Page 2 of 3

Re: I am angry with Egypt

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:48 pm
by Odas
Prince wrote:
Goldleaf wrote:It's just the same old story.
Egypt showed them far too much respect.
I just hope we don't show Croatia any respect tomorrow.
If they score early we will beat them and if we score early we will also beat them
... and in all, we WILL beat them :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:50 pm
by joao
Many of these lamentations are expected whenever any of our teams lose.
Egypt put up a good game, even with a loss. The match was clearly one of
a good attack versus a good defense.
Only 'know-it-all's can find fault with Egypt's overall showing. The team has
nothing to be ashamed of. Better luck to them next game.

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:57 pm
by Scipio Africanus
joao wrote:Many of these lamentations are expected whenever any of our teams lose.
Kpom! :clap: :clap: :clap:

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 3:57 pm
by akamoke
I think Egypt can bet Russia, they just have to stay focused, if they dont, then I can say they have been a major dissapointment

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:00 pm
by kolinzo
kolinzo wrote:
KB wrote:Africa does not have 5 world class NTs to send to the WC, therefore it will always be the same story in every WC tournament. We are not learning!
Someone with better opinion. Thank you man! :thumb: :thumb:
You guys autophobia is on a different level.

Let's see how other teams do without one of the best players in the world.

They held their own against a good Uruguay team who qualified easily for the World Cup. First time in a long time that this same Uruguay team qualified with ease.
Mr. Cellular, "let's see" will not cut it this time. Winning the world cup requires advanced science. I have long come to the conclusion that there is no way an African team will win the WC (well unless they use mercenaries from Europe). There will be flashes here and there, and that's about it.

I no longer watch SE's games with my heart. I do with my brain. A team parading Mikel Obi as a starter is not a serious team. We are in trouble.
That will be a challenge. :taunt:
I'm rarely wrong on this site. I will bring this up to tell you I told you so. But of course the usual opaks yarners will come with the usual phrase "a broken clock is right twice a day."

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:02 pm
by Heliopolis
We didn't show them much respect. This game is typical of how we've performed the last 3 years or so. Tight at the back and nothing on the attack except for Salah. I said going into the tournament goals would be hard to come by whether Salah plays or not. We'll struggle to score against Russia and Saudi, both of whom are crappy.

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:32 pm
by theYemster
Bigpokey24 wrote:this match vex me so much ..Oya make Morroco beat that yeye Iran
Morocco needs to win that game possibly by a comfortable margin but I won't be surprised if that ends in a draw...or loss.

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 5:32 pm
by blueangel
Goldleaf wrote:It's just the same old story.
Egypt showed them far too much respect.
I just hope we don't show Croatia any respect tomorrow.
Mschew, the thing vex me well well, player is going nowhere and you decide to foul him for no reason...

Same Old Results from North African Teams.

How long will Africa live by Moral Victories ????

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 5:47 pm
by cchinukw
joao wrote:Many of these lamentations are expected whenever any of our teams lose.
There are no prizes for just turning up.

A good team should have a plan B. Relying solely on an injured Salah for goals is stoooopid.

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:15 pm
by marutimon
Morocco does the exact same as Egypt. Give up a freekick when the ball is going nowhere and concede a late goal.

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:18 pm
by Heliopolis
We don't have a plan b because we don't have any other attacker capable of scoring on a regular basis
Check out the club and NT tallies of our attackers. It's the worst bunch of attackers we've had in several decades.

Posted: Fri Jun 15, 2018 6:28 pm
by kajifu
Bigpokey24 wrote:this match vex me so much ..Oya make Morroco beat that yeye Iran
Morocco needs to win that game possibly by a comfortable margin but I won't be surprised if that ends in a draw...or loss.
Chai they open nyash to Iran. Well big brother SE will do the continent proud tomorrow

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 12:39 am
by DIMKA76
Concerning Salah, their coach was just playing psychological mind games. Mo is obviously not fit. Even before the camera yesterday at the open session he obviously couldn't extend his arm full outwards. This was one game Egypt has to win. The opponents get stronger from here on. Looking like an early exit for Egypt whom I considered the strongest team from the African continent.

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 7:30 pm
by ElHadary
Given how Russia crushed Saudi Arabia, it wouldn't have made any difference whatsoever whether we drew or beat Uruguay.

We need Salah back and we need to win our next two games regardless. Can't do that, and we can't make the RO16.

That's it, that's all it comes down to.

Posted: Sat Jun 16, 2018 8:02 pm
by ElHadary
DIMKA76 wrote:Concerning Salah, their coach was just playing psychological mind games. Mo is obviously not fit. Even before the camera yesterday at the open session he obviously couldn't extend his arm full outwards. This was one game Egypt has to win. The opponents get stronger from here on. Looking like an early exit for Egypt whom I considered the strongest team from the African continent.
DIMAKA, I am in a bit of mild shock reading this for a few reasons.

Firstly we played our first game without our star player. We saw service after service go to people who cannot finish.

Secondly, Uruguay is by far and away the strongest team in this group. They finished second in South American qualifiers and we're the heavy favorites going into this match. Russia and KSA aren't nearly as good and lack a ball holding midfield like Uruguay does.

I didn't think we would make it out of this group but it's not over yet. If we beat Russia somehow, we stand a very good chance. Whether or not Salah plays, I don't know
If we want to advance, my guess I he has to.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:53 am
by Heliopolis
ElHadary wrote:Given how Russia crushed Saudi Arabia, it wouldn't have made any difference whatsoever whether we drew or beat Uruguay.

We need Salah back and we need to win our next two games regardless. Can't do that, and we can't make the RO16.

You're kidding, right? A draw would've completely changed this group's dynamics.

Uruguay will beat Saudi while Egypt would only need a draw to keep their KO hopes alive and then go into the Saudi game looking for a win, while Uruguay and Russia would be battling to both stay alive. It's simple math.

The Uruguay win means they finish with at least 6 points which puts pressure on Egypt to beat Russia. Moreover, a draw would end Egypt's WC because both Uruguay and Russia would just play for a draw in their final match (we've seen this scenario play out so many times in tournaments without fail. FIFA can't do anything about it because teams do not necessarily collude but rather just aimlessly pass the ball around for much of the 90 minutes).

I think the Uruguay goal is going to prove to be the nail in our WC coffin. Russia is weak but I can't see us beating them at home with them riding the momentum of their 5-0 win and home support in St Petersburg.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 2:20 am
by kastro11
I expected a loss against Uruguay so anything else would have been a bonus. Russia and KSA are both definitely beatable so the original plan was to beat both.

We've had more shots on target than any African or Asian team despite coming up against one of the best CB pairings at the tournament. Without our best player.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:09 am
by ElHadary
Heliopolis wrote:
ElHadary wrote:Given how Russia crushed Saudi Arabia, it wouldn't have made any difference whatsoever whether we drew or beat Uruguay.

You're kidding, right? A draw would've completely changed this group's dynamics.

Uruguay will beat Saudi while Egypt would only need a draw to keep their KO hopes alive and then go into the Saudi game looking for a win, while Uruguay and Russia would be battling to both stay alive. It's simple math.

The Uruguay win means they finish with at least 6 points which puts pressure on Egypt to beat Russia. Moreover, a draw would end Egypt's WC because both Uruguay and Russia would just play for a draw in their final match (we've seen this scenario play out so many times in tournaments without fail. FIFA can't do anything about it because teams do not necessarily collude but rather just aimlessly pass the ball around for much of the 90 minutes).

I think the Uruguay goal is going to prove to be the nail in our WC coffin. Russia is weak but I can't see us beating them at home with them riding the momentum of their 5-0 win and home support in St Petersburg.
Even with a draw and us tying Russia, it would've come down to GD which we wouldn't have been able to make up.

We need to beat both Russia and KSA and hope that Salah becomes the next savior of Egypt.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 6:08 am
by folem
kastro11 wrote:I expected a loss against Uruguay so anything else would have been a bonus. Russia and KSA are both definitely beatable so the original plan was to beat both.

We've had more shots on target than any African or Asian team despite coming up against one of the best CB pairings at the tournament. Without our best player.
Maroc had same shots (3) on target.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 6:09 am
by kolinzo
kolinzo wrote:
KB wrote:Africa does not have 5 world class NTs to send to the WC, therefore it will always be the same story in every WC tournament. We are not learning!

They held their own against a good Uruguay team who qualified easily for the World Cup. First time in a long time that this same Uruguay team qualified with ease.
Mr. Cellular, "let's see" will not cut it this time. Winning the world cup requires advanced science. I have long come to the conclusion that there is no way an African team will win the WC (well unless they use mercenaries from Europe). There will be flashes here and there, and that's about it.

I no longer watch SE's games with my heart. I do with my brain. A team parading Mikel Obi as a starter is not a serious team. We are in trouble.
I'm rarely wrong on this site. I will bring this up to tell you I told you so. But of course the usual opaks yarners will come with the usual phrase "a broken clock is right twice a day."

Well, Cellular, I told you so didn't I??

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 6:28 am
by folem
kolinzo wrote:

Well, Cellular, I told you so didn't I??
Ain't we using mercenaries from Europe? Is there a way for North American or European/South American team outside the usual suspects to win the WC?

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 12:52 pm
by Heliopolis
ElHadary wrote:
Heliopolis wrote:

Even with a draw and us tying Russia, it would've come down to GD which we wouldn't have been able to make up.

We need to beat both Russia and KSA and hope that Salah becomes the next savior of Egypt.
No, a draw vs Uruguay would not necessarily lead to GD becoming a factor in the end. The loss has really hurt us and we now face a must win situation against the toughest team in the group which is Russia.

Also, the shots on target stat is useless. We didn't create a single good chance all game which has been a theme all year. We are winless in 8 games in 2018 with 2 goals in total. In other words, we suck.

Posted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:12 pm
by kolinzo
folem wrote: Ain't we using mercenaries from Europe? Is there a way for North American or European/South American team outside the usual suspects to win the WC?
Yes there is a way. The only way for non-usual suspect teams to win the WC is to improve the infrastructure. USA is doing it. There is a reason why three South American Teams have won it and five European teams have won it. The usual suspect will keep winning if they keep investing in the future.

There is no way in hell an African team will win the WC with the shambles we call football in that continent. We have not improved any aspect of our football in Africa since the second generation.