Who do you fear may concede needless free kicks?

After watching how Egypt, Morocco and Spain conceded last minute goals today by giving away needless free kicks, I hope Rohr does not play Shehu Abdullahi and Uwua Echiejile tomorrow. They may cost us dear.

I do not trust John Ogu either. Ogenyi Onazi is a definite no, no. These four have no business on the pitch tomorrow abeg Gernot!
Re: Who do you fear may concede needless free kicks?

Very simplistic understanding of the game. We can concede "needless" free kicks and the person most prone to conceding them makes a tackle or scores a goal or makes the assist that wins you the game. Nacho conceded a pen for Spain and scored a wonder goal that could have won the game. We can concede "needless" free kicks and the opposition doesn't convert from them. We can concede "needless" free kicks that disrupt the flow of the game and help us. What we don't need is needless threads.

Ayo please, you don’t even give your other thousand threads a chance to develop before breeding another. Our defenders are sh*t and will give away needless free kicks aplenty.

Ayo Akinfe wrote:After watching how Egypt, Morocco and Spain conceded last minute goals today by giving away needless free kicks, I hope Rohr does not play Shehu Abdullahi and Uwua Echiejile tomorrow. They may cost us dear.

I do not trust John Ogu either. Ogenyi Onazi is a definite no, no. These four have no business on the pitch tomorrow abeg Gernot!
You need to get a life. You are almost 70 for Christ sake!

With players like Modric on the pitch, you give away penalties around your area at your peril! They will punish you severely for it as we saw Cristiano Ronaldo do today!

Ayo Akinfe wrote:After watching how Egypt, Morocco and Spain conceded last minute goals today by giving away needless free kicks, I hope Rohr does not play Shehu Abdullahi and Uwua Echiejile tomorrow. They may cost us dear.

They must not tackle in case they concede fk o. They should just allow them to go and score

Clean tackling is a must at this level. Mikel and Ndidi seldom give away unnecessary free kicks around their penalty area, likewise Adepoju and Oliseh.

We cannot afford to field players wey go dey clear leg and ball together. I just hope Rohr has been watching all the games so far.

cic old boy wrote:Very simplistic understanding of the game. We can concede "needless" free kicks and the person most prone to conceding them makes a tackle or scores a goal or makes the assist that wins you the game. Nacho conceded a pen for Spain and scored a wonder goal that could have won the game. We can concede "needless" free kicks and the opposition doesn't convert from them. We can concede "needless" free kicks that disrupt the flow of the game and help us. What we don't need is needless threads.
No it is not.

I think someone raised a point that yes maybe Nigeria does not defend set-pieces well, but the individual suggested that we concede more set-pieces than a tournament favourite would for example.

No matter how well you play, if you concede more set-pieces than average, the odds of losing the game are increased.

What makes set-pieces more dangerous than any other form of play BTW is that it does not need to reflect the run of play! You could have 99% possession and if you concede in a dangerous area to a freekick specialist, a goal can easily be scored.

Set-pieces have no respect for who controlled the game, who was better and they can be converted at any time. Open-field goals (I speculate) may be less chaotic, although we do not have those numbers.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:
cic old boy wrote:Very simplistic understanding of the game. We can concede "needless" free kicks and the person most prone to conceding them makes a tackle or scores a goal or makes the assist that wins you the game. Nacho conceded a pen for Spain and scored a wonder goal that could have won the game. We can concede "needless" free kicks and the opposition doesn't convert from them. We can concede "needless" free kicks that disrupt the flow of the game and help us. What we don't need is needless threads.
No it is not.

I think someone raised a point that yes maybe Nigeria does not defend set-pieces well, but the individual suggested that we concede more set-pieces than a tournament favourite would for example.

No matter how well you play, if you concede more set-pieces than average, the odds of losing the game are increased.

What makes set-pieces more dangerous than any other form of play BTW is that it does not need to reflect the run of play! You could have 99% possession and if you concede in a dangerous area to a freekick specialist, a goal can easily be scored.

Set-pieces have no respect for who controlled the game, who was better and they can be converted at any time. Open-field goals (I speculate) may be less chaotic, although we do not have those numbers.

Sometimes I wonder if some people actually learn anything from CE. I tire for my people oooooooooo.

Anyway, abeg, keep educating them. Argentina have always beaten us with set pieces because we concede dangerous free kicks. In 1994, both goals were set pieces and in 2014, Messi smashed home a beauty from just outside our penalty area. Phew!

Tbite wrote: No it is not.

There are many variables involved in winning games. There are few players that commit more fouls than Sergio Ramos. But he also has other qualities that win games for his team. There are coaches like Borinho that sometimes use fouls to disrupt the rhythm of the opponent.

This dumb thread was started b/c Fake Ron scored from a FK last night. But Spain also drew b/c they missed a lot of chances and didn't bury Portugal b/4 that FK.

You need to get a life. You are almost 70 for Christ sake!
Those many threads are used on the CV. Evidence of the title CE Contributing Editor. You need to understand the game

Tbite wrote: No it is not.

There are many variables involved in winning games. There are few players that commit more fouls than Sergio Ramos. But he also has other qualities that win games for his team. There are coaches like Borinho that sometimes use fouls to disrupt the rhythm of the opponent.

This dumb thread was started b/c Fake Ron scored from a FK last night. But Spain also drew b/c they missed a lot of chances and didn't bury Portugal b/4 that FK.

Go and commit fouls on the edge of your area with the likes of Modric and Messi against you and see what will happen. Germany once had this anchorman Ditier Eilts, who was reknown for winning the ball all the time without ever giving away a foul.

In three games now I have seen teams concede late goals because they have committed needless fouls on the edge of their area. I am just pleased Rohr will not share your funny views.