How should SE lineup against Iceland?

Spicyee
How should SE lineup against Iceland?

Post by Spicyee »

Based on the players we have and the performance of Iceland against Argentina, I would go with:
---- Uzoho ----
Ebuehi --Ekong--Balogun--Idowu
-- Ndidi -- Mikel --
Musa ---- Etebo ---- Moses
--- Ighalo ---

Let's discuss.
Last edited by Spicyee on Mon Jun 18, 2018 12:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: How should SE lineup against Iceland?

Useless ...Ighalo and Mikel should be given coach tickets back to China.

----------- Akpeyi ----
Ebuehi --Omeruo --Echiejile--Idowu
-- Ndidi -- Onazi --Etebo
Musa ------------------------ J Obi
--- --------- Nwankwo ------------
Last edited by Rawlings on Sun Jun 17, 2018 5:09 am, edited 1 time in total.
Soccerfan00

Post by Soccerfan00 »

a so called team that can't create chances, all these weak national teams today are giving us problems, stop it.
kali
Rohr should play attack to its strengths

Post by kali »

Rohr should play attack to its strengths

1) have Mikel sit back and make long range passes

2) have Etebo bomb forward in support of front twoh

3) have Moses make his attacking runs from deep but cut in

4) have iwobi and iheanacho play as attacking duo

The formation that supports this is 3-5-2.

Ekong Balogun Ogu
Moses Ndidi Etebo Mikel Idowu
Iwobi Iheanacho
How to plan for Iceland

Iceland has a game plan. That means we need to adust for the game plan.

For all the talk about how well Iceland played, Argentina did nothing to adjust to Iceland's tactics. For one thing - vs a team of giants they played with one player over 184 cm (while Iceland had just one player below that height) and not one midfielder ready for that type of physicality. In essence Argentina planned to dribble the ball into the net, because that was the only way they were getting through that wall.

Given how day one panned out Iceland will not change anything in their setup, while we must adjust almost everything. The total lack of creativity is shocking, hence Nigeria has to maximise their creativity.

That means the following:

1. DEFENCE Nigeria would do well to start with three in the back with one defender at least very apt at moving forward from midfield. Best to populate the midfield with strong defenders. Balogun is an absolute must, he is at this moment Nigeria's best centerback. Ekong's weaknesses at set pieces yesterday have me wondering whether Awaziem or Omeruo shouldn't start. Omeruo especially is very confident on the ball. Also John Ogu at the back of a 3-5-2 is a must. He's cerebral, great in the air, organised, is capable of playing the ball out from the back and running with it forward to create an advantage.

-------BALOGUN---OMERUO/EKONG/AWAZIEM---OGU----------

2. MIDFIELD: Nigeria need to maximise creative output and play to the strengths of each player. Mikel has best served Nigeria not as a DM or as an AM, but as a deep lying playmaker / holding player, preferably with someone with whom he can exchange from time to time. Iwobi is a total waste on the wing, only reminding us why a player like Moses Simon was so pivotal. So he needs to be moved to the center. Ndidi is indispensable.

-----------------NDIDI---------MIKEL----------------------
------------------------IWOBI------------------------------

3. WINGS:
On the right: Moses needs to cut the diving, but one thing to note: Iceland is prone to the odd penalty. That's why you need a direct dribbler from the flank like Moses. Just cut the diving. Musa however is a no go - he only works on the counter due to his speed. The other option is to bench Moses and go with Ebeuhi.

On the left: The loss of Moses Simon was apparent yesterday. He was our best crosser and a creative force on the other wing. Something that Iwobi was not. With no proper winger called up to play instead of him, choices are limited. We could try Joel Obi, but he's a terrible crosser. Also benching Etebo despite his superb display would be a bad idea. But Etebo has played on the wing before and with his dribbling, incessant drive - he is a penalty magnet for these Icelandic players. Either that or they let him run riot. Despite not having the best cross I would go for him at left wingback. Also - he may not have the best pass, but he is pretty creative.

-EBUEHI/MOSES-----------------------------------ETEBO-

4. FORWARDS:
Iheanacho is a must. No questions asked. He is the only wild card Nigeria has, who for some reason always manages to cause some havoc, even when he mistouches the ball.

The question is who goes up front with him. Ighalo's only strength is his hold up play. Which means he could partner well with Iheanacho. But I'm just so fed up with our non-scoring striker I would go for Simy (even though I regret that isn't Umar Sadiq). Having a towering striker against the Icelanders might be a good thing.

--------------Iheanacho-----Simy----------------

But why am I even writing this?
We all know this will end up:

------Balogun--Ekong--Ogu--------
---------Ndidi------Etebo-----------
-Ebuehi-------Mikel----------Iwobi-
---------Ighalo----Moses------------

Or something of that ilk.
Re: How to plan for Iceland

Iceland dont need to do much, just keep their defensive shape, soon enough, Nigeria will make mistakes and they will pounce, Iceland will give Nigeria respect and use the same formation against Argentina, most likely they will play 4-5-1 or even pack their defence to ensure there is no room for the likes of Ighalo, Nacho has to start, its that simple, its a game where Nigeria has to score as much as they can, i dont expect a high scoring game

My prediction? Nigeria 2-1

Spicyee wrote:Based on the players we have and the performance of Iceland gains Argentina, I would go with:
---- Uzoho ----
-- Ndidi -- Mikel --
--- Ighalo ---

Let's discuss.
This lineup might be worse than the last game. Musa can't cross. Ighalo as a lone striker again?

