U.S. counterspy warns World Cup travelers' devices could be

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-usa- ... SKBN1J82YX

Exclusive: U.S. counterspy warns World Cup travelers' devices could be hacked
Reuters Staff

3 MIN READ

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The top U.S. counterintelligence official is advising Americans traveling to Russia for football’s World Cup beginning this week that they should not take electronic devices because they are likely to be hacked by criminals or the Russian government.

Soccer Football - World Cup - Sochi, Russia - June 12, 2018 General view of a World Cup sign in Sochi REUTERS/Hannah McKay
In a statement to Reuters on Tuesday, William Evanina, an FBI agent and the director of the U.S. National Counterintelligence and Security Center, warned World Cup travelers that even if they think they are insignificant, hackers could still target them.

“If you’re planning on taking a mobile phone, laptop, PDA, or other electronic device with you - make no mistake - any data on those devices (especially your personally identifiable information) may be accessed by the Russian government or cyber criminals,” he said.

“Corporate and government officials are most at risk, but don’t assume you’re too insignificant to be targeted,” Evanina added. “If you can do without the device, don’t take it. If you must take one, take a different device from your usual one and remove the battery when not in use.”
achuzia-the-air-raid
Re: U.S. counterspy warns World Cup travelers' devices could

Post by achuzia-the-air-raid »

Abeg make dem carry this their false alert dey go. :arrow:
Then they said to one another, “We are truly guilty concerning our brother, for we saw the anguish of his soul when he pleaded with us, and we would not hear; therefore this distress has come upon us.” Genesis 42:21

“A doubtful friend is worse than a certain enemy. Let a man be one thing or the other, and we then know how to meet him” (Aesop, 620–564 BC).

Ewu,

It is no secret that the FanID contains a tracking device allowing Russia to even know where u sit in case palava start for stadium.

achuzia-the-air-raid wrote:Abeg make dem carry this their false alert dey go. :arrow:
Bestplayer

Post by Bestplayer »

Cmoke wrote:Ewu,

It is no secret that the FanID contains a tracking device allowing Russia to even know where u sit in case palava start for stadium.

achuzia-the-air-raid wrote:Abeg make dem carry this their false alert dey go. :arrow:
Is that a good thing or bad thing? I'm glad they've taken such measures in case some of these crazies try to start something. In fact, that is the big elephant in the room and no one is talking about it. I hope this world cup goes smoothly without incidents. Remember the attack during an international match in France?.... :idea:

Well. I bet the FanID tracks you all over Russia.

Dat one na good thing?

Cmoke :D :D :D :D
Bestplayer wrote:
Cmoke wrote:Ewu,

Is that a good thing or bad thing? I'm glad they've taken such measures in case some of these crazies try to start something. In fact, that is the big elephant in the room and no one is talking about it. I hope this world cup goes smoothly without incidents. Remember the attack during an international match in France?.... :idea: