Page 1 of 2

Zola Blames ‘Flat’ Midfield, Troost-Ekong For Nigeria Defeat

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 6:08 am
by kali
https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/z ... l-dropped/

Zola Blames ‘Flat’ Midfield, Troost-Ekong For Nigeria Defeat, Wants Mikel Dropped

By Johnny Edward:

​Former Italy forward Gianfranco Zola pointed at Nigeria’s flat midfield for their 2-0 defeat to Croatia in their opening group game at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, reports Completesportsnigeria.com.

An own goal by Oghenekaro Etebo in the first half and a second-half penalty from Luka Modric sealed the win for Croatia who Zola admits were not at their best during the encounter.

The victory means Croatia lead Group D on three points while Argentina and Iceland are joint-second on a point each following their 1-1 draw earlier on Saturday. Nigeria remain rock bottom following the defeat to the Vatreni.

“They (Croatia) won the game due to the mistakes of the Nigerian team,” the Chelsea legend said on SuperSport where he was a guest analyst for the match.

“Those players (in the Croatian team) play for top clubs and they know how to make the best use of situations (set-pieces) like that. Nigeria were the better side in the first half in my own opinion to be fair, because I expected more from the Croatian team due to the quality in the team.”

The former Napoli and Parma forward also advised coach Gernot Rohr to drop Mikel Obi for a player who has more energy to support the team’s ‘flat’ midfield.

“The midfield was flat there was no creativity and Mikel didn’t do much to help the team. He (Mikel) should leave for a player with more energy to help out. Considering the calibre of players they (Croatia) have,” Zola, who was in the Italy team that defeated Nigeria at the 1994 World Cup, added.

“Defensively they did not do well and they allowed the Croatians dominate in key areas which didn’t help their play.”

Zola also slammed William Troost-Ekong for grappling with Mario Manzukic in the box. He said: “You don’t do such at this level of football. That was poor defending from him (Troost-Ekong) which cost his team a chance to fight back at 2-0 down.”

Re: Zola Blames ‘Flat’ Midfield, Troost-Ekong For Nigeria De

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:40 am
by Dammy
Abeg, they should lay off Troost. He played very well and was just unfortunate with the penalty call. I've seen top defenders especially the Italians like Chiellini and Bonucci do it over and over again and getting away with it. Troost kept Manzukic quiet, which is no easy task.

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:45 am
by Lolly
After re-watching the game, I noticed the same thing. We were the better team in the first half but didn't go all out to score. We gave them too much respect.
“Those players (in the Croatian team) play for top clubs and they know how to make the best use of situations (set-pieces) like that. Nigeria were the better side in the first half in my own opinion to be fair, because I expected more from the Croatian team due to the quality in the team.”

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:50 am
by Damunk
Dammy wrote:Abeg, they should lay off Troost. He played very well and was just unfortunate with the penalty call. I've seen top defenders especially the Italians like Chiellini and Bonucci do it over and over again and getting away with it. Troost kept Manzukic quiet, which is no easy task.
Hmmmm....I've also seen defenders deliberately handle the ball in the box and 'get away with it'.
Come to think of it, I've seen defenders pulling opponents' shirts in the box and 'get away with it'.
In fact, I think I saw the GOAT Maradona score a goal with his hand and he 'got away with it' by God's grace!

So Troost should keep grappling defenders in the box so that one day, he too can eventually get away with it. :idea:

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:53 am
by Damunk
Lolly wrote:After re-watching the game, I noticed the same thing. We were the better team in the first half but didn't go all out to score. We gave them too much respect.
You don forgot that my 'Zero Shots On Target' thread from a few weeks ago?
They said it "was not a problem".
'Zero Shots On Target Is A Serious Discussion Point'
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=28714S

Zee: "We have no problem with scoring"
Danfo driver: "And so what?"
Ohenhen1; "There is no problem. It was a friendly"
Coach: "Sorry Damunk but you’re way off the mark here."

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:14 am
by Lolly
Lolly wrote:After re-watching the game, I noticed the same thing. We were the better team in the first half but didn't go all out to score. We gave them too much respect.

I started losing confidence after what I saw in the last 4 friendlies. I was beginning to see how important Moses Simon was. He was always my favourite attacking player. He is one player who only knows how to play one way, ATTACK. And you would have noticed that in all our friendlies and on Saturday, we rarely attacked from the left. Rohr tried Victor Moses on the left against England and he was poor. He should have selected at least two wingers on each side for the list of 30. Iwobi is not a wide player and his performance playing wide confirms it.

But going forward, Rohr or whoever the coach is needs to scout for full backs who can attack. Ebuehi fits this role but Idowu does not though he is a good defender.

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:49 am
by cic old boy
Zola's on the money about Mikel. We played with a man less on Saturday.

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 8:52 am
by Damunk
Only now am I realising that Moses Simon is a lot more important than we ever gave him credit for.
Moses Simon has been called a waste pipe several times on this site.
I think after Ahmed Musa, Moses Simon and Ighalo have had the roughest deal.
But he would have taken on some of those Croat defenders on Saturday, no question.

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:09 am
by Tbite
Simon Moses yes has vastly improved. Fair point.

Musa (no he really is a headless chicken), but he can be useful from time to time, depending on how you manage him.

Ighalo (is not it, it is not unfair criticism). Iheanacho is a better player AND prospect.

