Page 2 of 4

Re: Mourinho Blasts: Mikel is Not a Number 10

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 2:47 pm
by Damunk
Dammy wrote:The problem is that national team selectors allowed Mikel to choose the position he wants to play rather than play him in the position that suits the team best.
From Siasia at the Olympics to Rohr, they've been guilty of indulging Mikel. He can get away with it in the weak Chinese league but he will be found out at the top level.

JJ said as much, that Rohr is accommodating Mikel and CE cursed him out and said what does he know. Imagine Rohr playing Iwobi BEHIND Mikel in CM/DM during the friendlies just so that Mikel can still be the AM...
I feel the exact same way and have said as much myself.
JMO na big man.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 2:47 pm
by maceo4
Kneedeep wrote:
So na Mourinho you wan blame for Mikel no longer being able to run? It is only delusional Nigerian fans who think a playmaker can perform at the World Cup effectively without legs.

Did you see how much running Dele Alli put in yesterday? Give that job to Kelechi Nwakali and see how many problems he would have posed for the Croatian defence.
Many playmakers couldn't run - Valderrama, Pirlo, Socrates, etc. You need to run more at DM. Dele Alli is a headless chicken. Nwakali should try and get into his Div 2 first.
Good point... don't remember Zidane being the speediest chap either, in fact if I'm not mistaken Westerhoff's gripe against the youthful JJ was he slowed down the counter-attack.
Johnny Obinna still wasn't the biz sha... but an excellent point nonetheless.
But guys, name the current play makers who can't run? Even older Modric runs more than our own Mikel. Sounds like you guys are talking about old school number 10's that have been phased out of the game, even Pirlo was a deep lying play maker not a no. 10. Zidane wasn't fast, but he had lungs to run all day from side to side, up and down creating for his teammates with great ball control, dribbling skills, ingenuity and dictated the tempo of the game to suit his speed.
Is Iniesta "old school" too, just for conversational purposes.....
He's a CM though, the likes of Silva and Isco are the AM's...

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 2:48 pm
by The YeyeMan
Dammy wrote:The problem is that national team selectors allowed Mikel to choose the position he wants to play rather than play him in the position that suits the team best.
From Siasia at the Olympics to Rohr, they've been guilty of indulging Mikel. He can get away with it in the weak Chinese league but he will be found out at the top level.

JJ said as much, that Rohr is accommodating Mikel and CE cursed him out and said what does he know. Imagine Rohr playing Iwobi BEHIND Mikel in CM/DM during the friendlies just so that Mikel can still be the AM...
I feel the exact same way and have said as much myself.
JMO na big man.
A part of me is looking forward to his retirement from the national team. There, I said it.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:01 pm
by Cellular
Suddenly Iwobi is the player to rescue SE inability to create chances?

Iwobi is the actual luxury. What you needed is a true winger to play that spot that Iwobi occupies.

The middle of our team is finally set. We did not allow any real chance on goal in the run of play.

The lazy approach to analyzing the game is to look at Mikel. I remind folks with very short memories is that Mikel didn't play in some of the friendlies where we had a full complement of players yet we hardly had a shot on goal. Rohr's team and tactics does not depend on a playmaker. That is obvious to people who care to pay attention. His teams go as far as VicMo can create from the flanks or as far as his full-backs can get involved in the offensive 3rd of the field. Game against Croatia was a typical example. His full-backs hardly joined in the attack. They hardly provided width. When your midfield combination neutralizes the opposing team's strength you begin now talk about folks who didn't provide offense. Offense was supposed to be provided from the flanks. That has always been the case with Rohr's teams.

Make the change you guys are asking for and watch the turnover rate increase. Watch the other team have more chances to go at our inexperienced Keeper. I would replace Iwobi with Musa. And bring him as a sub when he has had time to read the game and can be an impactful sub.

Ps., Arsenal fans can help me out here. What is the typical criticism of Iwobi's game? Isn't it his turnover rate?

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:07 pm
by metalalloy
Cellular wrote:Suddenly Iwobi is the player to rescue SE inability to create chances?