Might as well go down fighting.

-------------------------------Uzoho-----------------------------------------

-------------Omeruo-------------Ekong-----------------Balogun-----------------

-----V Moses--------------Ndidi-------------Mikel----------------Idowu----------

-------------------------------------Iwobi-------------------------------

---------------------------Ighalo----------------Iheanacho----------------------

Spicyee wrote:Based on the players we have and the performance of Iceland gains Argentina, I would go with:
---- Uzoho ----
-- Ndidi -- Mikel --
--- Ighalo ---

Let's discuss.
This lineup might be worse than the last game. Musa can't cross. Ighalo as a lone striker again?

-----V Moses--------------Ndidi-------------Mikel----------------Idowu----------

---------------------------Ighalo----------------Iheanacho----------------------
Exchange Idowu for Etebo (whose primary position is actually left wing) and you're set.

Essentially this should be noted:
We had a deep lying playmaker (Iwobi) parading as an AM.
We had an AM (Iwobi) parading as a left winger.
And we had a left winger (Etebo) parading as a holding midfielder.

Why the hell would you play people out of position?
nzeogwu
What needs to happen next

Post by nzeogwu »

I've said it before and I stick by it. Ayo has said it and Vancity has said it.

Long term: Nwakili is the play maker along with Iwobi.

We don't need Naija born defenders but an infusion of both Naija and foreign born players. Diversity makes us stronger.

Short term:

In any case, for the remaining games, we MUST play a 3-5-2.

Mikel must drop.

Iwobi must play the 10. Period. No matter how inexperienced.

Ebuehi must bench Shehu.

Iheanacho and Ighalo/Simy should be the two strikers. Defense starts at the top.
Re: What needs to happen next

If we are going to use Ighalo and Mikel as our 2 offensive players, we might as well have taken a chinese coach, these guys are used to poor opposition, thought that was glaring, which top European side will field players from the Chinese league as the top striker and AM, only Nigeria can be so stupid to try this, luckily this is world cup not that shabby ANC where you can get away with murder

Spicyee

Post by Spicyee »

marutimon wrote:
---- Uzoho ----
-- Ndidi -- Mikel --
--- Ighalo ---

Let's discuss.

Exchange Idowu for Etebo (whose primary position is actually left wing) and you're set.

nzeogwu wrote:I've said it before and I stick by it. Ayo has said it and Vancity has said it.

We don't need Naija born defenders but an infusion of both Naija and foreign born players. Diversity makes us stronger.

Short term:

Mikel must drop.

Ebuehi must bench Shehu.

Iheanacho and Ighalo/Simy should be the two strikers. Defense starts at the top.

Rohr is not interested in SE doing well, he said they are not good enough and he wants them to learn
GREENWHITEGREEN

Post by GREENWHITEGREEN »

Nothing will happen. Too many of our people are content with the way things are.
-Simpli fy -
GREENWHITEGREEN

Post by GREENWHITEGREEN »

9jaMan wrote:
nzeogwu wrote:I've said it before and I stick by it. Ayo has said it and Vancity has said it.

Short term:

Mikel must drop.

Ebuehi must bench Shehu.

Rohr is not interested in SE doing well, he said they are not good enough and he wants them to learn
He's not emotionally invested. He is not a Bonfrefre Jo.
-Simpli fy -
nko

Post by nko »

I will prefer the following line-up. Joel is mobile and left-footed.

-----Obuehi--------------Ndidi-------------Etebo----------------J.Obi----------

marutimon wrote:
---- Uzoho ----
-- Ndidi -- Mikel --
--- Ighalo ---

Let's discuss.

Etebo will come in for either Iwobi or Mikel in the 2nd half.

Ebuehi will come in for Idowu in the 2nd half. V Moses will switch to left wing back.

Final sub will be either Musa or Nwanwkwo for an attacker.

Okochadman2Nas

Post by Okochadman2Nas »

if they can show up with some passion and act like footballers, that will be a good start and find some pace for pete's sake

Ezenwa

Ebuehi Omeruo Balogun Echiejile

Onazi Ogu Iwobi

Moses Iheanacho Etebo

I am not yet convinced that Etebo is not a headless chicken that disrupt the natural flow of the game so open to him being replaced by Simi or even Mikel but keep Ighalo away from the team.

---- Uzoho ----
-- Ndidi -- Mikel --
--- Ighalo ---

Let's discuss.
Hahahaha. For someone who watched the game and saw Ighalo's stinker.. Trying to make a team with Ighalo is simply a joke. And based on its merit doesn't warrant a discussion.
goke313

Post by goke313 »

:lol: :lol: :lol: none of this matters because Rohr will still play Mikel as the #10 and Iwobi out wide.....

Skinny Nwankwo and Odion hol up, hol up, jos hol up, up top ala Ferdinand and Shearer, Musa in the Peter Beardsley role, with Alex Iwobi doubling up as Tino Asprilla. Obi, free role ala Phillipe Albert. Who can ever forget that delightful chip. Splendid.