Diss or truth?

Bilic just said: "Senegal, not typical for African teams, they played for each other".
Re: Diss or truth?

He really said that? He's a jerk if he did. I can tell you most Croatians I know respected Nigeria before and after this match.

cic old boy wrote:Bilic just said: "Senegal, not typical for African teams, they played for each other".
I heard that and it is our fault for letting their win against us to give him big head.
The guy knows nothing about African football. Just ignore him.

Personally I am happy to see Patrick Evra being completely biased in his support for Senegal. We need more of him and less Larssons.

Why would they respect the nonsense they saw Nigeria play?
mate wrote:He really said that? He's a jerk if he did. I can tell you most Croatians I know respected Nigeria before and after this match.

I agree with Bilic

cic old boy wrote:Bilic just said: "Senegal, not typical for African teams, they played for each other".
I no blame am...

nanijoe wrote:Why would they respect the nonsense they saw Nigeria play?
mate wrote:He really said that? He's a jerk if he did. I can tell you most Croatians I know respected Nigeria before and after this match.
First of all, you always respect every opponent as a principle. Football today for the most part is a small margin of difference. A lack of focus and respect can kill you.

Secondly, we respected Nigeria in particular. I posted earlier quotes by Croatian players and coaches literally saying Nigeria would be our most difficult match. I sure hope they're right!

:)

Bilic is just a pundit. He does not reflect the opinion of most Croatians.

Rawlings wrote:I agree with Bilic
it's normal for Ghanaman to always lick oyinbo yansh..........so no surprises.
Massa....wetin I go bring back for you from Ghana.
Massa....I like you well-well.

Stupid massa-worshipping Ghanaman :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo

I no blame am...

This is literally wrong. Every team African team this WC has shown fight. Some hard results came due to set pieces. And simply by not being as strong as some of the opponents.

I don't think there was anything true, let alone constructive, in Bilic's foolish 1 liner. The CE narratives are correct: program management, infrastructure, youth, inexperience, and, sorry to say, set piece consistency, are more illuminating.

Plus, we will see the next 2 games. It's not at all over.

mate wrote:
nanijoe wrote:Why would they respect the nonsense they saw Nigeria play?
First of all, you always respect every opponent as a principle. Football today for the most part is a small margin of difference. A lack of focus and respect can kill you.

Secondly, we respected Nigeria in particular. I posted earlier quotes by Croatian players and coaches literally saying Nigeria would be our most difficult match. I sure hope they're right!

:)

Bilic is just a pundit. He does not reflect the opinion of most Croatians.
Well said! Congratulations btw for your win. My Croatian buddy said Croatia and Nigeria will qualify from this group. I hope he is right :D

I thought he said that they showed true African style and that they fought for each other....

I may be wrong....hotel TV don’t rewind

Nigeria did not show any fight whatsoever...Its true that every single goal against African teams at the WC thus far, has come from a set piece..but that did not stop Senegal from scoring 2 goals of their own...We cannot solve the set piece problem this WC, what we can do is outscore our opponents
mate wrote:
I no blame am...

This is literally wrong. Every team African team this WC has shown fight. Some hard results came due to set pieces. And simply by not being as strong as some of the opponents.

I don't think there was anything true, let alone constructive, in Bilic's foolish 1 liner. The CE narratives are correct: program management, infrastructure, youth, inexperience, and, sorry to say, set piece consistency, are more illuminating.

Charlie, we'll do our best. Croatians are realistic and united. Hell, we had the courage to send Kalinic home...signaling no more village arrogance will be tolerated...as Kalinic wouldn't dare defy foreign club coaches.

It's unusual for us to be so united.

I'm hopeful. But like I said, you never know. Every game is a universe. As they say 1 at a time. I'll be rooting for both our teams to win them.

The naija team played like some of the players were looking for better contracts/teams after the world cup

nanijoe wrote:Nigeria did not show any fight whatsoever...Its true that every single goal against African teams at the WC thus far, has come from a set piece..but that did not stop Senegal from scoring 2 goals of their own...We cannot solve the set piece problem this WC, what we can do is outscore our opponents
mate wrote:
I no blame am...

I don't now. But I rewatched the game several times and thought the Nigerian kids did well. They listened to the coaches tactics and did their best, within their capabilities.

For me, it wasn't a lack of fight. I ultimately believe: a golden generation of Croatians beat a young Nigerian squad with their best years ahead of them. I don't think tactics or character made the difference as much as collective player quality.

nanijoe wrote:Nigeria did not show any fight whatsoever...Its true that every single goal against African teams at the WC thus far, has come from a set piece..but that did not stop Senegal from scoring 2 goals of their own...We cannot solve the set piece problem this WC, what we can do is outscore our opponents
mate wrote:
I no blame am...

I don't now. But I rewatched the game several times and thought the Nigerian kids did well. They listened to the coaches tactics and did their best, within their capabilities.

For me, it wasn't a lack of fight. I ultimately believe: a golden generation of Croatians beat a young Nigerian squad with their best years ahead of them. I don't think tactics or character made the difference as much as collective player quality.

mate wrote:
I no blame am...

Mate, like I told you on another thread, must Naijarians were disappointed that we didn't put up a fight. Yes, we 'neuralized' you guys but we didn't make you guys uncomfortable enough to get out of first gear. I expected that game to be a physical battle with tackles flying in. With Croatia wanting to teach us the business... what I saw instead was a cautious Croatia who didn't want to expose their fullbacks (backline)... they knew they will get their chances and felt it will come. I hated the game because we were too tactical in our approach and easy to decipher and read. It is a disadvantage when you are overmatched personnel-wise...to now play a cookie cutter tactics. Coaches know how to break down any pattern or tactics... what they are weary about is playing teams that has an element of surprise or an unconventional tactics. You can't out European an European team...

Enyi wrote:I thought he said that they showed true African style and that they fought for each other....

He was praising Senegal, by saying they did stuff that wasn't typical of African teams. And he was looking at Evra (maybe for approval) when he said it.

PS: The Nigerian team didn't show any fight against Croatia.

Well in that case Nigeria do what's expected as they are more a group of individuals than a team,even our captain is thinking more about his preferred position than his best position on the field!

mate wrote:
mate wrote:
I no blame am...

That's the problem. We don't have the personnel nor the experience to beat Croatia using conventional tactics. Imagine employing tactics a better set of players have seen being executed by better teams? You can't get anywhere with that.

Enyi wrote:I thought he said that they showed true African style and that they fought for each other....

He was praising Senegal, by saying they did stuff that wasn't typical of African teams. And he was looking at Evra (maybe for approval) when he said it.

PS: The Nigerian team didn't show any fight against Croatia.
Well, like the food Rohr ordered to be served in camp, it should be bland without spice. :D

Regrettably, I really do have to agree with Bilic.

Bilic by the way calls it as it as he sees it. No hard feelings.

Croatia still have Argentina and Iceland coming up. I wont be surprised if they go back home after 3 games. That team is overrated.