Iwobi is the actual luxury. What you needed is a true winger to play that spot that Iwobi occupies.

The middle of our team is finally set. We did not allow any real chance on goal in the run of play.

The lazy approach to analyzing the game is to look at Mikel. I remind folks with very short memories is that Mikel didn't play in some of the friendlies where we had a full complement of players yet we hardly had a shot on goal. Rohr's team and tactics does not depend on a playmaker. That is obvious to people who care to pay attention. His teams go as far as VicMo can create from the flanks or as far as his full-backs can get involved in the offensive 3rd of the field. Game against Croatia was a typical example. His full-backs hardly joined in the attack. They hardly provided width. When your midfield combination neutralizes the opposing team's strength you begin now talk about folks who didn't provide offense. Offense was supposed to be provided from the flanks. That has always been the case with Rohr's teams.

Make the change you guys are asking for and watch the turnover rate increase. Watch the other team have more chances to go at our inexperienced Keeper. I would replace Iwobi with Musa. And bring him as a sub when he has had time to read the game and can be an impactful sub.

Ps., Arsenal fans can help me out here. What is the typical criticism of Iwobi's game? Isn't it his turnover rate?
But musa himself is not a true winger either. We are really missing Moses Simon who is the closest thing to a winger we had. Not an arsenal fan, but Iwobi is criticzied for quite a few things at arsenal, turnovers being one of them. However, doesnt he usually play as similar WF role at arsenal and not an AM role?

As for Mourinho.. in fact, its too early in the morning for this. The talk say if you have nothing nice to say, don't say anything at all.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:09 pm
by Eaglezbeak
I remember when clowns thought he was the next Jay Jay and where ready the shut anyone down who opposed,he should never have been a number 10 but it’s clear Nigeria have ran out of ideas or talent in that department.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:11 pm
by Cally
Cellular wrote:Suddenly Iwobi is the player to rescue SE inability to create chances?

You've had this obsession with Iwobi for a while now. Almost all your posts on the SE set up call for Iwobi to be dropped to the bench no matter the role he plays and how well or badly he plays. I've noticed the trend, so I don't regard your posts about Alex as objective. Go ahead and drop him for Musa...you must be a wonderful coach.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:15 pm
by maceo4

But we also had friendlies where Mikel played and we still barely threatened the opponents including the Croatia game where we also barely threatened the opponents. Why not play Iwobi in AM position (a position he has played at times at a high level in Arseanal) and see what he can bring and move Mikel from that position to the one he's more familiar with? Everything you are saying conceptually sounds good, but its not actually working and hasn't worked for multiple games now so we are we persisting with it? We are not suddenly going to get a Cafu or Roberto Carlos as our full backs, so whats the talk about full backs attacking? If Vic Mo is our only point of attack then he will be easily neutralized by defenses, so I guess that's the end of our attack?

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:16 pm
by Kneedeep
Is Iniesta "old school" too, just for conversational purposes.....
He's a CM though, the likes of Silva and Isco are the AM's...
Fair enough

Cellular wrote: The lazy approach to analyzing the game is to look at Mikel. I remind folks with very short memories is that Mikel didn't play in some of the friendlies where we had a full complement of players yet we hardly had a shot on goal. Rohr's team and tactics does not depend on a playmaker. That is obvious to people who care to pay attention. His teams go as far as VicMo can create from the flanks or as far as his full-backs can get involved in the offensive 3rd of the field.
You pipul are confusing me with all these logics that you're using :lol:
Chair you are right, but Johnny Obinna still underwhelmed. Na im be our "world-class" player(i.e. we watched him for many years on DSTV)

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:19 pm
by kolinzo
Mourinho gave Obi longevity in the EPL! Had Mourinho used Obi as the AM or CM like he did with him in the DM Obi's EPL career would have been cut short.

Anyways, some of us have been saying this since he debuted at 2006 ANC. With Obi we have missed THREE ANCs! THREE!!! And we might even miss the next one too!

