Damning article on racist media re African players

Damning. Pace and power eh? Their football racist nstincts come out

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sbnati ... -world-cup
Re: Damning article on racist media re African players

an announcer bingo card the descriptions used for Black/African players for the World Cup

guest83

Post by guest83 »

What's wrong with pace and power? You can't have that and be intelligent?

Did you write this junk?

YUJAM wrote:Damning. Pace and power eh? Their football racist nstincts come out

YUJAM,

But several CE guys regurgitate media cliche and use those to describe Nigeria and African teams plus the players. They somehow believe that they sound knowledgeable with the use of the well-worn cliches. Fortunately, the use of "naivety" to describe African teams have gradually worn its time on CE. It was a term that annoyed me to great lengths.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Unbelievable. And the same Oyinbo commentators who use these terms devolve into petulant tirades when they 'powerful' African teams beat their Euro teams. Apparently Rob Stone of FS had a meltdown after Poland lost to Senegal today

YUJAM,

But several CE guys regurgitate media cliche and use those to describe Nigeria and African teams plus the players. They somehow believe that they sound knowledgeable with the use of the well-worn cliches. Fortunately, the use of "naivety" to describe African teams have gradually worn its time on CE. It was a term that annoyed me to great lengths.

You no sabi read I guess
guest83 wrote:What's wrong with pace and power? You can't have that and be intelligent?

Did you write this junk?
F360

Post by F360 »

YUJAM wrote:Unbelievable. And the same Oyinbo commentators who use these terms devolve into petulant tirades when they 'powerful' African teams beat their Euro teams. Apparently Rob Stone of FS had a meltdown after Poland lost to Senegal today

YUJAM,

How did he have a "meltdown" and what qualifies as that?

--------------------------------------------

He was visibly upset that Poland lost, supposedly quite angry. :lol:
F360 wrote:
YUJAM wrote:Unbelievable. And the same Oyinbo commentators who use these terms devolve into petulant tirades when they 'powerful' African teams beat their Euro teams. Apparently Rob Stone of FS had a meltdown after Poland lost to Senegal today

YUJAM,

onwuatuegwu

Post by onwuatuegwu »

The oyinbo masters defend are beging to roll out :lol:
sayala

Post by sayala »

Thats a bogus / useless article. There is nothing racist about saying Senegal have pace and power. African should not be claiming racism at everything.

Also it is true that African teams are tactically and technically inept. It does not mean Africans are less intelligent. And you cannot argue with the results.

sayala wrote:Thats a bogus / useless article. There is nothing racist about saying Senegal have pace and power. African should not be claiming racism at everything.

Also it is true that African teams are tactically and technically inept. It does not mean Africans are less intelligent. And you cannot argue with the results.

Ahhh never mind ...

Yujam well done :thumb:

F360

Post by F360 »

YUJAM wrote:He was visibly upset that Poland lost, supposedly quite angry. :lol:
F360 wrote:

YUJAM,

So you didn't actually see it?

Stone is a professional and I find it hard to believe he'd be any kind of upset that Poland lost. Surprised maybe, upset no.
Any video of this?

--------------------------------------------
Edu

Post by Edu »

F360 wrote:
YUJAM wrote:He was visibly upset that Poland lost, supposedly quite angry. :lol:
F360 wrote:

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sbnati ... -world-cup[/quote

YUJAM,

So you didn't actually see it?

Stone is a professional and I find it hard to believe he'd be any kind of upset that Poland lost. Surprised maybe, upset no.
Any video of this?

He was.

I watching espn Fc and they said the same sterotypical shyt.

sayala wrote:Thats a bogus / useless article. There is nothing racist about saying Senegal have pace and power. African should not be claiming racism at everything.

It is racist when a defined racial group of people are stereotyped with particular trait. That is exactly what this is. If you cannot see that as racist characterization then perhaps are you agreeing with the commentators that certain races have solely those traits? The point is that all persons, regardless of race, are in fact imbued with similar characteristics as humans.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

See how unintelligent you are , these African teams , the managers at the worldcup are from where? Let me help you. Germany, Argentina, France....aren't these managers supposed to fixed the so called inept tactics? Some of you just watch TV, and regurgitate the words you hear

Best way to shut them up is to beat them silly. Obviously the love affair between Europe and African players is dampening somewhat. What with West Ham seeking to remove all of them from their books etc. Best way is to start trouncing them once again.
bk-one

Post by bk-one »

airwolex wrote:Best way to shut them up is to beat them silly. Obviously the love affair between Europe and African players is dampening somewhat. What with West Ham seeking to remove all of them from their books etc. Best way is to start trouncing them once again.
Not that i disagree with what you are saying but we could use the same analogy vis-a-vis situation most africans in diaspora find themselves in regarding career prospects. Either you are super brilliant for them to be forced to accept you or you get nothing whilst most white kids all they have to do is show the desire to do something and that will be enough for them to prosper. i am not saying they dont need to work hard to accomplish their goals but their hard work is likely to be noticed and appreciated as compared to one for africans.

With all that said.Whether we beat them or not, that language they use must change because its wrong and shouldnt be tied to how we are playing against them.

bk-one wrote:
airwolex wrote:Best way to shut them up is to beat them silly. Obviously the love affair between Europe and African players is dampening somewhat. What with West Ham seeking to remove all of them from their books etc. Best way is to start trouncing them once again.
Not that i disagree with what you are saying but we could use the same analogy vis-a-vis situation most africans in diaspora find themselves in regarding career prospects. Either you are super brilliant for them to be forced to accept you or you get nothing whilst most white kids all they have to do is show the desire to do something and that will be enough for them to prosper. i am not saying they dont need to work hard to accomplish their goals but their hard work is likely to be noticed and appreciated as compared to one for africans.

With all that said.Whether we beat them or not, that language they use must change because its wrong and shouldnt be tied to how we are playing against them.
Maybe so, but the best way forward is beating them. We have been mediocre for a while now. The likes of Egypt and Tunisia and even Cameroon have abysmal records in the WC. The rest are just a bit better.

It is racist when a defined racial group of people are stereotyped with particular trait. That is exactly what this is. If you cannot see that as racist characterization then perhaps are you agreeing with the commentators that certain races have solely those traits? The point is that all persons, regardless of race, are in fact imbued with similar characteristics as humans.
While am not defending racist cimnents Senegalese are built really strong, those guys were like giants compared to our platers in Europe Albanians Serbs are really strong as well
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

If some of these guys defending whites were kept out of an exclusive club, while white couples kept getting in. They would probably provide the excuse for the club, that repairs must be happening, at their favorite area of the club.
Get up and smell the coffee, there is a factual history.
Even though the worst part of it is in the past, but the generation of whites that lived through segregation, and witnessed blacks giving up their seats when they came into a bus are just beginning to die slowly. What those commentators did on FS, was a national embarrassment, and seriously someone ought to go on vacation at least, for that. At least pretend...

YUJAM,

Enugu, the powers of brainwashing can be seen in how many people regurgitate what they hear in the media and think they are actually spouting their own ideas. I see that here a lot and when I talk to some of my EPL addicted friends.
Dr. Wazobia

Post by Dr. Wazobia »

YUJAM,

Enugu, the powers of brainwashing can be seen in how many people regurgitate what they hear in the media and think they are actually spouting their own ideas. I see that here a lot and when I talk to some of my EPL addicted friends.
That ‘media cliche’ is getting worse (especially on ITV). It is slightly unnerving to think that Roy Keane and Bilic are ‘football people’ with the nonsense they are spouted this week. The icing on the cake was the racist tweet by Lord Sugar last night about the Senegal Team and Marbella. That took it to the next level.
--- Let brotherly love continue ---