Damning article on racist media re African players

Re: Damning article on racist media re African players

Dr. Wazobia wrote:
That ‘media cliche’ is getting worse (especially on ITV). It is slightly unnerving to think that Roy Keane and Bilic are ‘football people’ with the nonsense they are spouted this week. The icing on the cake was the racist tweet by Lord Sugar last night about the Senegal Team and Marbella. That took it to the next level.
The same clown who alleged that Jeremy Corbyn and the Labour Party are anti-semitic. He first claimed it was a "joke" and has since apologised and deleted the tweet. I hope he faces a strong backlash that takes him off TV.
Dr. Wazobia

Post by Dr. Wazobia »

Dr. Wazobia wrote:
That ‘media cliche’ is getting worse (especially on ITV). It is slightly unnerving to think that Roy Keane and Bilic are ‘football people’ with the nonsense they are spouted this week. The icing on the cake was the racist tweet by Lord Sugar last night about the Senegal Team and Marbella. That took it to the next level.
The same clown who alleged that Jeremy Corbyn and the Labour Party are anti-semitic. He first claimed it was a "joke" and has since apologised and deleted the tweet. I hope he faces a strong backlash that takes him off TV.
Not in the U.K. It may have happened in the U.S but not here. We are too conditioned by the system of White Supremacy. Remember Ron Atkinson? I was listening to Talk Sport a while back and heard some former ‘black bri’ish’ footballers lining up to defend their beloved gaffer.
--- Let brotherly love continue ---

Maybe I'm just getting older or perhaps because I'm in Naija. As long as the refs are fair I don't really care what the likes of Bilic and Fox news say anymore. The best thing to do is to start trouncing them, which is well within our capabilities.

Dr. Wazobia wrote: Not in the U.K. It may have happened in the U.S but not here. We are too conditioned by the system of White Supremacy. Remember Ron Atkinson? I was listening to Talk Sport a while back and heard some former ‘black bri’ish’ footballers lining up to defend their beloved gaffer.
He's on his way to being fired. Bookies have shortened the odds. The guy is on the BBC. A public service broadcaster funded by licence payers' money. Difficult to see him surviving.
https://www.scotsman.com/news/uk/calls- ... -1-4757161
Dr. Wazobia

Post by Dr. Wazobia »

Dr. Wazobia wrote: Not in the U.K. It may have happened in the U.S but not here. We are too conditioned by the system of White Supremacy. Remember Ron Atkinson? I was listening to Talk Sport a while back and heard some former ‘black bri’ish’ footballers lining up to defend their beloved gaffer.
He's on his way to being fired. Bookies have shortened the odds. The guy is on the BBC. A public service broadcaster funded by licence payers' money. Difficult to see him surviving.
https://www.scotsman.com/news/uk/calls- ... -1-4757161
Let us wait and see.

airwolex wrote:Best way to shut them up is to beat them silly. Obviously the love affair between Europe and African players is dampening somewhat. What with West Ham seeking to remove all of them from their books etc. Best way is to start trouncing them once again.
Airwolex

The best way is to fight against racism is to do so every where, every point, and every time. What you have to realize is that commentary has tremendous power of persuasion that affects how people think. It should never be let to slide. If you have power to wail against it, then please do.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Dr. Wazobia wrote:
Let us wait and see.
He won't get away with it. There were people waiting for him. He was part of the fake anti-semitism lynch mob against Corbyn. Now he has provided the rope in which he will be hanged.
Labour frontbencher Dawn Butler has reported Lord Sugar to the House of Lords Commissioner for Standards and the BBC, calling for an investigation.

The MP said she was 'very troubled' by the tweet, adding: 'Racism has no place in Parliament or society. Swift action must be taken.'
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... image.html
Dr. Wazobia

Post by Dr. Wazobia »

Dr. Wazobia wrote:
Let us wait and see.
He won't get away with it. There were people waiting for him. He was part of the fake anti-semitism lynch mob against Corbyn. Now he has provided the rope in which he will be hanged.
Labour frontbencher Dawn Butler has reported Lord Sugar to the House of Lords Commissioner for Standards and the BBC, calling for an investigation.

The MP said she was 'very troubled' by the tweet, adding: 'Racism has no place in Parliament or society. Swift action must be taken.'
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article ... image.html
Bro, I am cautiously optimistic.

Btw, where is our beloved Tottenham boy Lammy? Has he said anything?
sayala

Post by sayala »

sayala wrote:Thats a bogus / useless article. There is nothing racist about saying Senegal have pace and power. African should not be claiming racism at everything.

Also it is true that African teams are tactically and technically inept. It does not mean Africans are less intelligent. And you cannot argue with the results.
It is racist when a defined racial group of people are stereotyped with particular trait. That is exactly what this is. If you cannot see that as racist characterization then perhaps are you agreeing with the commentators that certain races have solely those traits? The point is that all persons, regardless of race, are in fact imbued with similar characteristics as humans.
I have heard white players called powerful, pacey and other so called "African stereotypes" many times. In fact I recently heard a Fox commentator describing Diego Costa as a powerful brute.
Dr. Wazobia

Post by Dr. Wazobia »

sayala wrote:
sayala wrote:Thats a bogus / useless article. There is nothing racist about saying Senegal have pace and power. African should not be claiming racism at everything.

Also it is true that African teams are tactically and technically inept. It does not mean Africans are less intelligent. And you cannot argue with the results.
It is racist when a defined racial group of people are stereotyped with particular trait. That is exactly what this is. If you cannot see that as racist characterization then perhaps are you agreeing with the commentators that certain races have solely those traits? The point is that all persons, regardless of race, are in fact imbued with similar characteristics as humans.
I have heard white players called powerful, pacey and other so called "African stereotypes" many times. In fact I recently heard a Fox commentator describing Diego Costa as a powerful brute.
Stereotypes of African teams, sir.

Name one European team described in those terms?
Last edited by Dr. Wazobia on Wed Jun 20, 2018 2:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
sayala

Post by sayala »

See how unintelligent you are , these African teams , the managers at the worldcup are from where? Let me help you. Germany, Argentina, France....aren't these managers supposed to fixed the so called inept tactics? Some of you just watch TV, and regurgitate the words you hear
What a silly post from you.
The reason African players are technically and tactically inept is because these skills are best taught starting at a young age. In Europe, they start teaching kids proper technique as early as age 6. By the time they are 10 years old, kids are already learning how to intelligently read a game and take advantage of an opponents weaknesses. By the time they are 18, the player has proper technique and proper tactical approach imbued in them such that it has become second nature. In most African countries, such structured youth development is hit and miss.

In modern football, skills and flair take you nowhere. Teams are defending with 10 players behind the ball so there is no space to dribble. The most successful teams are the ones that have players with excellent technique who can make quick accurate passes in the opponents penalty box, teams that can defend set pieces. Teams that score from set pieces and teams that have accurate passers, accurate crossers and accurate finishers. That's why Africa is lagging. We lack technique and we are behind when it comes to situational awareness

Your notion about having foreign coaches is pointless. A coach cant do anything if players do not have the technique or tactical awareness to execute his game plan. . If players cannot make quick accurate passes in the opposing penalty box then the coach has to resort to more rudimentary techniques like hopeful crosses which are easily defended in modern football. So having a foreign coach with technically inept players gets you nowhere.

You can blame foreign coaches all you want. You can cry racism until the cows come home. But unless you start developing players who are suited to modern football, we will continue to lose to poor teams like Croatia.
sayala

Post by sayala »

Dr. Wazobia wrote:

Again Being called pacey and powerful is not racist !

Secondly its not a stereotype. It is TRUE that African teams are more reliant on flair, skills, power and pace.
How can anyone say with a straight face that African teams are as tactically astute as European teams?
How can anyone say with a straight face that African players are as technically Adept as European players.

Why aren’t African players being sought after by the top European clubs as they were say 15 years ago?
Its because their style of play does not suit modern football. The tiki taka style employed by Barcelona in their heyday demands players of immense technique. You will not find the Barcelona of today recruiting players like Ammunike or Okunowo as they did in the past.
Football has changed right in front of our eyes and we have not adapted.