You know, my thing is, Obi might actually be the best player in Nigeria. And that should tell you Nigeria is in deep shieet!

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:19 pm
by Ugbowo
I don't have a problem with the way we started the match.

I have long accepted that Rohr wont start Ebuehi and he loves Idowu for whatever reasons.

The problem was when we were down we did not change our approach. Etebo has been praised to high heavens for his workrate and rightfully so but there were 3 occasions were Etebo did not trust himself to play a typical midfielder pass to an overlapping full back. That's criminal for a central midfielder. Mikel can do that. Iwobi and Moses also needed to start coming infield more to receive the ball and turn and face the Croats with Mikel dropping deep and the full backs bombing forward to fill the width vacated by Moses and Iwobi. We were starting to figure it out when Iwobi was taken off. Our attack DIED for real then.

If we stick with 4-2-3-1, Ehuehi has to come in to at least give the semblance of width on one flank and Etebo has to go into the more attacking position on the left. Mikel sits with Ndidi and Iwobi in front of them.

If we go 3-5-2, as much as it hurts to say, Etebo will have to start on the bench. Mikel and Ndidi with Iwobi in front will be the 3 mids with Etebo coming on for either Mikel or Iwobi later.

One more thing, if we are to score, Kelechi has to start. He just has to be on the field.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:23 pm
by Cellular
Cally wrote:

You've had this obsession with Iwobi for a while now. Almost all your posts on the SE set up call for Iwobi to be dropped to the bench no matter the role he plays and how well or badly he plays. I've noticed the trend, so I don't regard your posts about Alex as objective. Go ahead and drop him for Musa...you must be a wonderful coach.
He plays a juvenile game. I am not a fan of juvenile game. I like players who play with discipline. He has a place on the team but not as a starter.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:25 pm
by maceo4
Cally wrote:

He plays a juvenile game. I am not a fan of juvenile game. I like players who play with discipline. He has a place on the team but not as a starter.
Without Moses Simon he has to start, thats why the loss of Simon was so huge but people disrespected it. Musa is more juvenile and brings less to the table.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:27 pm
by Cellular

But we also had friendlies where Mikel played and we still barely threatened the opponents including the Croatia game where we also barely threatened the opponents. Why not play Iwobi in AM position (a position he has played at times at a high level in Arseanal) and see what he can bring and move Mikel from that position to the one he's more familiar with? Everything you are saying conceptually sounds good, but its not actually working and hasn't worked for multiple games now so we are we persisting with it? We are not suddenly going to get a Cafu or Roberto Carlos as our full backs, so whats the talk about full backs attacking? If Vic Mo is our only point of attack then he will be easily neutralized by defenses, so I guess that's the end of our attack?
The problem is with the COACH. You have seen how the other team wants to play you... you have settled into the game. You see a player like Iwobi wasting away in the flanks... you adjust in game. We have been saying this from game one about Rohr. He is SLOOOOW in making changes. We even thought, hey, he will make changes in the second half. But, no!

Yes, we need Iwobi playing centrally. But it has to come with a change of formation where you get the best out of him. And still provide the shield for the back four so that our keeper doesn't face too many direct shots.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:29 pm
by Cellular
Cally wrote:

Without Moses Simon he has to start, thats why the loss of Simon was so huge but people disrespected it. Musa is more juvenile and brings less to the table.
Dude, remember when I said Iwobi was the reason Shehu faced waves upon waves of English players during the friendly? He left his wing and drifted inwards creating spaces for the English left sided players to take turns on Shehu. When we adjusted the system in second half, he was free to be more inwards and wasn't a liability to the guy behind him.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:30 pm
by Cally
Cally wrote:

Your opinion, which you are entitled to. The people that play adult games have not delivered what the juvenile has delivered including the goal that sealed our qualification. Different strokes...

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:31 pm
by Ugbowo

The problem is with the COACH. You have seen how the other team wants to play you... you have settled into the game. You see a player like Iwobi wasting away in the flanks... you adjust in game. We have been saying this from game one about Rohr. He is SLOOOOW in making changes. We even thought, hey, he will make changes in the second half. But, no!

