I WATCHED CROATIA MATCH AGAIN

Re: what actually pains me the most in that loss to Croatia

9jaMan wrote:It's all Rohr's fault, he overhyped the Croatian players and basically told the SE that they were not at the World Cup level so they should take notes from the Croatians and prepare for World Cup 3024
WHat makes u think Rohr has not discussed with his team the reason why he is hypping the croatians?

chief nfachairman wrote:
9jaMan wrote:It's all Rohr's fault, he overhyped the Croatian players and basically told the SE that they were not at the World Cup level so they should take notes from the Croatians and prepare for World Cup 3024
WHat makes u think Rohr has not discussed with his team the reason why he is hypping the croatians?
The fact is, one the day the Croatians were not that good and Nigeria has beaten much better teams than them (on that day) before.

So Rohr is taking Nigerian football backwards with such talk.

The fact is Nigeria was well within its ability to beat that Croatian team, Rohr failed and he should accept that.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
sabb

Post by sabb »

ANC wrote:
And our players are stupid enough to buy that?
Okay o....

To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
sabb
Re: I WATCHED CROATIA MATCH AGAIN

Post by sabb »

ogiso wrote:Without the tension and I must admit .......

.......... it was still crap. Hope rings eternal though, and I hope somehow the boys will redeem themselves against Iceland.

Not gonna bother! Chinese water torture would be more fun...
But watched this team enough to be CONFIDENT that a win over Iceland would kick us onwards and upwards.
same here, not for now anyway, was at the stadium and even Etebo's inspiration wasn't enough to will the boys, shame.
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
sabb

Post by sabb »

Tbite wrote:
chief nfachairman wrote:
The fact is, one the day the Croatians were not that good and Nigeria has beaten much better teams than them (on that day) before.

The fact is Nigeria was well within its ability to beat that Croatian team, Rohr failed and he should accept that.
one coach learned from the friendlies while the other learnt nothing.
In the game against Senegal, Croatians played a high line and Senegal had a few chances in the counter attack which could have led to goals for Senegal. Hence why Croatia played compact and hardly ventured forward willy nilly knowing the SE can make them suffer on the counter, their coach probably watched the Nig v Argie game over and over again.

As for Mr Rohr, lets see what he comes out with against Iceland

I deleted the game from my dvr once we gave up the pk... it is a waste watching such lazy football

sabb wrote:
Tbite wrote:
chief nfachairman wrote:

In the game against Senegal, Croatians played a high line and Senegal had a few chances in the counter attack which could have led to goals for Senegal. Hence why Croatia played compact and hardly ventured forward willy nilly knowing the SE can make them suffer on the counter, their coach probably watched the Nig v Argie game over and over again.

But Rohr came to the WC to learn. It appears no learning occurred during the friendlies.

1naija wrote:I am watching again now, and Nigeria is definitely the better side. 2 things that must improve in the next game are Mikel's play, especially in the first half, and Vic Mo's free kick delivery.
Good luck with that.

Those skills don't develop overnight.

...And after rewatching that first soft goal, I am angrier at Uzoho.

That goal should have been stopped by either of Etebo or Uzoho.

Etebo tried. Uzoho nor try.

icee

Post by icee »

1naija wrote:I am watching again now, and Nigeria is definitely the better side. 2 things that must improve in the next game are Mikel's play, especially in the first half, and Vic Mo's free kick delivery.

I haven't yet watched again. I will soon do so.

My brother watched it again and said that Etebo probably had the best performance of any SE player in a Worldcup since Okocha in 1998.

According to the stats he broke a world cup record of the number of dribbles at 9.

I must admit I dont remember Etebo having a particlarly good game, in fact I believe I cursed him a time or two.

Mind you I had been drinking and was highly stressed out. From what I remember both Croatia and Nigeria were respecting each other too much, and it was a slow match.

I will watch it again maybe later today.
V- I was pleasantly surprised at Etebo's performance. He was the best midfielder. I had written last week that Stoke was probably his level. Now, I'm almost certain i'm wrong. The DM role suited him quite well. Very assured in his play. There was this pass that he "zipped" across the pitch. He knew exactly what he was doing and has more technique than I had often given him credit for.

1naija wrote:We gifted Croatia the game. Our players will hate themselves for letting this winnable game escape us when they rewatch the video. I just hope Ekong and Etebo can shake off their mistakes and concentrate on the next game. They were 2 of our better players overall.

WE WILL QUALIFY FROM THIS GROUP!. We are the second best if not the best team in this group.
Etebo's own goal wasn't a mistake though it was just unfortunate, if he didn't try to intervene there were 2 croatians there waiting to put that ball in.

icee wrote:

I haven't yet watched again. I will soon do so.

My brother watched it again and said that Etebo probably had the best performance of any SE player in a Worldcup since Okocha in 1998.

According to the stats he broke a world cup record of the number of dribbles at 9.

I must admit I dont remember Etebo having a particlarly good game, in fact I believe I cursed him a time or two.

Mind you I had been drinking and was highly stressed out. From what I remember both Croatia and Nigeria were respecting each other too much, and it was a slow match.

I will watch it again maybe later today.
V- I was pleasantly surprised at Etebo's performance. He was the best midfielder. I had written last week that Stoke was probably his level. Now, I'm almost certain i'm wrong. The DM role suited him quite well. Very assured in his play. There was this pass that he "zipped" across the pitch. He knew exactly what he was doing and has more technique than I had often given him credit for.
He's the only one that can play those driven cross field passes, he did one to Vic Mo and also did one that Balogun headed towards goal for an easy save.

1naija wrote:We gifted Croatia the game. Our players will hate themselves for letting this winnable game escape us when they rewatch the video. I just hope Ekong and Etebo can shake off their mistakes and concentrate on the next game. They were 2 of our better players overall.

WE WILL QUALIFY FROM THIS GROUP!. We are the second best if not the best team in this group.
Etebo's own goal wasn't a mistake though it was just unfortunate, if he didn't try to intervene there were 2 croatians there waiting to put that ball in.
Watch it again. The ball was going out if it had not bounced off Etebo.

Not WE, but the football-coward :curse: masquerading as our national coach.
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

I can't bring myself to watch the game a second time. I watched it live and was feeling sleepy so can't imagine what a second time will look like.

sabb wrote:
Tbite wrote:
chief nfachairman wrote:

Excellent observation. Croatia played the right tactics. Security from the back, relying on our midfield to create enough opportunities. It worked.

Not for nothing, but Croatia has done well against West African teams. We beat Cameroon last WC. We beat Senegal, as you noted, right before this WC.

I'm the biggest critic of Croatian football. Especially when we get tactics wrong that don't utilize our strengths. But I give credit to a solid game plan against Nigeria. We just could not afford to give your attack too much space and isolate our defenders.

To be sure, I figure this is how we will play against most teams. Except, perhaps, Iceland, whom we can run against...as can Nigeria. The Super Eagles must take the game to Iceland. BTW: I expect Iceland too play the same against everybody: park it and look for occasional surges, especially set pieces.

2drama wrote:Just finished watching the the first half and the all the part until Musa sub in

The formation used did not served SE

We need to drop the lone striker routine. And go back to the 4-4-2 formation.

The defence was fine but our team lacks any bite on offense. Nothing like the SE we know.

Ighalo
Every time he got the ball was marked by 2 to 3 defenders

Etebo
killed a bird with his shot on 21.47 mins

Mikel
had a weak cross in the 12 minute, he should have moved in, instead to pass or shoot on target

Victor
Play both ways defence
The game plan was to have VM go against the LB but that match up

The team is actually prime for 442.

Keep the back line as is
have Mikel and Ndidi
Etebo and Moses on either side
and then Iwobi and Ihenacho upfront.

Just watched again also and in the beginning of the second half we had 3 consecutive corner kicks but the stupid ref didn’t award us a goal, mschew, means the game ended 2-1, let me watch again maybe I’ll convince myself it was 2-2 and we played great!

maceo4 wrote:Just watched again also and in the beginning of the second half we had 3 consecutive corner kicks but the stupid ref didn’t award us a goal, mschew, means the game ended 2-1, let me watch again maybe I’ll convince myself it was 2-2 and we played great!
But it's 4 corners make 1 goal... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Bigpokey24 wrote:I deleted the game from my dvr once we gave up the pk... it is a waste watching such lazy football
I watched it again. To honest, we played like school boys.

maceo4 wrote:Just watched again also and in the beginning of the second half we had 3 consecutive corner kicks but the stupid ref didn’t award us a goal, mschew, means the game ended 2-1, let me watch again maybe I’ll convince myself it was 2-2 and we played great!

The current SE do not have the all round quality to carry 2 players from the Chinese league. The Belgians and the Brazilians could but we can't. To have 2 of them as starters reduces the overall quality of the team.

It's 3 :lol: