Page 1 of 2

NIGERIA 6 vs GAMBIA 0

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:54 am
by Gotti
Nigeria's Super Falcons on Monday completed a 7-0 aggregate win over Gambia (1-0 away in Banjul and 6-0 in Lagos) to qualify for November's African Women's Cup of Nations in Ghana, where three tickets to the France 2019 WWC will be up for grabs.

Apart from hosts Ghana and Nigeria, the other 6 teams that have qualified to complete the 8-team AWC tournament are:

Algeria;
Cameroon;
Equatorial Guinea;
South Africa;
Mali; and
Zambia.

Re: NIGERIA 6 vs GAMBIA 0

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:00 am
by Gotti

Pictures courtesy of Super Falcons' Twitter Page

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:04 am
by YUJAM
We are getting there. Slowly and maybe painfully but surely

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:08 am
by Gotti
YUJAM wrote:We are getting there. Slowly and maybe painfully but surely
Yep! The entire continent seems to be improving on the female side... :clap:

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:10 am
by Gotti

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:17 am
by Odas
Gotti wrote:Nigeria's Super Falcons on Monday completed a 7-0 aggregate win over Gambia (1-0 away in Banjul and 6-0 in Lagos) to qualify for November's African Women's Cup of Nations in Ghana, where three tickets to the France 2019 WWC will be up for grabs.

Apart from hosts Ghana and Nigeria, the other 6 teams that have qualified to complete the 8-team AWC tournament are:

Algeria;
Cameroon;
Equatorial Guinea;
South Africa;
Mali; and
Zambia.
When are we going to start doing well outside the continent? For me, there is nothing else for us to win in Africa

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:39 am
by Bell
QUESTIONS

-What stadium is that? (Looks good, at least the part shown.)
-Is that turf or grass? (With ample rain, Lagos should never have turf)
-Did the Nigerian foreign legion take part?
-Is the foreign coach (he of the France debacle) still there?

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 6:48 am
by Bell
Gotti wrote:Nigeria's Super Falcons on Monday completed a 7-0 aggregate win over Gambia (1-0 away in Banjul and 6-0 in Lagos) to qualify for November's African Women's Cup of Nations in Ghana, where three tickets to the France 2019 WWC will be up for grabs.

Algeria;
Cameroon;
Equatorial Guinea;
South Africa;
Mali; and
Zambia.
When are we going to start doing well outside the continent? For me, there is nothing else for us to win in Africa

CORRECT

They should look beyond Africa and think seriously of challenging the current world powers which would be a nice surprise since those running things in Nigeria are not used to setting anything but modest goals.

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:28 am
by pajimoh
dem don misspell "YUJAMM" :taunt: :tic:

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:32 am
by Benedict Iroha
Bell wrote:QUESTIONS

Probably Onikan Stadium.

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:35 am
by Gotti

Agege Stadium
Sadly, turf. However, Teslim Balogun will be renovated and re-grassed this FY.
Yes. Apart from the GK, I believe all other starters were FB. 1 sub was HB.
Still there! :D

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:36 am
by Gotti
Benedict Iroha wrote: Probably Onikan Stadium.
Onikan has been demolished and is currently being rebuilt as an all-covered multipurpose arena...

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:47 am
by jette1

Agege Stadium
Sadly, turf. However, Teslim Balogun will be renovated and re-grassed this FY.
Yes. Apart from the GK, I believe all other starters were FB. 1 sub was HB.
Still there! :D
i see fine girl odega for inside that dance =that means foreign region join but we never going to challenge france or usa playing gambia day in day out

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 7:59 am
by Gotti
jette1 wrote:i see fine girl odega for inside that dance =that means foreign region join but we never going to challenge france or usa playing gambia day in day out
Actually, it turns out that even the GK is foreign based (plays in Norway)...
But Amarachi Okoronkwo is no longer in Finland but is now at Nasarawa, so still 1 HB starter.

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:44 am
by oloye
A country with no value for history...why destroy Onikan stadium...why?

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 8:55 am
by pajimoh
oloye wrote:A country with no value for history...why destroy Onikan stadium...why?
Egbon mi, Wembley got pulled down. White Hart Lane got pulled down. With stadiums, the history is in the memories. The technology and designs are so sophisticated now, one cannot just keep renovating old designs

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:28 am
by theYemster
Do they not get to wear the new Nike kits?

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:35 am
by wanaj0
oloye wrote:A country with no value for history...why destroy Onikan stadium...why?
Haba!!!!!

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:44 am
by oloye
Egbon mi, Wembley got pulled down. White Hart Lane got pulled down. With stadiums, the history is in the memories. The technology and designs are so sophisticated now, one cannot just keep renovating old designs
Wembley was rebuilt nor be so and I believe the same for White Hart lane.
I suppose using the word destroy was over the top....but I deliberately used the word in the light of what Gotti revealed. The place has been demolished a a multi-purpose hall is being built. The destruction implied is the history...a new stadium would not have seen me complain.....a hall....I don't know, something tells me the hall would witness more owambe and other social and religious activities than the game of football. That is where am coming from.

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:52 am
by pajimoh
Wembley was rebuilt nor be so
Yes o and according to Gotti, Onikan is also being rebuilt as a multi-purpose sports arena.

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 9:57 am
by pajimoh
Wembley was rebuilt nor be so and I believe the same for White Hart lane.
I suppose using the word destroy was over the top....but I deliberately used the word in the light of what Gotti revealed. The place has been demolished a a multi-purpose hall is being built. The destruction implied is the history...a new stadium would not have seen me complain.....a hall....I don't know, something tells me the hall would witness more owambe and other social and religious activities than the game of football. That is where am coming from.
It would be nice to see the new design of the proposed structure. I know in the US, new stadiums replace old ones. As long as Onikan stadium is not being replaced with a shopping mall or something. We just have to see what is going to replace the old stadium

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:03 am
by Gotti
oloye wrote:Wembley was rebuilt nor be so and I believe the same for White Hart lane.
It will remain first and foremost a football stadium...
But the concept is to also be able host other events/concerts there.

Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 10:34 am
by FATHER TIKO
oloye wrote:Wembley was rebuilt nor be so and I believe the same for White Hart lane.
It will remain first and foremost a football stadium...
But the concept is to also be able host other events/concerts there.
Gotti, "first and foremost a stadium..."
You want bet? Na church events & political rallies go monopolise the venue...