayo on this one...

born2win

Post by born2win »

Ayo Akinfe wrote:[1] personally, i am not too bothered about the loss today. We played at a very slow tempo, which for me is understandable as the players do not want to pick up injuries

If I was Rohr I would be very worried because we might end up with only 1 pt from a draw and 2 losses.

This team is very easy to beat even Congolese coach said it. The team is not good enough.

2 many defensive players that have no attacking edge.

Non scoring attackers like ighalo.

You will soon be perturbed by a loss to Iceland at the WC. Then peoples eye will open

I remember the last time a blind person saw was whether Ozaze was a midfielder or a striker?
You dey mind am! Joel Obi that they should have decamped if not for agency business! Did nothing in all the friendlies.

Joel Obi is Ayo Akinfe's new flavour of the month.
It was Juwon Oshaniwa once and recently Kelechi Nwakali.
Joel Obi! :lol: :lol:

Ayo, on paper, the formation looks and sounds great but u have just nullified Moses and Kelechi neither of those two are support strikers.......

Joel Obi left back......4 yrs ago yes, Torino tried it once and stopped, he was yanked in n the first half or early second he does not have to pace or anticipation to play there anymore.

Also why Rohr plays Mikel higher up on is that he can get 2 able bodied players behind because even though he is the most intelligent player on the pitch, his turnover is high....if he loses the ball, ur straight to the CBs....he will be a liability there. He plays AM/CM in China

Goldleaf wrote:Joel Obi is Ayo Akinfe's new flavour of the month.
It was Juwon Oshaniwa once and recently Kelechi Nwakali.
Joel Obi! :lol: :lol:
You forgot RABIU Ibrahim? :taunt:

Then Lukman Haruna.

There was also one useless defender forgot the name now :taunt:

I am seeing signs that Naija will easily win their group