African Teams Will Never Win WC With Foreign Coaches

Post by 404 »

The history of the World Cup clearly demonstrates that to become a truly great footballing nation and to win the World Cup you must have a home grown coach who understands your footballing style, it’s strengths and weaknesses. More importantly, an innovator who understands the modern game is about time and space and how you craft a system of play that exploits time and space using your strengths! African players are physical, fast and have flair that is our natural strength—the question then becomes how do you craft a system of play that allows our strengths to overwhelm other playing styles like the European style of play that is more mechanical and discipline play! May I suggest that because our play is more physical and based on quickness that doesn’t mean it has to be chaotic and devoid of tactical play. What is needed are cerebral indigenous coaches that can formulate a system of play that harness our strengths and success will come if the coaches have a couple of players who have the intelligence to understand the system and like great quarterbacks can have the team implement the coach’s vision. We trying to out play the Europeans or South Americans using their style of play will never get us to the ultimate prize—World Cup Winners! We need to invest in our brightest and best indigenous coaches by giving them the support to be innovative and most importantly being patient with them and giving them the respect they deserve. R.l.P. Coaches Amodu & Keshi
Re: African Teams Will Never Win WC With Foreign Coaches

Also without good local leagues.

Africans refuse to address the real problem.

Post by 404 »

Ohenhen1 I completely agree with you, we refuse to address the real foundational problems of organization and structure, may be when we do our entire society will change for the better!
west33637

Post by west33637 »

404 wrote:The history of the World Cup clearly demonstrates that to become a truly great footballing nation and to win the World Cup you must have a home grown coach who understands your footballing style, it’s strengths and weaknesses. More importantly, an innovator who understands the modern game is about time and space and how you craft a system of play that exploits time and space using your strengths! African players are physical, fast and have flair that is our natural strength—the question then becomes how do you craft a system of play that allows our strengths to overwhelm other playing styles like the European style of play that is more mechanical and discipline play! May I suggest that because our play is more physical and based on quickness that doesn’t mean it has to be chaotic and devoid of tactical play. What is needed are cerebral indigenous coaches that can formulate a system of play that harness our strengths and success will come if the coaches have a couple of players who have the intelligence to understand the system and like great quarterbacks can have the team implement the coach’s vision. We trying to out play the Europeans or South Americans using their style of play will never get us to the ultimate prize—World Cup Winners! We need to invest in our brightest and best indigenous coaches by giving them the support to be innovative and most importantly being patient with them and giving them the respect they deserve. R.l.P. Coaches Amodu & Keshi

A long term investment in the youth development systems (including accessible youth academies across the country). A long term investment in our local leagues, and lastly to your point, we need local coaches that can harness our style and give us back our uniqueness. either way it has to be a well thought out long term vision that addresses the root of our problems.

We had said no more foreign coach after the debacle of Vogt and later Lagerback but the rollercoaster tenure of Oliseh made another journeyman coach possible.

Win the wc? Do we even have playable football fields in Nigeria? Y'all smokin nuclear weed. :laugh:

Post by 404 »

Oscar52 I hear you regarding Oliseh, I too expected better from Oliseh having said that NFF needs to go about this whole project as a long term investment and put in place the organizational structure to produce a local coach that can harness our strengths as West33637 has correctly pointed.
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:Win the wc? Do we even have playable football fields in Nigeria? Y'all smokin nuclear weed. :laugh:

Nigerian want to reap where they haven't sowed. It will be a travesty and insult to humanity if Nigeria won the world cup, with a foreign coach, foreign players, and foreign infrastructures
Makanaky

Post by Makanaky »

404 wrote:The history of the World Cup clearly demonstrates that to become a truly great footballing nation and to win the World Cup you must have a home grown coach who understands your footballing style, it’s strengths and weaknesses. More importantly, an innovator who understands the modern game is about time and space and how you craft a system of play that exploits time and space using your strengths! African players are physical, fast and have flair that is our natural strength—the question then becomes how do you craft a system of play that allows our strengths to overwhelm other playing styles like the European style of play that is more mechanical and discipline play! May I suggest that because our play is more physical and based on quickness that doesn’t mean it has to be chaotic and devoid of tactical play. What is needed are cerebral indigenous coaches that can formulate a system of play that harness our strengths and success will come if the coaches have a couple of players who have the intelligence to understand the system and like great quarterbacks can have the team implement the coach’s vision. We trying to out play the Europeans or South Americans using their style of play will never get us to the ultimate prize—World Cup Winners! We need to invest in our brightest and best indigenous coaches by giving them the support to be innovative and most importantly being patient with them and giving them the respect they deserve. R.l.P. Coaches Amodu & Keshi

Amen! :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Nkono, Kunde, Massing, Tataw, Ebwelle , Pagal,Mbida, Mfede, Mbouh,Makanaky,Kana-Biyik,Oman-Biyik, Ekeke, Milla,.....Too Strong to be Intimidated, Too Stong to be defeated! Indomitable!!!! Marc Viven-Foe R.I.P!!!

THIS IS NOT A NEW SUBJECT

The veterans on this forum will tell you that this subject was heatedly debated for decades here as the pendulum swung between what was called IC's (indigenous coaches) and FC's (foreign coaches). For a while it looked like Nigeria had become fully committed to the local coaches but swung back to foreign coaches with the hiring of Rohr. It seems there's little patience with the local coaches and are treated shabbily whereas foreign coaches are given an enabling environment. When a Nigerian coach is hired every gov't official thinks he can boss him around and every fan second guesses him. Even the players react by acting differently often coming late to camp.

Just to show you the mentality that sometimes prevail, a former Nigerian FA boss was said to have told people that his greatest regret in charge was not leaving the country with a capable foreign coach after he saw what he considered success by the likes of Cameroon and Ghana. Even the Falcons chimed in asking that they too should be given a foreign coach if one was given to the men. There are some fans who are only comfortable when they see a foreign coach on the Nigerian sideline.

Like the OP, some Nigerians have come to terms that the best option for the country going forward is to use indigenous coaches. However, Nigerians are loathe to do the lifting that comes with trying to accomplish things and are quick to jettison an experiment after the first failure.

What the OP is proposing requires people in the NFF and Sports Ministry to sit down to discuss the permanent way forward; let's hope things like this this cross their mind - too much thinking and too much time required. On my part I've suggested a coaching institution, affiliated with a university, open to other African countries that for coaches in all sports. It would cover specialized classroom courses, seminars and a period of apprenticeship. It fell mostly on deaf ears.

Which country won the world cup with a foreign coach?

We are not willing or ready to put in the investment required to pull off a world cup win. We don't have structures and the organization required. The funny thing is we keep repeating the same mistakes every 4 years.

Is it possible for our football to be an exception when we see all the challenges we face in Nigeria and as Nigerians. Can our football follow the example of our entertainment industry?

1. A strong local league is a myth.
Exhibits are The Erivedese, PSL and The Swedish league. Even if Nigeria develops a strong local league, the top SE players will always go to better paying leagues in Europe. The league will also quickly be dominated by top foreign players which will introduce other issues (see EPL), and if they put a cap on foreigners, it will become insular like the PSL.

There are proven methods to developing top players and that is what most people imply when they mention a strong league. It is better to ID those methods then adapt them to local conditions, using indigenous resources instead.

Some might argue that strong leagues also improve coaching, refereeing, player management e.t.c. Well, they do but not to the point where Naija or most African teams would win the WC.

Remember too that Naija picks FB players. Foreign born or snapped up after a youth tournament. A strong league, will not convince a Rohr to ignore UEFA based players.

NB: A league rife with corruption will hurt the game.

2. The myth of youth structures.
What structures are these?
Didn't Naija win the U17 at one point? Didn't they dominate youth tournaments not too long ago? What happened to all those players? They have big tournament experience, good discipline, technical knowhow, e.t.c.
No a strong local league will not keep them from joining the EPL or a better paying Euro club.

3. I agree with your main point of a nation having football style but ..... look at Brazil.
Brazil abandoned their Samba playing style long ago and adopted the Euro style. Now it is hard for them to go back because, most of their players are snapped up early and taken to Europe where the flair is coached out of them.
The pressures to resist that early move are too much. Neymar was one of the few that resisted.
Remember the myth of a strong league? Brazil has decent leagues.... :D

4. Proper local coaching is the way to success.
Instead of the NFF building the Glass house or glorified technical centers with FIFA money, they should train local coaches in every Nigerian village.

That is the secret to tiny Iceland's success where parents who have regular jobs, are part time coaches with UEFA Pro licenses.
Kids consistently get standard quality training from the start.

What makes a big church? The big congregation of citizens. You don't need a big building to have a big church or mosque. The big congregation can do just fine under a tree.

Let the NFF build their congregation of coaches and they will spread the gospel (agitate for better fields, psychologists, physios, e.t.c) but the NFF has to support them all the way to the top. The NFF has never supported their local coaches like they do FCs. Neither has the GFA and many others. Let us sodden look at what Senegal does in Russia.

