Page 2 of 2

Re: The Super Eagles' biggest fan ... is Japanese?

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:52 am
by bret- hart
Of topic has anyone else noticed that Japanese names sound similar to some Nigerian names?

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:17 am
by TonyTheTigerKiller
Cally wrote:Its amazing that 2 key ambassadors of Nigerian football account for many many non-Nigerian fans of the SE. Jayjay and Kanu Nwankwo have won so many hearts for Nigeria.

Overall, like someone posted here already, the SE account for such great PR for Nigeria as a nation. Its just lovely.
They deserve national honours.
I can't readily think of any individuals that have positively projected the name of Nigeria more.
Let me think......
Maybe Fela, but then again.... :?
Did Fela ever get national honors :?: :!:

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:35 am
by ohsee
Met a Brazilian teenager in Curitiba in 2014 on the way to the stadium who was wearing a Naija jersey, which he bought for US$110, big money for a Brazilian teen. He told me his father made him an Eagles fan, and his father had been following Nigeria since they beat Brazil in Atlanta. He knew the names of all the players and where they played club football--the kid was more of a Naija fan than me.

But this was not unusual in Curitiba, a city that had adopted the Eagles--the groupies at the Radisson Hotel where they were staying were vociferous in support, and in the stadium which was full, the majority of spectators were Brazilians supporting the Eagles (until they started to mess up against Iran). Kanu and Amokachi were at the Radisson too, and when they stepped out of the hotel, the roar that went up from the fans was unbelievable. I would have thought Brazilians would boo the two players that sunk them in that 1996 Olympic semi final, but no, the fans loved them.

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 3:47 am
by Tbite
bret- hart wrote:Of topic has anyone else noticed that Japanese names sound similar to some Nigerian names?
We have discussed it many times here.

In rant and rave and eagles neat

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 4:19 am
by Kabalega
Tbite wrote:
bret- hart wrote:Of topic has anyone else noticed that Japanese names sound similar to some Nigerian names?
We have discussed it many times here.

In rant and rave and eagles neat
Kampala sounds Japanese... or 9ja?

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 5:02 am
by mastermind
I met lots of Japanese that love super Eagles.