The Witch and the Super Eagles BY LEON BALOGUN

Re: The Witch and the Super Eagles BY LEON BALOGUN

Bigpokey24 wrote:ok, i read it , the only top part was this
One night in March, my phone rang. It was a Nigerian number … it was Stephen Keshi, the Nigerian National Team manager. I was sweating as soon as he introduced himself. I wanted him to say the words I had thought about for so long. He spoke for awhile about how he wasn’t totally familiar with me, but he liked how I played.

Then he said it: “I would like to invite you to be a Super Eagle.”

Those words … they meant so much to me. It meant validation for every step of my footballing journey. It meant happiness for my family. Most of all, it meant an opportunity to go to Nigeria.

And that … that was everything to me

We miss you and your fearless approach to football .................O' Great BIG BOSS :clap: :clap: :clap: :thumbs: :thumbs: .............

LEGEND FOREVER :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

Wonderful story. :thumb:

Enugu II wrote:A heck of a story by Leon. Wow, this is why when people talk as if racism has suddenly evaporated, you have to do a double take. We still have a long way to go. Great story and welcome to the place you are loved!!!
I was referring to this experience a few months ago in a thread about the 'Oyibo Wall', when, responding to The Yeyeman, I wrote:

"I think the whole experience of having 180m people embrace you - in fact, CLAIM you - as their own after a lifetime living in the white west is something you and I can only imagine (I'm assuming you are not mixed race yourself).
I think it was Balogun that got really emotional on one occasion and spoke about it."

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=286631&p=5192666&hi ... n#p5192666
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

Ride on, brother Balogun. May your fame and fortune spread like wild fire in the harmattan season. God Bless you.
2think

Post by 2think »

Lovely!

Make Us Proud lads. It's in you....

May the Lord God Bless U real Good
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

[quote="Cellular"]Lovely story, did he say how much Keshi asked him to pay?

I guess that is what the Keshi haters would love to hear?[/quote]

Abi oh......

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]

LOVE THIS STORY LIKE EVERYONE ELSE, BUT, LEON...

...please stay the heck away from that Russian woman. If you want to know why, King Saul would love to have a word with you.