You guys are making a mistake celebrating Senegal

Heliopolis
You guys are making a mistake celebrating Senegal

Post by Heliopolis »

I love Senegal. They produce fun players and have some of the best fans in Africa. However, their win yesterday was far from impressive. Credit is due to them for defeating a team that was weak on the night (something that Egypt and Morocco haven't done at this WC) but that wasn't the kind of performance to write home about. They barely created anything up front and got both goals from catastrophic defending. I hope they pull off 1 more win to advance but they will need to up their game to do so. Hopefully they beat Japan because they are unlikely to defeat Colombia if they put in another shift like they did yesterday.
Re: You guys are making a mistake celebrating Senegal

Heliopolis wrote:I love Senegal. They produce fun players and have some of the best fans in Africa. However, their win yesterday was far from impressive. Credit is due to them for defeating a team that was weak on the night (something that Egypt and Morocco haven't done at this WC) but that wasn't the kind of performance to write home about. They barely created anything up front and got both goals from catastrophic defending. I hope they pull off 1 more win to advance but they will need to up their game to do so. Hopefully they beat Japan because they are unlikely to defeat Colombia if they put in another shift like they did yesterday.
They won something the World Champions are yet to do,Egypt are out,Tunisia and Morocco and Nigeria are likely to follow so Senegal are the only African team that came to do more than make up the numbers!

Well might not have been impressive but they got 3 points in the bag, another 3 points should see them through to the next round, its also about peaking at the right time, so need playing your best football now

Heliopolis wrote:I love Senegal. They produce fun players and have some of the best fans in Africa. However, their win yesterday was far from impressive. Credit is due to them for defeating a team that was weak on the night (something that Egypt and Morocco haven't done at this WC) but that wasn't the kind of performance to write home about. They barely created anything up front and got both goals from catastrophic defending. I hope they pull off 1 more win to advance but they will need to up their game to do so. Hopefully they beat Japan because they are unlikely to defeat Colombia if they put in another shift like they did yesterday.
Okay but can we celebrate the 3 points though?

Lame thread

Daft thread, from a team who came to just participate. .28 years wait just to be the first country out of the worldcup less than a week...the world cup started on Thursday and by Tuesday, Egypt don pick race
.abegi make we hear word

lukemana

Post by lukemana »

Sir, would you have said the same thing had Nigeria beat Croatia ?

The win was great but it was not the win per se people are happy about. It was the attitude especially in contrast to Nigeria. Senegal played to win and won. Nigeria played not to lose but still lost.

AreaDaddy wrote:The win was great but it was not the win per se people are happy about. It was the attitude especially in contrast to Nigeria. Senegal played to win and won. Nigeria played not to lose but still lost.

Someone who gets it! :clap: :clap: :clap:

naijaspurs2018

Post by naijaspurs2018 »

AreaDaddy wrote:The win was great but it was not the win per se people are happy about. It was the attitude especially in contrast to Nigeria. Senegal played to win and won. Nigeria played not to lose but still lost.
:clap:

this is all that matters.

the rest is tales by moonlight

what's you advice to Egypt?

Take a bow
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

Abeg, up Senegal. I am celebrating jare. :thumbs: :thumbs:
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

North Africa should now play in the Asian confederation. after all that's where their fellow Arabs play. they are politically and [for the most part] genetically Middle Eastern. rightly so they proudly claim it. so why when it comes to football sub-Saharan Africa has to put up with their disgrace? between Tunisia, Egypt, Algeria and Morocco I've witnessed only two WC wins since 1998. Morocco (France 98) and Algeria (Brazil 2014) all of this is attributed to Africa but politically they are supposed to be more Middle eastern. what does this mean to you as a real African

Senegal look like t hey can go far,win next game and in knock out with possible facing England or Belgium that can be beat.Those two not actually better than Poland.

Kpom

aykwes8 wrote:North Africa should now play in the Asian confederation. after all that's where their fellow Arabs play. they are politically and [for the most part] genetically Middle Eastern. rightly so they proudly claim it. so why when it comes to football sub-Saharan Africa has to put up with their disgrace? between Tunisia, Egypt, Algeria and Morocco I've witnessed only two WC wins since 1998. Morocco (France 98) and Algeria (Brazil 2014) all of this is attributed to Africa but politically they are supposed to be more Middle eastern. what does this mean to you as a real African
my friend drop the racist agenda; Race is a social construct not a geographical factor. Every African is a real African if they so feel.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."
F360

Post by F360 »

Did you see OUR match on Saturday? Our as in Nigeria.
The rubbish that we all sat and wasted two hours of a Saturday watching?
And you want to come and tell us Senegal barely created anything up front

My friend shut up and let us enjoy Senegal jor!

--------------------------------------------
F360

Post by F360 »

Don't take your anger from the Egypt-Russia match out on Senegal bro. Let us enjoy an African win and stop drinking haterade.

This is you right now

--------------------------------------------

Speak for yourself
gosh

Post by gosh »

In football, getting a result is all that matters, but even if they were not "impressive," their hunger and collective "can do" attitude deserved applause.
Whatever you are chasing is also chasing you!
aykwes8

Post by aykwes8 »

aykwes8 wrote:North Africa should now play in the Asian confederation. after all that's where their fellow Arabs play. they are politically and [for the most part] genetically Middle Eastern. rightly so they proudly claim it. so why when it comes to football sub-Saharan Africa has to put up with their disgrace? between Tunisia, Egypt, Algeria and Morocco I've witnessed only two WC wins since 1998. Morocco (France 98) and Algeria (Brazil 2014) all of this is attributed to Africa but politically they are supposed to be more Middle eastern. what does this mean to you as a real African
my friend drop the racist agenda; Race is a social construct not a geographical factor. Every African is a real African if they so feel.

I have no agenda. just an observation of some facts