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2018 9:54 am
by Prince
Dammy wrote:Abeg, they should lay off Troost. He played very well and was just unfortunate with the penalty call. I've seen top defenders especially the Italians like Chiellini and Bonucci do it over and over again and getting away with it. Troost kept Manzukic quiet, which is no easy task.
Ekong did well against Manzukic and it wasnt easy but there is na art to holding in the box, he should have held him before the ball was played then nudged him off balance during the flight of the ball, and we should have had two people on him,

We played better that first half, but we didnt make use of the freekicks Moses won for us and even our corner kicks, there was no variation, Moses took it all the time. Not even a short corner so we cna get second phase attack, the only time we got one Balogun or Ekong almost scored

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:02 am
by cchinukw
That joker has no business in a Super Eagles jersey.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:24 am
by oscar52
Lolly wrote:

I started losing confidence after what I saw in the last 4 friendlies. I was beginning to see how important Moses Simon was. He was always my favourite attacking player. He is one player who only knows how to play one way, ATTACK. And you would have noticed that in all our friendlies and on Saturday, we rarely attacked from the left. Rohr tried Victor Moses on the left against England and he was poor. He should have selected at least two wingers on each side for the list of 30. Iwobi is not a wide player and his performance playing wide confirms it.

But going forward, Rohr or whoever the coach is needs to scout for full backs who can attack. Ebuehi fits this role but Idowu does not though he is a good defender.
+1

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:27 am
by 9jaMan
Damunk wrote:Only now am I realising that Moses Simon is a lot more important than we ever gave him credit for.
But he would have taken on some of those Croat defenders on Saturday, no question.

If Moses Simon had played the SE would have lost by 4 goals. Simon is a headless chicken. If Musa plays on Friday the SE will be out of the World Cup. Headless chickens don't win matches

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:28 am
by oscar52
Damunk wrote:Only now am I realising that Moses Simon is a lot more important than we ever gave him credit for.
I agree. They lact wingers who can take on defenders so they keep trying to go up the middle and end of hitting a brick wall. I still content that Etebo can play as a winger but instead the genius of a coach put him at DM. Iheanacho can be ok as a winger as well, much better than Musa who can't cross or Iwobi who doesn't have the lungs.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:10 am
by maceo4
Who is Zola and what does he know - signed the JMO boys.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:09 am
by vancity eagle
When I told u all Rohr was a complete clown for only calling up 4 wingers in a 30 man squad, I heard all manner of stupid excuses.

Then Simon got injured and the clown still didn't think there was a problem.

This clown ignored Onyekuru, Olayinka, Kalu, Kelechi, Eduok, Imoh

And he went to a WC with one winger who played all season as a RWB (Moses)

One winger who is really an AM (Iwobi)

And one headless chicken who calling him a winger is an insult to wingers (Musa)

What a feckless imbecilic coach, a fraud, and a clown.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 4:12 am
by vancity eagle
maceo4 wrote:Who is Zola and what does he know - signed the JMO boys.

Mikel and Ndidi need to sit back.

Iwobi needs to be the advanced midfielder.

Any person with a brain can see this clear as day, yet our imbecilic coach is either blind and dumb as a bat, or he cannot take charge over Mikel who is calling the shots and wants to be a hero up top.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 5:31 am
by kali
maceo4 wrote:Who is Zola and what does he know - signed the JMO boys.

Mikel and Ndidi need to sit back.

Iwobi needs to be the advanced midfielder.

Any person with a brain can see this clear as day, yet our imbecilic coach is either blind and dumb as a bat, or he cannot take charge over Mikel who is calling the shots and wants to be a hero up top.
Actually I would play Ndidi and Etebo at the back with Iwobi as the attacking midfielder. It provides better options because Etebo executes far more passes than Mikel and is far more solid defensively and also provides attacking threat. We can bring in Mikel as a sub for Iwobi in the later stage of the game.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 1:15 pm
by fabio
Lolly wrote:
I started losing confidence after what I saw in the last 4 friendlies.
I was beginning to see how important Moses Simon was. He was always my favourite attacking player. He is one player who only knows how to play one way, ATTACK. And you would have noticed that in all our friendlies and on Saturday, we rarely attacked from the left. Rohr tried Victor Moses on the left against England and he was poor. He should have selected at least two wingers on each side for the list of 30. Iwobi is not a wide player and his performance playing wide confirms it.

Lolly, I started losing confidence in Rohr after his first three games and when all the football writers in Nigeria refused to call out Rohr tactically deficiency.

The mantra was the team is work in progress, it was obvious Rohr level is sorry to say (Gabon, Niger et al) not Nigeria.

I remember complaining bitterly to Calvin of ACLS sports (fabio, this your own too much jo). During the game that was played in Barnet Calvin and the BBC football journalist were scratching their to understand Rohr tactics, my reply was: i no tell you.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 7:56 pm
by Polly
How we love to throw names around! And the guys that are not in camp are always better, always the answer. And at the coach, whomever he is, we hurl choice curses (unless, of course, he never loses...in which case he is a saint!)

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:01 pm
by john12
VE you’re mad. You just mention players name purposeless all the names you mentioned are just another group of Backwater league players that wouldn’t make any difference on Saturday. Onyekuru is a special talent but was injured and rohr didn’t want to gamble on an injured player. We need more WORLD CLASS players to beat WORLD CLASS teams

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:47 pm
by Soccerfan00
this dude and so called "world class" SMH, that doesn't mean anything. you talk about players like they are a bunch of preset robots or something GTFOH :rotf:

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 8:52 pm
by zee
Zola is talking fullblown BS....................the fact that he never said anything about the cowardly tactics by his BROTHER WoWo says it all.