ETEBO WAS MASSIVE TODAY regardless

Re: ETEBO WAS MASSIVE TODAY regardless

aykwes8 wrote:the deflected goal was unfortunate but he is a very good player . the #8
No one bothered to man the back post for some reason!
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

oscar52 wrote:Please the three worst players are Etebo, Shehu, and Ighalo. Etebo constantly passing back but I don't blame they were all mostly played out of position so it was like they were learning a new role.
The problem here is that you do not understand why he is forced to pass backwards. The name of the game is ball retention, you cannot pass forward where there is no movement, it is better you keep the ball even if it means passing backwards than a speculative pass forward.

The boy did well,call it average or whatever he did what he had to do, helped to retain the ball and gave us a decent look in the middle. Compare his performance and the midfield to the shambolic first half against England.

aykwes8 wrote:the deflected goal was unfortunate but he is a very good player . the #8
No one bother to man the back post for some reason!
He was the one Manning the post...he saw that the Croatian was going to head the free ball so he stepped out to stop him, the leg he stretched out unsettled the Croatian who misses , but unfortunately the ball deflected off his other leg into the net.

marutimon wrote:
john12 wrote:coach you're too harsh on them. they matched Croatia toe to toe but conceded foolish goals
Yeah. Croatia got two goals from corners (our Achilles heel). We didn't lose midfield.

As for Etebo:
Fouled 8 times
Completed 8 dribbles
Had 2 key passes
Had 2 tackles
Completed 92,5% of his passes

And Ndidi:
Fouled 3 times
Had 5 tackles
Had 3 interceptions
Had 3 clearances
Had 1 key pass
Won 6 headers
Completed 90% of his passes

Overall Ndidi and Etebo were the two best players on the field. Regardless of teams.
Same here bro :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

oscar52 wrote:Please the three worst players are Etebo, Shehu, and Ighalo. Etebo constantly passing back but I don't blame they were all mostly played out of position so it was like they were learning a new role.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Agent

Damunk wrote:^^^^^^
Just from the one million different opinions on the same topic here, that alone simply suggests the majority are being emotional.
Thank God una nor be coach.
Small time now, y'all will come back and tell us "Ehnnn.....after rewatching the game a third time today with no tension, I realise now that A wasn't so bad, B wasn't so useless, blablahblah..." :roll: :roll: :roll:
This is why I watch Naija games alone.

chief nfachairman wrote:
marutimon wrote:
john12 wrote:coach you're too harsh on them. they matched Croatia toe to toe but conceded foolish goals
Yeah. Croatia got two goals from corners (our Achilles heel). We didn't lose midfield.

As for Etebo:
Fouled 8 times
Completed 8 dribbles
Had 2 key passes
Had 2 tackles
Completed 92,5% of his passes

And Ndidi:
Fouled 3 times
Had 5 tackles
Had 3 interceptions
Had 3 clearances
Had 1 key pass
Won 6 headers
Completed 90% of his passes

Overall Ndidi and Etebo were the two best players on the field. Regardless of teams.
In the 2nd half, Etebo threw one nasty pass to Moses, even the commentators had to talk about how great the pass was.

Is it possible for a player that signed for a team move somewhere else without kicking a ball for that team? We need Etebo in the top division and we can dash dem Onazi.
Neves played there in he is now in the EPL.......................Let Etebo make his money and boss that league.
He can always get a better team in January.

can we name Etebo - the gladiator because this dude is a warrior in the middle of heated battle and doesnt go down

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Hmmmm. Etebo has really come of age in this tournament. Shame he went and signed for a Championship side.

Etebo is a warrior,he will give you what you want. He started slowly today at some point I was questioning his presence, I guess it took him time to settle into the new role asked of him today. In the second half it was like he was released to do what he loves doing best , take risk as run at people.

No one bother to man the back post for some reason!
He was the one Manning the post...he saw that the Croatian was going to head the free ball so he stepped out to stop him, the leg he stretched out unsettled the Croatian who misses , but unfortunately the ball deflected off his other leg into the net.

Nope. No one was covering the back post. Etebo was in the middle and stpped back closer to the post after the kick was taken. Go watch the goal again.

I love this player.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Etebo is solid!! Two games and I'm in love with him already!!

Synopsis wrote:He was average

He did try to move the ball forward today but he is mad slow, Ndidi and Mikel should play cm and dm and allow iwobi play am, in a pure 352. With etebo the midfield is slow to react and too open surprisingly.

9jaMan wrote:

He did try to move the ball forward today but he is mad slow, Ndidi and Mikel should play cm and dm and allow iwobi play am, in a pure 352. With etebo the midfield is slow to react and too open surprisingly.
Did you see the one time Iwobi tried to run with the ball they tackled it away from him. Thats his problem he loses a lot of balls when he tries to carry it. Etebo did very well in the second half, first half he seemed confused about his role.

9jaMan wrote:

Did you see the one time Iwobi tried to run with the ball they tackled it away from him. Thats his problem he loses a lot of balls when he tries to carry it. Etebo did very well in the second half, first half he seemed confused about his role.
When I tok am dem tok say I be hater.

But dem no go say na bigotry sha...

Etebo was great, but he shot a couple of times when Musa and Iheanacho were making a great run which would have likely ended with a goal. Instead he simply got blocked.

This player has grown on me. Too many positives in his game. Why he signed this early with Stoke is a mystery. From what I've seen so far, he can comfortably play for a top 10 team in any of the top leagues in Europe. This guy has improved a lot since the 2014 Olympics.

marutimon wrote:Etebo was great, but he shot a couple of times when Musa and Iheanacho were making a great run which would have likely ended with a goal. Instead he simply got blocked.
He will take that shot because he has it in his locker. That said, with more game time, his vision and decision making in that area will improve.

Shownoja wrote:Himself and Ndidi did very well. Mikel, Moses, Idowu and Ekong had very bad games. Also, Musa, yes Musa brought an urgency to the game. We showed more of our potential when he came on. Any why he keeps playing Idowu is beyond comprehension.
HUMBOO PIE ANYONE? :lol:

He had a lot of energy and drive in the forward midfield position and Obi did much better in the deeper role.

Etebo did so much running he got tired towards the end.

He had a great game as a joint CM next to Ndidi and in front of Mikel. He was no AM. He was everywhere playing defense and bringing the ball up to the attack. Excellent player.

ETEBOOO. Ive always been a massive fan of his.

He huffed, puffed and chased everything. He was also the catalyst of our attack in our second half revival. He wasnt scared of running at the opponents midfield and defense when he had the ball. Hes close control is out of this world.