SE's WC is over....Rohr out of his depth....

Today was reality check.................Rohr does not understand Nigeria's football culture nor where our football strength lies.
The WC is too big a stage for coaches that lack self-belief in their teams. A coach that lacks confidence affects his team and this is reflected in their timid and cowardly approach in games.
You tried your best Mr. Rohr but your best is simply too poor for us.....................it's bad enough that we lost, but losing like cowards is not our way.
Time to call time on your job.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
Re: SE's WC is over....Rohr out of his depth....

zee wrote:Today was reality check.................Rohr does not understand Nigeria's football culture nor where our football strength lies.
The WC is too big a stage for coaches that lack self-belief in their teams. A coach that lacks confidence affects his team and this is reflected in their timid and cowardly approach in games.
You tried your best Mr. Rohr but your best is simply too poor for us.....................it's bad enough that we lost, but losing like cowards is not our way.
+ 1

Nothing else to add. Our tepid display was down to this clown of a coach. Let no one forget that.

zee wrote:Today was reality check.................Rohr does not understand Nigeria's football culture nor where our football strength lies.
He was certainly out of his depth today. The team was poor for 90 minutes and never really looked like scoring bar a couple of minutes at the start of the second half.

Rohr has spoken about the team being here to "learn". Mscheeew! Loser talk from a limited coach.

The team is at the world cup to learn, learn what exactly? This line has been push by Pinnick and Rohr, this is just sad. If you are not ready, why don't you give up your place for another team that is not doing on the job training and is ready for the main event.

If they are thinking about the next world cup... We need to qualify first.

No confidence, no boldness, no flair, no risk taking, just let's defend and hope for the best.

On a broader note, we don't have the luxury of playing nations cup during world cup years anyway... We sold that away for two pieces of silver.

Rohr like most Europeans thinks we are lacking a structured football culture beyond playing for fun on the street.

Listen to his comments at 5:40,he’s not lying,we’ve failed to prepare so we should be prepared to fail!
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

Rohr like most Europeans thinks we are lacking a structured football culture beyond playing for fun on the street.

Listen to his comments at 5:40,he’s not lying,we’ve failed to prepare so we should be prepared to fail!
I have been saying this from day one there is no shortcut to success, the lack of institutions and infrastructures reduces the pool of available players for selections.

The drawing board should be the Nigeria football infrastructures, football is big business in Nigeria, Nigerian are prepared to buy football kits, betting tickets and DSTV to watch the EPL. Why can we replicate success for Nigerian local leagues and academies?

fabio wrote:The team is at the world cup to learn, learn what exactly? This line has been push by Pinnick and Rohr, this is just sad. If you are not ready, why don't you give up your place for another team that is not doing on the job training and is ready for the main event.

No confidence, no boldness, no flair, no risk taking, just let's defend and hope for the best.

On a broader note, we don't have the luxury of playing nations cup during world cup years anyway... We sold that away for two pieces of silver.
When you consistently carry the youngest team to the World Cup proper, suggesting your disposal and turn-over of players is faulty...
When 17 of your 23-man squad are playing their first major tournament...
When you have a documented history of engaging 20 national team coaches in 20 years...
When you one minute think Pinnick is the worst NFF Chairman to walk this earth and then the next minute he is the best thing since sliced dodo...
When you call for the head of the coach after one loss in a world cup...
When you one minute scream for a local coach and after he gets it wrong you scream for an oyibo coach and when he gets it wrong you call for a local coach again, and when he fokkops you call for.....(catch my drift?)...
When you are now speculating that certain players are in the squad based on Federal Character because you don't like their faces...
TELL ME...what is there NOT to learn?

THE FACT THAT YOU QUESTION WHAT WE HAVE TO LEARN IN THE FIRST PLACE, SUGGESTS WE HAVE MORE TO LEARN THAN WE EVEN REALISE!
'He who knows not, and knows not that he knows not...' is what? :idea:

fabio wrote:The team is at the world cup to learn, learn what exactly? This line has been push by Pinnick and Rohr, this is just sad. If you are not ready, why don't you give up your place for another team that is not doing on the job training and is ready for the main event.

When you consistently carry the youngest team to the World Cup proper, suggesting your disposal and turn-over of players is faulty...
When you have a documented history of engaging 20 national team coaches in 20 years...
When you one minute think Pinnick is the worst NFF Chairman to walk this earth and then the next minute he is the best thing since sliced dodo...
When you one minute scream for a local coach and after he gets it wrong you scream for an oyibo coach and when he gets it wrong you call for a local coach again, and when he fokkops you call for.....(catch my drift?)...
When you are now speculating that certain players are in the squad based on Federal Character because you don't like their faces...

THE FACT THAT YOU QUESTION WHAT WE HAVE TO LEARN IN THE FIRST PLACE, SUGGESTS WE HAVE MORE TO LEARN THAN WE EVEN REALISE!
The same Rohr who was the best thing that ever happened to Nigeria after the Argentina friendly? Success indeed has many fathers but failure is an orphan! Some are even accusing the NFF! Haba!!

The internet coaches should just apply to replace Rohr!

The same Rohr who was the best thing that ever happened to Nigeria after the Argentina friendly? Success indeed has many fathers but failure is an orphan! Some are even accusing the NFF! Haba!!

The internet coaches should just apply to replace Rohr!
Please help me remind them.... :idea:

realtrouble wrote:

I have been saying this from day one there is no shortcut to success, the lack of institutions and infrastructures reduces the pool of available players for selections.

The drawing board should be the Nigeria football infrastructures, football is big business in Nigeria, Nigerian are prepared to buy football kits, betting tickets and DSTV to watch the EPL. Why can we replicate success for Nigerian local leagues and academies?

Sharrap abeg, Rohr ignored onyekuru, Nwakali, umar, Ebuehi, and even Lokosa, players with the Nigerian attacking flair & spirit and he took headless chickens and pregnant chickens to the WC. Nigeria has a big pool of quality players, the coach is just not good enough.

Who is that midfielder in Turkey? Lawal or what is his name? What ever happened to him? World Cup is not for just boys. A good mix is always required. When you field an entirely young squad, it's like detaching the pedigree and experience from previous and successive squads - lessons learned are lost forever. Then you learn the hard way.

Even though we have some experience in the squad, the quality of the said experience is relative to those in the squad which simply is nothing to write home about compared to previous squads.

Set that aside, you have a coach who is totally out of his depth. Which is why we need to look inwards to people like Oliseh and Siasia. They have the balance of having played in Nigeria and abroad. The best people for the perfect blend if you ask me.

Rohr is the most negative manager to ever qualify Nigeria for the world cup. He talks about learning. The world cup is not for novices. Our 94 squad had a better tactical approach with all it's limitations. Rohr neither prepared his team relative to his strengths but rather got a flawed module and tried to fit square pegs in round holes. He takes the blame. I am not saying the story about this or that player not being good enough. To come out of the African group was no mean feat. They earned the right to be in Russia, Rohr was either lazy or totally out of his depth.

I'm very disappointed with the result and I am usually a 'local coach' advocate but we should not sack Rohr. He has a team with most of the players in an upward trajectory. However he needs to free his players to play the confident attacking football that Nigeria is known for.

aruako1 wrote:I'm very disappointed with the result and I am usually a 'local coach' advocate but we should not sack Rohr. He has a team with most of the players in an upward trajectory. However he needs to free his players to play the confident attacking football that Nigeria is known for.
But this is the point, he wouldn't because he is a pedantic and reactive coach. You'll be disappointed if you think he'll change his ways. It is part of his personality, inflexible and not proactive.

There's still hope. Hold on to it
eyan

Post by eyan »

realtrouble wrote:

The least he cld do is make a proper use of what's available. Croatia was not and is not better than.

9jaMan wrote:
realtrouble wrote:

Sharrap abeg, Rohr ignored onyekuru, Nwakali, umar, Ebuehi, and even Lokosa, players with the Nigerian attacking flair & spirit and he took headless chickens and pregnant chickens to the WC. Nigeria has a big pool of quality players, the coach is just not good enough.
But if Nigeria where playing the way they have in the run up to the tournament with all these
above players I doubt it would change a thing,you can always say if this or that where to be tried or if so and so where to play things would be different but the truth is the rot was always a problem and nothing has been done to fix it!
Remember our so called best player,plays in China!
Last edited by Eaglezbeak on Sun Jun 17, 2018 1:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Chief Damunk, thanks a lot for the point I highlighted and underlined in above. Now they want the coach fired because we lost a game, yet we still have two more games to go and anything can happen still.

pajimoh wrote:There's still hope. Hold on to it
That is what I also think. We can still do good in the remaining games and advance to the next stage

...is called a FABIO?

Of course Gerrout Rohr is the easy target but you can't look at Nigeria and think we should harvest orange when we planted yam. That's crazy!!

9jaMan wrote:
realtrouble wrote:

But if Nigeria where playing the way they have in the run up to the tournament with all these
all the above players I doubt it would change a thing,you can always say if this or that where to be tried or if so and so where to play things would be different but the truth is the rot was always a problem and nothing has been done to fix it!
Remember our so called best player,plays in China!

Football is about players and their ability, Ebuehi could have created scoring chances from that right side and allowed Moses more room to be creative, players like onyekuru and Nwakali don't pass sideways, they are hungry to either score or create chances, even Lokosa was busy troubling the Congolese all game but Rohr picked "Mikel wannabe agu" over him. Please go see what Ebuehi did when he came in against Argentina and tell us why he deserved to be on the bench. It all boils down to the players selected. Football is too simple but the daft coaches make it look difficult.

Odas wrote:Chief Damunk, thanks a lot for the point I highlighted and underlined in above. Now they want the coach fired because we lost a game, yet we still have two more games to go and anything can happen still.
Nigeria will likely lose to Iceland and Argentina. Rohr has said little will change and that he was happy with the tactics vs Croatia. It's over. Rohr has two games remaining as Nigeria's coach.

Odas wrote:Chief Damunk, thanks a lot for the point I highlighted and underlined in above. Now they want the coach fired because we lost a game, yet we still have two more games to go and anything can happen still.
Nigeria will likely lose to Iceland and Argentina. Rohr has said little will change and that he was happy with the tactics vs Croatia. It's over. Rohr has two games remaining as Nigeria's coach.
Oh well.