Yes, we need Iwobi playing centrally. But it has to come with a change of formation where you get the best out of him. And still provide the shield for the back four so that our keeper doesn't face too many direct shots.
Cellular,

God bless you. It was a tactical game where one team completely prepared for their opponent and the other team seemed to only have been working on themselves. Croatia scouted us to the T and did everything to nullify our attacking threats and took advantage of our weaknesses defensively and in set pieces.

Rohr DID NOT react. The Mikel analysis or they weren't hungry enough are just from ppl wey no sabi ball. This was a tactical game and he got outwitted BAD!

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:31 pm
by Cellular
Ugbowo wrote:I don't have a problem with the way we started the match.

I have long accepted that Rohr wont start Ebuehi and he loves Idowu for whatever reasons.

The problem was when we were down we did not change our approach. Etebo has been praised to high heavens for his workrate and rightfully so but there were 3 occasions were Etebo did not trust himself to play a typical midfielder pass to an overlapping full back. That's criminal for a central midfielder. Mikel can do that. Iwobi and Moses also needed to start coming infield more to receive the ball and turn and face the Croats with Mikel dropping deep and the full backs bombing forward to fill the width vacated by Moses and Iwobi. We were starting to figure it out when Iwobi was taken off. Our attack DIED for real then.

If we stick with 4-2-3-1, Ehuehi has to come in to at least give the semblance of width on one flank and Etebo has to go into the more attacking position on the left. Mikel sits with Ndidi and Iwobi in front of them.

If we go 3-5-2, as much as it hurts to say, Etebo will have to start on the bench. Mikel and Ndidi with Iwobi in front will be the 3 mids with Etebo coming on for either Mikel or Iwobi later.

One more thing, if we are to score, Kelechi has to start. He just has to be on the field.
Thank you sir.

There was a systemic fault with our formation after the Croatians decided to respect our speed and play cautiously. We need width and help from our fullbacks to be effective going forward. One of the changes will require Ebuehi starting.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:32 pm
by cic old boy
maceo4 wrote: But guys, name the current play makers who can't run? Even older Modric runs more than our own Mikel. Sounds like you guys are talking about old school number 10's that have been phased out of the game, even Pirlo was a deep lying play maker not a no. 10. Zidane wasn't fast, but he had lungs to run all day from side to side, up and down creating for his teammates with great ball control, dribbling skills, ingenuity and dictated the tempo of the game to suit his speed.
Modric isn't a 10. David Silva doesn't run that much. Ditto Ever Banega. Pirlo started out as a 10 b/4 dropping further back.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:33 pm
by Chriskendo43
why can't Mikel go back to to his natural defensive position i'm just getting tired to watch him strolling around the field doing nothing

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:36 pm
by cic old boy
Chriskendo43 wrote:why can't Mikel go back to to his natural defensive position i'm just getting tired to watch him strolling around the field doing nothing
He is better off further away from our D with his poor workrate.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:37 pm
by Cellular
Cally wrote:

Your opinion, which you are entitled to. The people that play adult games have not delivered what the juvenile has delivered including the goal that sealed our qualification. Different strokes...
When you remove your Arsenal tinted glasses you will see I am saying the truth. When fans of Arsenal football club that are not fans of Iwobi critic his game it is because of bad belle. He scored that goal as a substitute. I never said he didn't belong on the team... but he is not a starter. He is more effective coming off the bench when he has had time to feel the pulse of the game.

On another note, in the last couple of outings we have said the same about VicMo when he at times plays like he is playing Choosin. He is another culprit in the debacle.

He (VicMo) should stay on his feet because he is quickly getting a reputation as a diver.

Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2018 3:37 pm
Ayo Akinfe wrote:I posted this but some evil doer who will rot in hell deleted it:

Gotta admit, over the last 30 hours or so, many of you here have been raising my spirit! Thanks for the laughs, Uncles. :lol: