Nigeria's World Cup Final...

In my considered opinion, Nigeria's world cup will come down to Kaliningrad on June 16. For me, given the schedule of games, the loser goes home; period....

The biggest tactical question Nigeria will face in this game in particular and in the world cup in general, will be how to play within limited space and time.

Nigeria's world cup will be defined by possession. But not in absolute numbers, rather the efficiency of possession, when she has the ball, and the organization in the non-possession phase when/if the opponent has controlled possession...
Read More at...
https://africanfutbol.blogspot.com/
Last edited by txj on Sun Jun 10, 2018 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Re: Nigeria's World Cup Final...

In my considered opinion, Nigeria's world cup will come down to Kaliningrad on June 6. For me, given the schedule of games, the loser goes home; period....

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

This is why I see an almighty 'gunfight' in central midfield at the Arena Baltika, and everybody better come with their weapons, fully loaded, with intent to execute, with neither malice nor charity, and no prisoners taken!!!

Bia, this is not allowed.

You have to add a snippet of what the link is about.

There's a quiet confidence within the Croatian camp that it would be a big mistake for Nigeria to high press in midfield, and that with elite midfielders in Modric, Rakitic, Brozovic and Kovacic, they possess the experience and craft to easily play through the first line of Nigerian high press by slowing the tempo and 'boxing' the Super Eagles, before switching to undefended zones and then unbalance Nigeria in defence, with quick through balls behind the fullbacks, or in the space on either side of central defence.

In my considered opinion, Nigeria's world cup will come down to Kaliningrad on June 6. For me, given the schedule of games, the loser goes home; period....

The biggest tactical question Nigeria will face in this game in particular and in the world cup in general, will be how to play within limited space and time.

Nigeria's world cup will be defined by possession. But not in absolute numbers, rather the efficiency of possession, when she has the ball, and the organization in the non-possession phase when/if the opponent has controlled possession...
Read More at...
What sort of crap is this? What game did Nigeria play on June 6. No br by force abeg.

In my considered opinion, Nigeria's world cup will come down to Kaliningrad on June 16. For me, given the schedule of games, the loser goes home; period....

Read More at...
Pretty good article. Not your typical pessimistic (realistic...in your opinion) piece. :P

Would seriously consider Musa in place of Ighalo vs Croatia

We no need all these WAEC!

Historically, every time we collect at least 1 point from first match, we make it to the knockout round!

Lets win and pray 0-0 draw between Argentina and Iceland.

Heck, in WC 2010, we could have made it to the next round with just 3 points if Yak just scored that goal!

Cmoke :D :D :D

Read More at...

Pretty good article. Not your typical pessimistic (realistic...in your opinion) piece. :P

Are you sure :biggrin:
The key question is, given everything said, can this Nigeria team beat Croatia? The simple answer is that given the vulnerabilities in the Croatian defense, Nigeria will get opportunities and can beat the Croats. But there is little doubt in my mind that Croatia will start with some clear advantages over Nigeria in both playing personnel and team structures. Overall a lot for Nigeria will depend on how well Rohr calibrates his tactics and the maximum concentration of the players.

As expected, Modric takes a nominal deep role. But do not be fooled by it...

txj wrote:Would seriously consider Musa in place of Ighalo vs Croatia
Would love to see that as well.

His pace will bother them.

They will switch from 4-2-3-1 to a 4-4-2, and I suspect, use Kramaric to overload central MF in the 2nd build up stage and in the wide areas subsequently, most probably on their left...

IMO, Croatia starts with a clear edge over Nigeria.

For us it will come down to getting the balance right and the maximum concentration of the players. There are vulnerabilities out there that we have the qualities to take advantage of...
Last edited by txj on Mon Jun 11, 2018 8:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I take the view that Nigeria can high press Croatia, but it needs to be situational. I'm convinced our first press will get there, its the second line I'm more worried about...

txj wrote:Would seriously consider Musa in place of Ighalo vs Croatia
Would love to see that as well.

His pace will bother them.

True, but it also allows us drop Mikel a little bit lower...

I have already concluded that we have lost this game.

Iceland should put us back on track.

I remember in 2014 and all the talk about how Dzeko and pjanic we're 3 levels ahaead of onazi only for babatunde to show dem pepper. A lot of the people talking now are the same yanning dust including txj. :laugh:

Robotnik wrote:I have already concluded that we have lost this game.

:oops:

A shame Simon Moses isn't available but Musa, playing behind a striker - Ighalo or more interestingly Simy, could work just as well.

I expect Nigeria to start in 3-5-2 and defend in a low block although I don't think they'd need to/should do. There's cause and opportunity for Rohr to be daring in his starting lineup, but he's a conservative guy - to dare isn't his default setting.

:oops:
https://go.footballpredictions.com/bwin.php

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=je8Ki0ZBhlQ

The YeyeMan wrote:A shame Simon Moses isn't available but Musa, playing behind a striker - Ighalo or more interestingly Simy, could work just as well.

I expect Nigeria to start in 3-5-2 and defend in a low block although I don't think they'd need to/should do. There's cause and opportunity for Rohr to be daring in his starting lineup, but he's a conservative guy - to dare isn't his default setting.

He can also play Moses on the right to help control Perisic.

Its really simple for me, tactically speaking that is. We control them in central MF, be concentrated in defence and we win the game...