Croatia will struggle against Nigeria

Despite a shambolic first half against England and questions around set-pice defending, Nigeria defensive solidity will make life very difficult for Croatia.

Expect Nigeria to continue with the line-up that started against Czech Republic, with Ndidi, Mikel and Iwobi tasked with clogging the midfield and giving Modric and his partners few passing lanes, even if the Croats will keep hold of the ball most of the time.

Key to the game will be the width of the wing-backs. There’s joy to be had in Croatia’s wide areas. Rohr is likely to persist with Shehu over Ebuehi. Either one will be a handful for Croatia’s slow back line.

The big question will be how effective Moses will be in a free role behind a battling Ighalo. Can he get close enough to his defacto strike partner and find his shooting boots to covert the opportunities that come his way.

The other question will be whether or not Nigeria decide to press high. My hunch says not despite how susceptible Croatia are to the press. I suspect Rohr will opt to hang back and play on the counter.

What could go wrong doe Nigeria? Lots. Failure to sort themselves out at set pieces. Too much of the ball winnign falling to Ndidi. Wing backs getting caught out of position. And fate.

For what it’s worth, I’d have Etebo start in the middle, Moses as one of the wing backs and Iwobi behind Ighalo. But Rohr has his game plan and I think it’ll do very well agiant a technically excellence, but slow Croatian team, unlikely to cope with Nigeria’s speed and variety.
Last edited by waka-man on Fri Jun 08, 2018 9:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Croatia will struggle against Nigeria

The key to Nigeria victory.

1. Start fast
2. Play solid defense, wing backs got to be good to cut off the wing play. Nigeria must step up, don't fall back.
3. Reduce set piece opportunities. Clear the lines, no 2nd chances on set pieces.
4. Quick transition form defense to offense.
5. We must use our speed and strength
6. Play smart, no errors.

waka-man wrote:
For what it’s worth, I’d have Etebo start in the middle, Moses and one of the wing backs and Iwobi behind Ighalo. But Rohr has his game plan and I think it’ll do very well agiant a technically excellence, but slow Croatian team, unlikely to cope with Nigeria’s speed and variety.
To me this is the very obvious thing to do. A midfield 3 of Etebo and Ndidi behind Mikel. Except I'd have Iheanacho instead of Ighalo.

The remaining possible changes (Omeruo instead of Ogu or evem Tyrone instead of Shehu) won't make or break us.

Croatia will deploy Royal Academy of Dramatic Arts methods to get decisions against us.

We need an equal amount of trickery and aggressiveness in good measure to deal with them. They appear prepared physically.

Our boys need to shift from this their butter butter disposition to jam body well well.

They will suffer...

I THINK NIGERIA WILL PLAY BETTER, BUT...

...it won't be a total shock if they don't make it out of the group. The first half vs England, and the whole Czech game doesn't give me a lot of hope. I don't consider England a great team but Nigeria adopted a defensive scheme that left England players ample room to complete passes. And it looks like the M/F cannot supply the ball to lone striker Ighalo. In fact, no dept (goalkeeping, defense, M/F, attack) can be considered a strength. That's not to say they won't make it to the next round though. One thing we can all be happy about is that Nigeria is looking better organizing itself off the field - it will bode well for the future.

We go defit dem, dat's all.

We'll beat Croatia. Its the kind of match our boys come out for. Plus, we'll be well prepared. Counting down.

waka-man has spoken!!!

waka-man wrote:Despite a shambolic first half against England and questions around set-pice defending, Nigeria defensive solidity will make life very difficult for Croatia.

Expect Nigeria to continue with the line-up that started against Czech Republic, with Ndidi, Mikel and Iwobi tasked with clogging the midfield and giving Modric and his partners few passing lanes, even if the Croats will keep hold of the ball most of the time.

Key to the game will be the width of the wing-backs. There’s joy to be had in Croatia’s wide areas. Rohr is likely to persist with Shehu over Ebuehi. Either one will be a handful for Croatia’s slow back line.

The big question will be how effective Moses will be in a free role behind a battling Ighalo. Can he get close enough to his defacto strike partner and find his shooting boots to covert the opportunities that come his way.

The other question will be whether or not Nigeria decide to press high. My hunch says not despite how susceptible Croatia are to the press. I suspect Rohr will opt to hang back and play on the counter.

What could go wrong doe Nigeria? Lots. Failure to sort themselves out at set pieces. Too much of the ball winnign falling to Ndidi. Wing backs getting caught out of position. And fate.

For what it’s worth, I’d have Etebo start in the middle, Moses as one of the wing backs and Iwobi behind Ighalo. But Rohr has his game plan and I think it’ll do very well agiant a technically ex
cellence, but slow Croatian team, unlikely to cope with Nigeria’s speed and variety.

This is what I call good analysis.. unfortunately,we have to read 100 junk threads before we get to it. :thumb:

That Kramaric dude for Croatia is deadly, with a stinging shot in both feet. Also very good on the ball, almost like an Argie player. Hm, e go hard o.

The key, concentration, concentration, concentration...

We need to go with 3-5-2. Have the extra man in the middle and keep things compact. We break up play and move the walls to either flank quickly.

Ebuehi plays and Victor Moses should be the other wing back (Brian needs to sit this one out). Ndidi and Ogu should sit in the middle and Mikel play in the hole, Iwobi and Nacho should attack from the left and right.

Mr Shows wrote:The key, concentration, concentration, concentration...

We need to go with 3-5-2. Have the extra man in the middle and keep things compact. We break up play and move the walls to either flank quickly.

Ebuehi plays and Victor Moses should be the other wing back (Brian needs to sit this one out). Ndidi and Ogu should sit in the middle and Mikel play in the hole, Iwobi and Nacho should attack from the left and right.
Sorry but Ogu needs to sit this one out for Etebo.

This kind of match is made for Etebos hustle. Ogu will be a passenger in this type of match.

If we are going to play 3-5-2

Uzoho
Balogun, Ekong, Omeruo or Awaziem
Ebuehi, Mikel, Iwobi, Ndidi, V Moses
Ighalo, Iheanacho

Defensive midfielders will cover the full backs when they push forward. Ndidi will drop in between the central defenders when we are defending in our own half.

On attack, one wing back will be allowed to join the attack. The other wing back will have to stay back. Iwobi and Iheanacho will have a free role. Ighalo must stay upfront, no drifting wide. Ndidi and Mikel can pick their spots. But one must stay back if one attacks. Wing backs must be disciplined. This is why Shehu must be on the bench. He is not a disciplined wing back. I saw him drift out of position several times against Czech Republic. If we are tactically disciplined. We will beat Croatia.

Both teams will struggle but I think Nigeria can win. Next Sat at 1 PM
born2win

Post by born2win »

You cannot beat Serbia or Czech but somehow want to beat Croatia

Your hope is on Chinese league midfielder while Croatia have no 10 of Real Madrid and you are there boasting

Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona), Mateo Kovacic (Real Madrid), Milan Badelj (Fiorentina), Marcelo Brozovic (Inter

Mario Mandzukic (Juventus), Ivan Perisic (Inter Milan), Nikola Kalinic (AC Milan

Names don’t play football but for these are Champions league players

YUJAM wrote:Both teams will struggle but I think Nigeria can win. Next Sat at 1 PM
My day off

:thumbs: :thumbs:

born2win wrote:You cannot beat Serbia or Czech but somehow want to beat Croatia

Your hope is on Chinese league midfielder while Croatia have no 10 of Real Madrid and you are there boasting

Luka Modric (Real Madrid), Ivan Rakitic (Barcelona), Mateo Kovacic (Real Madrid), Milan Badelj (Fiorentina), Marcelo Brozovic (Inter

Mario Mandzukic (Juventus), Ivan Perisic (Inter Milan), Nikola Kalinic (AC Milan

I would rather win a world cup game than beat Serbia and Czech republic in a friendly

I guess you have selective amnesia when it comes to Nigeria victories over Poland and Argentina.

born2win wrote:You cannot beat Serbia or Czech but somehow want to beat Croatia

I hope you will have the decency to come back here and admit you were wrong,
when the SE beat Croatia. Until then, you can name all the Croat players on big
clubs to your satisfaction.

We have to work on passing out of the press and also pressing teams in the opposition half. Also we are too slow in our build up right now.

Sorry but Ogu needs to sit this one out for Etebo.

This kind of match is made for Etebos hustle. Ogu will be a passenger in this type of match.
Etebo comes on to replace a tiring Mikel to sustain momentum. Ogu will provide defensive cover as Ndidi pushes up, both of them can shoot from long range. Ogu keeps things simple, instead of Onazi, he starts for me
ayohoff

Post by ayohoff »

Ezenwa

Omeruo*******Ekong**********Balogun

Ndidi

Moses *****************************Mikel**********************Idowu

Etebo Iwobi

Ighalo/Ihenacho
great goal!