There is no good reason why an African country like Egypt with 100m should perrenially lose to teams like Uruguay with their 3m people at every world cup
No good reason why Naija with 160m has fewer players at top European teams than Croatia with its paltry population.

The only logical reason Is that African country’s don’t have a long term plan to develop players suited to modern football.
Last edited by sayala on Wed Jun 20, 2018 2:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

sayala wrote:
Dr. Wazobia wrote:

Secondly its not a stereotype. It is TRUE that African teams are more reliant on flair, skills, power and pace.
How can anyone say with a straight face that African teams are as tactically astute as European teams?
How can anyone say with a straight face that African players are as technically Adept as European players.

Why aren’t African players being sought after by the top European clubs as they were say 15 years ago?
Its because their style of play does not suit modern football. The tiki taka style employed by Barcelona in their heyday demanded players of immense technique. You will not find the Barcelona of today recruiting players like Ammunike or Okunowo as they did in the past.

There is no good reason why an African country like Egypt with 100m should perrenially lose to teams like Uruguay with their 3m people at every world cup
No good reason why Naija with 160m has fewer players at top European teams than Croatia with its paltry population.

The only logical reason Is that African country’s don’t have a long term plan to develop players suited to modern football.
India and China should be world champions in football.......
sayala

Post by sayala »

Prince wrote:
sayala wrote:
Dr. Wazobia wrote:

Its because their style of play does not suit modern football. The tiki taka style employed by Barcelona in their heyday demanded players of immense technique. You will not find the Barcelona of today recruiting players like Ammunike or Okunowo as they did in the past.

India and China should be world champions in football.......
India and China are not football crazy. In fact most Indians I have met do not care about how bad their team is at football. A sport is unlikely to develop if people don't care, the government does not care and corporates don't care.

As for China, I see now that their head of state has mandated the creation of proper youth development centres all over the country. These centres are staffed with qualified coaches from other countries. Give them until the 2026 world cup where they will beat the SE and people will be left seething on CE while not understanding that this was the result of a long term project.

Writing to the Beeb to demand that Sugar’s Apprentice is pulled after his overt racist attack. Needless to say, Sugar and his alike were very vocal when Anelka flashed a quenelle. Gentlemen feel free to write to similar effect, those social media moguls, is it possible for one to start a petition? Or...perhaps we can do the stereotypically black thing and say it was a light heated joke, no offence intended, do nothing and be good n*ggers. For how long will these c*nts be allowed to n*gnog us off with no reprieve. The slightest of anti-Semitic slurs and the World Cup would be called off pending a career lynching and all manner of apology.
mmeny

Post by mmeny »

F360 wrote:
YUJAM wrote:He was visibly upset that Poland lost, supposedly quite angry. :lol:
F360 wrote:
YUJAM wrote:Unbelievable. And the same Oyinbo commentators who use these terms devolve into petulant tirades when they 'powerful' African teams beat their Euro teams. Apparently Rob Stone of FS had a meltdown after Poland lost to Senegal today
YUJAM wrote:Damning. Pace and power eh? Their football racist nstincts come out

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.sbnati ... -world-cup
YUJAM,

But several CE guys regurgitate media cliche and use those to describe Nigeria and African teams plus the players. They somehow believe that they sound knowledgeable with the use of the well-worn cliches. Fortunately, the use of "naivety" to describe African teams have gradually worn its time on CE. It was a term that annoyed me to great lengths.

How did he have a "meltdown" and what qualifies as that?
So you didn't actually see it?

Stone is a professional and I find it hard to believe he'd be any kind of upset that Poland lost. Surprised maybe, upset no.
Any video of this?
So you also didn't see it and you are here arguing against it. I saw it. He got into it with Alexi Lalas.
Just because cat sabi swim no mean say him be catfish - M.I

sayala wrote:
Dr. Wazobia wrote:

Its because their style of play does not suit modern football. The tiki taka style employed by Barcelona in their heyday demands players of immense technique. You will not find the Barcelona of today recruiting players like Ammunike or Okunowo as they did in the past.

Excellent points. As much as it irks me when I hear African sides described as "physical" all the damn time, Africans do themselves no favors.
tmex12

Post by tmex12 »

nanijoe wrote:an announcer bingo card the descriptions used for Black/African players for the World Cup
This extends to US sports well. I recall a Black basketball coach saying he can tell the race of an athlete from the scouting report. Traits relating to power, pace, physicality ascribed to AA athletes while intelligence etc for you know what.....
F360

Post by F360 »

sayala wrote:
Dr. Wazobia wrote:

I get your overall points and agree with what you wrote but I have to ask about the last paragraph.
You're basically using "Population theory" to argue about success in Football/Soccer. That's never a good argument. You rebuffed the mention of India and China to an extent. What about the USA? They have a long term plan to develop players suited to modern football. They've been doing it for years now and they are coming along but the USA would have lost to Uruguay 10 years ago, 5 years ago and today. They will probably still lose to Uruguay in 2026 imo. Population shouldn't matter as opposed to having the football infrastructure- decent league to develop, pitches and coaching.
That can be found in a country with 3 million or a country with 150 million if they do the right things.....BUT We know doing the right thing and Nigeria don't go hand in hand.

--------------------------------------------
F360

Post by F360 »

tmex12 wrote:
nanijoe wrote:an announcer bingo card the descriptions used for Black/African players for the World Cup
This extends to US sports well. I recall a Black basketball coach saying he can tell the race of an athlete from the scouting report. Traits relating to power, pace, physicality ascribed to AA athletes while intelligence etc for you know what.....

It goes both ways though. By now, a lot of American football and Basketball fans recognize when they hear a commentator talk about "deceptive speed", "lunch pail guy", "sneaky athletic" that they are talking about white players. Commentators and some coaches just can't help themselves and shake off such descriptions that they have ingrained in them for black and white players. It's terrible.

--------------------------------------------
sayala

Post by sayala »

F360 wrote:
I get your overall points and agree with what you wrote but I have to ask about the last paragraph.
You're basically using "Population theory" to argue about success in Football/Soccer. That's never a good argument. You rebuffed the mention of India and China to an extent. What about the USA? They have a long term plan to develop players suited to modern football. They've been doing it for years now and they are coming along but the USA would have lost to Uruguay 10 years ago, 5 years ago and today. They will probably still lose to Uruguay in 2026 imo. Population shouldn't matter as opposed to having the football infrastructure- decent league to develop, pitches and coaching.
That can be found in a country with 3 million or a country with 150 million if they do the right things.....BUT We know doing the right thing and Nigeria don't go hand in hand.
USA is doing a lousy job. First off parents have to pay for their kids to play. This often means spending about $3000 to $5000 just for the kid to play and travel. This fact alone eliminates many kids who cannot afford it. As Klinsmann pointed out, USA will not realize its full potential until the sport is accessible to kids on poor neighbourhoods especially blacks, hispanics and other immigrants. The people who excel at sports like football are typically from poor neighbourhoods because they are more driven. He said this is true even in Germany, France etc which is why their teams are full of immigrants.

And for those who can pay, the standards of coaching are not that great. The primary goal of many of these travel teams is to make money from the parents. On the other hand in Europe, the primary goal of the youth setup is to produce players for the senior team. Countries like Germany enforce standards that youth coaches must meet. Often they require a UEFA license.

Finally, the best athletes in the USA still gravitate towards American football, basketball, baseball, athletics and so forth. Whereas in Uruguay, the most capable athletes will play soccer, same in Egypt. That makes a huge difference.

Spot on.

This reminds of Alan Sugar's tweet yesterday, and those White people who asked why it was racist.

Sugar, said the Senegalese team looked like poor migrants Africans who hawk in Marbella beaches. I responded, by asking if he saw all the Black contestants in his Apprentice show as the Africans he has seen on Marbella beach?

People just don't seem to understand the mentality behind such comments.

Spot on.

This reminds of Alan Sugar's tweet yesterday, and those White people who asked why it was racist.

Sugar, said the Senegalese team looked like poor migrant Africans who hawk good in Marbella beaches. I responded, by asking if he saw all the Black contestants in his Apprentice show as the Africans he has seen on Marbella beach.

People just don't seem to understand the mentality behind such comments.
That was an unnecessary comment. All these oyibos feel they are just free to talk anyhow since Trump has been president.