Kabalega wrote:
Exhibits are The Erivedese, PSL and The Swedish league. Even if Nigeria develops a strong local league, the top SE players will always go to better paying leagues in Europe. The league will also quickly be dominated by top foreign players which will introduce other issues (see EPL), and if they put a cap on foreigners, it will become insular like the PSL.

There are proven methods to developing top players and that is what most people imply when they mention a strong league. It is better to ID those methods then adapt them to local conditions, using indigenous resources instead.

Some might argue that strong leagues also improve coaching, refereeing, player management e.t.c. Well, they do but not to the point where Naija or most African teams would win the WC.

Remember too that Naija picks FB players. Foreign born or snapped up after a youth tournament. A strong league, will not convince a Rohr to ignore UEFA based players.

Didn't Naija win the U17 at one point? Didn't they dominate youth tournaments not too long ago? What happened to all those players? They have big tournament experience, good discipline, technical knowhow, e.t.c.
No a strong local league will not keep them from joining the EPL or a better paying Euro club.

3. I agree with your main point of a nation having football style but ..... look at Brazil.
Brazil abandoned their Samba playing style long ago and adopted the Euro style. Now it is hard for them to go back because, most of their players are snapped up early and taken to Europe where the flair is coached out of them.
The pressures to resist that early move are too much. Neymar was one of the few that resisted.

Instead of the NFF building the Glass house or glorified technical centers with FIFA money, they should train local coaches in every Nigerian village.

That is the secret to tiny Iceland's success where parents who have regular jobs, are part time coaches with UEFA Pro licenses.

What makes a big church? The big congregation of citizens. You don't need a big building to have a big church or mosque. The big congregation can do just fine under a tree.

Let the NFF build their congregation of coaches and they will spread the gospel (agitate for better fields, psychologists, physios, e.t.c) but the NFF has to support them all the way to the top. The NFF has never supported their local coaches like they do FCs. Neither has the GFA and many others. Let us sodden look at what Senegal does in Russia.
No wonder east Africa is useless in football. Stick to long distance running my dude.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
No wonder east Africa is useless in football. Stick to long distance running my dude.
Bookmarked... :)

No African team is winning the World Cup anytime soon. Scratch that, no African is contesting a WC semi-final anytime soon. In fact, even a quarter-final is a tall order for most.
Heliopolis

Post by Heliopolis »

We can't even win a game yet you're talking about winning the WC...

The nationality of coaches is not the issue. Imagine a European club fan saying their team can't win with Nigerian or foreign players. That would be an outrageous statement and so is the one guiding this thread's discussion.
Tunisian Gooner

Post by Tunisian Gooner »

Heliopolis wrote:We can't even win a game yet you're talking about winning the WC...

The nationality of coaches is not the issue. Imagine a European club fan saying their team can't win with Nigerian or foreign players. That would be an outrageous statement and so is the one guiding this thread's discussion.
Exactly.

By senior NT stage the rot has already set in. Successful template must start from grass roots, tactics, technique, conditioning, cohesion, discipline, overall football IQ, cultural identity of a nation football, the process must began from as early an age as possible.

We're stuck in the 80's and 90's, just trying to build a squad of 23 pros and hope for the best.
Detective Bunk Moreland

'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'

Coach wrote:No African team is winning the World Cup anytime soon. Scratch that, no African is contesting a WC semi-final anytime soon. In fact, even a quarter-final is a tall order for most.
but the cup is coming home

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

Kabalega wrote:

The administrators, managers, coach, and referees can only be developed within a functional football league, without a supply chain of talented official Nigeria can never develop the players.

Spain, Brazil, Germany, Italy and France. All world cup winners since 1990. All have strong leagues. A strong league is not a myth. Also the Dutch league is not weak. It serves it purpose which is to nuture young talent. Our young players move to India, Cyprus to play.

ohenhen1 wrote:Spain, Brazil, Germany, Italy and France. All world cup winners since 1990. All have strong league. A strong league is not a myth. Also the Dutch league is not weak.
Ohenhen1

But if a strong league is key, how come England has not won it? I think problems like this are more complex than simplistic. There are probably more variables that are important than simply a strong local league.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

After any result, every Tom, d#$% and effing mofos become clairvoyants. We were not supposed to win the Olympics. We were not supposed to win the u20wc. Heck some cvnts have even convinced themselves it's a totally different planet winning the main world cup.

I hope the players don't have the same mentality. Nigeria has no business winning anything if we take our organization into consideration but we have and we can do it again at the big dance.

Forever is a long time for something new not to happen
Last edited by pajimoh on Tue Jun 19, 2018 12:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mr. Piffington wrote:
Kabalega wrote: