Page 1 of 2

Award of World cup not even in US sport media news

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:59 pm
by Oguleftie
Of the many national US sports media TV outlets only BEIN sports talked about the 2026 award.
And if you are looking at other conventional national news outlets you could as well forget about it.

Re: Award of World cup not even in US sport media news

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:00 pm
by kalani JR
NYT just had a bts on the process.

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:18 pm
by Oguleftie
kalani JR wrote:NYT just had a bts on the process.
Yep!
And at least today being the day FIFA broke the news you would expect it covered all over.
Shows you the general lip service on soccer.

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:27 pm
by Odas
Oguleftie wrote: Of the many national US sports media TV outlets only BEIN sports talked about the 2026 award.
And if you are looking at other conventional national news outlets you could as well forget about it.
That is NOT true. Before I left this morning, FOX, NBC, CBS and ABC all were reporting or reported it. Those were the channels I briefly checked as I was leaving

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:35 pm
by kalani JR
Oguleftie wrote:
kalani JR wrote:NYT just had a bts on the process.
Yep!
And at least today being the day FIFA broke the news you would expect it covered all over.
Shows you the general lip service on soccer.
There has been more stuff, even Trump tweeted about it.

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:38 pm
by anikulapo
Oguleftie wrote:Of the many national US sports media TV outlets only BEIN sports talked about the 2026 award.

Dude are you serious? Looks like you just checked in ya local newspaper :taunt:

Posted: Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:41 pm
by goke313
:lol: blatant lies
The news was breaking interrupted FS1's "First Things First" and ESPN's morning show. There's threads on US based hip hop forums, fashion, sneaker forums I follow too.

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:22 am
by mcal
...nope, every news outlet, national, local, cable and broadcast news all said something. Though that ends today, news come and go in America, and soccer is not something hung around too long.

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:48 am
by Cito
You cant make this ish up....

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 12:51 am
by Kabalega
Cito wrote:You cant make this ish up....

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:12 am
by nanijoe
Meanwhile I’m watching sports center the day before the World Cup and they are talking about Kyrie Irving’s contract

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:28 am
by kalani JR
nanijoe wrote:Meanwhile I’m watching sports center the day before the World Cup and they are talking about Kyrie Irving’s contract
Them not having the rights and USA not being there has something to do with it.

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:30 am
by anikulapo
nanijoe wrote:Meanwhile I’m watching sports center the day before the World Cup and they are talking about Kyrie Irving’s contract
Abeg help me tell am ohhh plus what’s the big deal about something eight years away

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:30 am
by nanijoe
Probably true...coverage last WC was awesome

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 1:32 am
by kalani JR
Abeg help me tell am ohhh plus what’s the big deal about something eight years away
NJ is talking about this year's cup i think.

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:00 am
by Odas
Okay, here is a question for the experts to answer for me. Please see below:

With three nations (CANADA, MEXICO and USA) as hosts for the 2026 FIFA World cup, which among the three nations will "automatically" qualify for the tournament, or will all three qualify? Just wondering

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:02 am
by ElHadary
Odas wrote:Okay, here is a question for the experts to answer for me. Please see below:

With three nations (CANADA, MEXICO and USA) as host nations, which among the three will automatically qualify for the tournament, or will all three nations qualify? Just wondering
Great question.

When Japan and South Korea co-hosted both of them automatically made it in.

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:03 am
by kalani JR
Odas wrote:Okay, here is a question for the experts to answer for me. Please see below:

With three nations (CANADA, MEXICO and USA) as host nations, which among the three will automatically qualify for the tournament, or will all three nations qualify? Just wondering
All three plus three more CONCACAF nations.

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:05 am
by Enugu II
goke313 wrote::lol: blatant lies
The news was breaking interrupted FS1's "First Things First" and ESPN's morning show. There's threads on US based hip hop forums, fashion, sneaker forums I follow too.
I was about to say. I heard it on ESPN and it interrupted ESPN regularly scheduled program (Mike Greenberg's show with Jalen Rose, etc). Several local stations are covering it as well as the opening of the World Cup even when they have no media rights to the event. I am invited on one of the local TV shows for the opening day tomorrow. Thus, I am not sure that one can truly state that the event had been ignored.

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:06 am
by Odas

Really? Wow!

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:09 am
by Enugu II

Really? Wow!
Actually, Infantino stated all three will make it (taking from normal CONCACAF berths) and there is precedence from 2002 with S/Korea and Japan. However, FIFA later pulled this back stating that the official decision will be taken at a later FIFA meeting. In any case, it isn't a big deal noting that USA and Mexico are perennial qualifiers (except USA did not make it this year in an aberrant year for them).

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:17 am
by Tbite
It is actually not bad at all.

Mexico and USA ordinarily qualify. Then you have four more countries (including Canada).

The others possibly being Honduras, Panama and Costa Rica?

but remember this is a 48 team World Cup!

Africa's allocation rises from 16% to 19% approximately

Concacaf rises from 11% to 13% approximately.

Posted: Thu Jun 14, 2018 2:20 am
by Odas

Really? Wow!
Actually, Infantino stated all three will make it (taking from normal CONCACAF berths) and there is precedence from 2002 with S/Korea and Japan. However, FIFA later pulled this back stating that the official decision will be taken at a later FIFA meeting. In any case, it isn't a big deal noting that USA and Mexico are perennial qualifiers (except USA did not make it this year in an aberrant year for them).
Thanks to everyone who answered my question and with promptness. Special thanks to - Chief Enugu II - for the expanded or detailed answer to the question