Argentina vs Croatia: what result is best for Nigeria?

doctorollie
Argentina vs Croatia: what result is best for Nigeria?

Post by doctorollie »

Let’s discuss folks. What result is best for Nigeria?
Re: Argentina vs Croatia: what result is best for Nigeria?

Croatia win or draw.

Croatia has already taken 3 points from us so there is nothing we can do about stopping them. They're likely to also gain 3 points against Iceland hence are strong favourites right now to be one of the teams to qualify from the group. Hence, we want Argentina to lose so they don't increase their points tally. In that scenario if we beat Iceland and draw with Argentina, we go through.

The first 2 answers are spot on. We should all be rooting for Croatia at this point.

Draw

draw
okuns

Post by okuns »

A draw and a Nigeria win...

Orion wrote:They're likely to also gain 3 points against Iceland hence are strong favourites right now to be one of the teams to qualify from the group.
Are they? Croatia finished behind Iceland in the qualifiers....

Anyway, a draw is the preferred result as it leaves all teams with something to play for in the final game - assuming Nigeria gets something out of the Iceland game.
Last edited by The YeyeMan on Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

you want outright beating by the croats and demoralization; a draw raises their hope of qualifying when they play us

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Orion wrote:Croatia has already taken 3 points from us so there is nothing we can do about stopping them. They're likely to also gain 3 points against Iceland hence are strong favourites right now to be one of the teams to qualify from the group. Hence, we want Argentina to lose so they don't increase their points tally. In that scenario if we beat Iceland and draw with Argentina, we go through.
have you given it a thought that iceland might beat croatia
Last edited by jette1 on Wed Jun 20, 2018 11:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

jette1 wrote:you want outright beating by the croats and demoralization; a draw raises their hope of qualifying when they play us
That would be my second choice....

The main thing is that we handle our own business.

Benedict Iroha wrote:Croatia win or draw.
Kpom Kwem!

The best result is if both teams were banned for performance enhancing drugs

What’s likely to happen is an Argentine win, where does that leave us?

maceo4 wrote:What’s likely to happen is an Argentine win, where does that leave us?
Needing a win vs Argentina and a better goal difference.

Optionally if Iceland and Croatia draw - than we need to make up the GD to Croatia.

But first things first - we need to beat Iceland.

jette1 wrote:you want outright beating by the croats and demoralization; a draw raises their hope of qualifying when they play us
That would be my second choice....

The main thing is that we handle our own business.
Thank you, Yeyeman! We should plan/aim to win our last remaining games and forget about what happens in any other games in our group. That I think is our best result between Argentina and Croatia

Benedict Iroha wrote:Croatia win or draw.
Kpom Kwem![/quote

No guys,

A draw is the best.

A Croatian win is bad news because they will go into their final match with Iceland knowing they already won the group and could field their reserves.

So we want Croatia motivated to beat Iceland.

So we go into our final match needing just a draw to eliminate Argentina

Iceland out with a draw against cristis but goal difference now come to play if Iceland beats crostis

...the Croats struggled to beat us, a fluke OG and a fake PK. I sure hope they step vs the Argies.
olumide

Post by olumide »

If Croatia win or draw, a win vs. Iceland and a draw v. Argentina sends Nigeria through in second place 90+ percent of scenarios, so that's the preference.

No result is really detrimental though. The thing that we need more than anything is for Nigeria to not only beat Iceland, but do so by multiple goals. Again, there are many scenarios where Nigeria could end up even on four points with Croatia or Iceland if they draw with Argentina, and they have to fix their goal differential.

As long as Nigeria gets some result next match, no one can be eliminated on match day 2, so we are not affected by the dead rubber issue in any scenario where we could still go through.

The result does not matter. We have to win two games to be sure of anything :!:

doctorollie wrote:Let’s discuss folks. What result is best for Nigeria?
It doesn't matter. We have to win out to gaurantee we will advance. If we win one and draw one, we may not advance.
Last edited by 1naija on Thu Jun 21, 2018 1:34 am, edited 1 time in total.

A draw

olumide wrote:If Croatia win or draw, a win vs. Iceland and a draw v. Argentina sends Nigeria through in second place 90+ percent of scenarios, so that's the preference.

No result is really detrimental though. The thing that we need more than anything is for Nigeria to not only beat Iceland, but do so by multiple goals. Again, there are many scenarios where Nigeria could end up even on four points with Croatia or Iceland if they draw with Argentina, and they have to fix their goal differential.

As long as Nigeria gets some result next match, no one can be eliminated on match day 2, so we are not affected by the dead rubber issue in any scenario where we could still go through.
What if Crotia draws with Argentina and lose to Iceland? Do we still advance with a win and a draw? This scenario will produce 3 teams with 4 points, which may not favor us depending on the goal difference.