POSITIVES

Re: POSITIVES

bret- hart wrote:1) Rhor needs to be fired now
2) Bench Mikel and play etebo and Iwobi in the middle
3) Bench Shehu and start Ebuehi
4) Bench Igalo and play Ihenacho and Nwankwo
5) Pray
I agree with everything except your first point. I don't think Rohr needs to be fired at all, he actually has us playing decent stuff although some of his decisions can be a bit baffling. I understand that just because he's "oyinbo" he's going to be on a short leash with some hyper nationalists but we need a period of stability and a decent interval to access whether he's the right man going forward.

:sneaky:
Mr. Piffington wrote:
5) Pray
I agree with everything except your first point. I don't think Rohr needs to be fired at all, he actually has us playing decent stuff although some of his decisions can be a bit baffling. I understand that just because he's "oyinbo" he's going to be on a short leash with some hyper nationalists but we need a period of stability and a decent interval to access whether he's the right man going forward.
It should be evident by now that whatever Rohr's abilities or competencies as a coach are, he is a wrong fit for Nigeria.

On our first game, we should have been more adventurous.

The good thing now is there is no hiding place against Iceland, the only way we will qualify is by trashing Iceland by plenty goals to drive Argentina into fear, anythign shorter than that, they better put Arik on standby because we are coming home after next week

@Hitman, Etebo and Iwobi in the middle, presumably Moses in front holding a crooked staff up in the air, with a nation of malnourished Israelites behind him. More often than not, a presumed strength is a dressed up weakness.

cchinukw wrote::sneaky:
Mr. Piffington wrote:
5) Pray
It should be evident by now that whatever Rohr's abilities or competencies as a coach are, he is a wrong fit for Nigeria.

He's wrong for Nigeria based on one World Cup game? Hasty decision making will cost us, we need to stop making decisions based on sentiment. Give the man time and stop chasing away every foreign coach because they're white.

1naija wrote:Bulgaria lost to in 94 and ended in the semi-final. We can do the same.

Not with stubborn Rohr, unless he makes the needed changes. Ebuehi, iwobi and iheanacho "must" start if the SE will beat Iceland. But watch Rohr start shehu + Musa and leave iwobi + kele on the bench.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
5) Pray

He's wrong for Nigeria based on one World Cup game? Hasty decision making will cost us, we need to stop making decisions based on sentiment. Give the man time and stop chasing away every foreign coach because they're white.

It's not based on one World Cup game, it's the players selected, the formation he adopted, and his analysis after the defeat. He practically absolved himself from blame and said Nigerian players are not good enough, after he refused to consider multiple attacking players. The SE never had players consistently playing for Real Madrid and winning WPOY but the SE are known for winning and slaying Giants. Rohr should be fired now
Positives from a bad day yesterday

1. Uzoho played well in his first game at the World cup. Hopefully he can get a move to a top division club. He has good future. I hope he finds a good club that will help his continued development. We have our long term replacement for Enyeama.

2. Etebo and Ndidi held their own against Modric, kramaric and Rakatic.

Apart from that I don't see any other positives. A poor game. Felt like they didn't want to be at the world cup Disappointing.

The German uncovered Uzoho...if not for Rohr, Ezenwa would be keeper

Mr. Piffington wrote:
5) Pray

No. Based off of my assessment from watching his team formation and tactics at Wembley as well.

Rohr really should have changed the gameplan and the personnel after Wembley and after Czech Rep.

Instead he stuck with it. And guess what? We were just as crap as in all our four past games. But still Rohr saw none of teh warning signs...

Rohr keeps doing the same and expects a different result. What do we call that?

marutimon wrote:POSTIVIES:
Goalkeeper: Uzoho is a fricking good GK. He did everything he could do.
...Except keep us in contention.

You nor see how Iceland goalie take save pena? Nonsense :oops: :evil:

marutimon wrote:Given Iceland's power I'm thinking:

---------------Uzoho----------------
--Balogun--Omeruo--Ekong--------
---------Ndidi-------Mikel-----------
----------------Iwobi---------------
-Moses-----------------------Etebo-
------------Iheanacho----------------
--------------------Simy--------------

But Rohr will never do that...
Not a bad shout. I'd definitely start with both Simy and Kelechi. And perhaps Ogu in defence - his lack of pace won't be tested by Iceland and he can actually pass out of defence unlike Balogun and Ekong.

But it's way too adventurous for Rohr. Expect the same line up vs Iceland with perhaps Kelechi in for Ighalo.
Personally I'd bench Moses as well. His aimless dribbles, cul-de-sac runs and flops will be ineffective against a very disciplined and rugged Iceland. And if tat's not enough reason then I'd do it if only to send a message.

as bad as Moses has been, you cannot bench him when the only wide option is

THE CHICKEN HEAD

ROHR IS A JOKE OF A COACH.

Imagine how this fool completely ignored the likes of

Samuel Kalu, Emem Eduok, Peter Olayinka, Henry Onyekuru, Kelechi Nwakali,